We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (but slipping)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent (but slipping)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here about five years ago and would have given it a 5/5 back then, but it seems to have slipped just a bit with the little things you come to expect from Fairmont properties.

The property is as beautiful as ever and is in great shape; it's the overall service that seems to be missing. From rooms which are cleaned well but items forgotten, (on various days we would not get coffee, or towels etc.) to general service in all the dining facilities. This last item was really what was noticeable. At times we would sit 10 to 15 minutes before anyone acknowledged our presence. Other times dirty plates would be left on the table for equally long times. Worst of all, I often would sit with an empty glass, previously filled with Dark & Stormy, waiting for another! Ha!

Aside from these minor issues, a stay at this hotel is always enjoyable, an experience and still highly recommended!

Please make sure to try the Waterlot Restaurant as it is excellent!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for writing your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have returned for another visit, but are very disappointed that you feel our service is slipping. This certainly is not our intent, and I have passed along your message to our Operations team to use as feedback. I am particularly sorry we left you waiting for your next Dark & Stormy! Ha :). If you'd like to discuss any particular issues further, feel free to contact me at carlita.lodge@fairmont.com. I hope that that you will give us another chance to show you our dedication to high-quality service and attentive, friendly hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    665
    266
    119
    65
See reviews for
540
955
55
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

At the first approach this hotel seems overwhelming when compared to most of the other smaller hotels in Bermuda. However, it is an immaculate hotel with superb staff. The facilities are excellent and the dining options are numerous. We had a beautiful room on the Gold floor which gave us access to the excellent amenities in the Gold lounge. We ate at the Waterlot Inn and the Newport and both were pricey (but no more than the rest of Bermuda) but superb. We will definitely come back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked the hotel online when there was a special deal and got the room at a very good price. The service is great, everyone has a smile their face. The private beach is also stunning, right next to the horseshoe bay. It is one of the best hotel beaches we have been to, complete with private service and seats. It is a very good snorkeling spot as well.

The hotel offers great amenities and free transportation service for the guest ("trolley" and free ferry service to Hamilton). It has a good outdoor and indoor pool/spa. The golf course is also picturesque. The rooms are spacious with king size beds and nice pillow/linen. We got really good sleep here away from home.

If you are looking for a cheap eat option, just walk down south road (towards the waterlot inn direction) and there is a Wok express 5 minutes down the road which serves decent takeout (sushi rolls in particular) at local price.

Make sure you go to the waterlot inn if you are staying here. It will be a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and it's nice to see you feel you got a good deal. I'm glad to hear you got a great sleep - I have to agree, the beds are very comfortable! I'm glad you enjoyed dining at The Waterlot - their food is truly exceptional. We hope to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful vacation at The Fairmont Southampton. I think everything that has to be said about this hotel had already been said. The top guest service, the well accommodating rooms, the wonderful complimentary facilities, the stunning location. Everything is top of the line, the staff make you feel like you're the one and only. Since we were celebrating an event, my family got a free upgrade to a wonderful spacious suite in the fifth floor. We could see the lighthouse and the harbor but also could see the other side of the ocean. The view was magnificent at sunset. Easter events and celebrations were held very tastefully and the parade was amazing and unique. I would definitely come back to this hotel in my next Bermuda vacations.

Room Tip: the higher the room -the more rewarding is the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York. NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Traveled with family. Great hotel, Fantastic beach. Lounge was excellent and so was staff at hotel. Great island in general . Fantastic restaurants on and off property. The kids club staff was wonderful. Cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family spent the Easter holidays in Bermda at the Fairmont Southampton Hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel has everything you need to have a great stay. The grounds are vast and beautifully kept. There is an expansive golf course, private beach -- even a movie theater. The hotel had activities to keep out littles busy even though they were too little for the kids camp; there's a game room and many activities. For the Easter holiday, there were kite-making activities and easter egg cookie decorating, for example. There are restaurants in different locations on the campus, and there's a trolley to shuttle guests to them (our kids loved riding the trolley as an activity!). There's a ferry to take guests to the other, more well-heeled hotel located in the city of Hamilton (we discovered mark Twain loved the other hotel, and there's a tribute to him). Even though the weather was cold during our trip, we were able to amuse ourselves. We also used their babysitting service, and the sitter was wonderful. Overall, a great time!

That said, I have one reservation. When we checked out, we were surprised at the taxes and levies on our bill. We are used to paying these in other locations; we expected that they would amount to about 10-15% of our bill. At the Fairmont, these amounted to over 80.00 per night on a room that cost 325.00! As my rating implies, I plan to visit again, and I had a wonderful time. That said, not everyone -- especially after partaking in all the wonderful (but expensive) services provided by the hotel -- would have been able to afford these taxes at the end of their visit. I like transparency.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your trip - and we're thrilled to hear you're already planning the next one! You are right, Easter is a very fun time to visit because there is activities going on all day for the whole family - we also run similar programs through the summer months, over Thanksgiving, and during the Christmas/holiday period. I am not sure how you booked your visit, but our website explains the breakdown of additional taxes, gratuities, and resort levy. I apologise if these came unannounced to you, they are standard and should have been properly communicated to you at the time of booking. If you have any questions about why these charges are included, you can email me at carlita.lodge@fairmont.com. I am glad to hear that this hasn't deterred you from a second visit, and I hope that your next stay is just as enjoyable. Thank you again for taking the time to review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol ri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Fairmont Southampton and enjoyed it immensly. The accomodations were excellent. The cost of meals is somewhat more than in the states but that is expected on an island that imports most everything. People were friendly, curtious, and most helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.