We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off & $200 Credit
West Sussex
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is not on the beach, but hopefully you are aware of this before you book! It has a regular shuttle to the beach at the bottom of the hill which is next to Horseshoe bay. The pool and amenities are excellent, and the grounds are superb and well kept.
My room was huge, with a very comfortable bed and seating area, albeit it a little old fashioned, I felt it was in keeping with the hotel.
The breakfast is to die for! One of the best in a long time, and although I wasn't there for a Sunday, apparently this is an amazing brunch.
I walked from the hotel down to the beach, and it was lovely taking in the views and appreciating the grounds, but as mentioned there is a shuttle if preferred.
I would definitely return to experience the excellent service I received.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    565
    247
    109
    59
See reviews for
449
831
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years. It is a very special place, representnig some part of old Bermuda. If you are looking for a fast paced vacation with all inclusive prices, this is not the spot for you. The beauty of the island is represented by a slower paced vacation including motor scooter rides and drinks on one of the loviest beaches any where. The lovely rooms are high end and are decorated in a very traditional island prints. Some less expensive rooms are over the dining room rooftop. Even these rooms are better than most hotels. The spa is excellent, but not inexpensive. In an wave to an earlier age, people actually get dressed for a dinner of fine dining. The Southhampton Fairmont has 6 restaurants on the property. All of them have really top notch food, some less formal than other. The Water Lot is consistently rated the best restaurant on the island. Do not show up in shorts and flip flops or you will be turned away.

Room Tip: Facing the harbor is not a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from a March Break stay at the Fairmont Southampton. It was our first time in Bermuda and we were very pleased with both the island and the hotel. We had the Family Getaway package, with a second room for the kid, free. The rooms were really spacious and well - appointed with great views over both the south shore and Great Sound. These views made up for the accompanying view below us of the hotel rooftop.

Some of the reviews here have faulted the service at the hotel but this was not our experience. Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful without exception. When we asked where we could find a bucket and spade, expecting to buy one, the concierge gave us one to use for the rest of our stay.

It was very quiet as it is off season, but I like the quiet and it didn’t feel like we were doing without because it was winter. The outdoor pool was closed for maintenance and we had thought to cancel the reservation and re-book elsewhere when we learned of this, but I am glad we didn’t. The spa pool was available to us all day, not just after 6:30pm, as it would be at other times of the year. Between the beach and the indoor pool we didn’t really feel hard done by at all.

We noted a lot of Bermudians wearing winter coats and even toques. They must think we are all nuts wandering around in shorts and wading out into the sea but it is all relative. It was well below zero when we left home so anything Bermuda’s winter could throw at us would have been an improvement. The private beach was lovely and well cared for, groomed every morning to round up the seaweed and blue jellyfish that wash up with the high tides. It was actually warm enough to wade out into the ocean, but not to swim. One of the days was very warm and we underestimated the sun a bit, and wound up a little crispy. I would really recommend venturing off the resort and exploring the beaches along the south shore. Horseshoe Bay, next door to the private beach, is apparently the most popular public beach on the island and I can see why. Of course it was almost deserted at this time of year which made it even better - like having a massive private beach just for you. There are lots of rocks to climb and amazing views. We came back the next day at low tide and found a number of caves and small coves that had been hidden by the high tide.

Some of the other reviews complained of high prices in the hotel’s restaurants. In my experience, all hotel restaurants charge higher than main street prices no matter where they are in the world. Call them captive audience premiums. However on Bermuda, everything is expensive (apples are a dollar each!) so hotel prices matched up quite well to what you would pay if you ventured off the resort to eat. I also didn't find them any higher than prices in equivalent hotels in larger cities back home.

We took the trolley down to Middle Road on the first day and walked up to the Marketplace at Heron Bay. It took about 15 minutes, with sidewalks about 80% off the way. The cars made way for us when there wasn’t a sidewalk, which is good because the roads are really narrow. You can take the bus or a cab if you are less adventurous. We bought some wine, snacks and breakfast stuff as we had a fridge in our room. This allowed us to eat breakfast in our room on a few mornings, and also to pack a picnic lunch when we went to explore the public beach. This helped bring down some of our food costs and helped subsidize some really terrific dinners at the Waterlot Inn and the Newport. Another help was that the kid ate free as part of our package. On our walk up to the Market we found a place called Wok Express, and so we came back down one night and picked up some Chinese take-out. Really delicious and reasonable - $40 for three people. Same as at home. We ate it on our balcony, watching the sunset, with a nice glass of wine. Couldn’t ask for better...

The buses are really good and run frequently. This can also help manage your costs. The trolley will take you down to Middle Road and from there you can grab a bus into Hamilton or up to the Dockyard. Once you are in Hamilton, you can take the ferry around the island too but we didn’t get the chance this time. We also missed out on a trip on the hotel’s complimentary ferry into Hamilton. It wasn’t running due to the winds so we took the bus instead.

In short, this was a great hotel on a great island. We didn’t get to see half of what there was to see, so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a large hotel set on one of the highest points on the island from where you have views of both the ocean and the Great Sound. It has many restaurants in the hotel which can be confusing but there are notices informing guests of the menu choices on offer. There are also one over the golf shop and the Waterlot Inn, a four star steak house which, in my opinion, served the best food. Be careful with ordering drinks as they expensive; the least costly bottle of wine we had was $65.
The hotel is some way from the private beach but is served by a trolley bus which runs frequently. The hotel runs a free ferry service between its sister in Hamilton when weather permits.
Sporting facilities include tennis courts and the golf course but are accessible only at an extra cost.
There are other facilities including a spa and swimming pool. We did not use either as the spa was very expensive and the external pool closed for refurbishment.
In summary, the hotel suffers from its size in that it is not very homely and rather impersonal but it is well run and comfortable.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with an ocean view and overlooking the golf course. The corner suites at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed 10 days and were able to get all over the island on public bus. This location is the best and the ferry to the sister property in Hamilton is a fabulous perk. It cost me one book of 15 bus tickets to get everywhere utilizing their ferry service. My daughter received a free spring break pass at the airport that gave her unlimited free public transportation. The people, service, location are top notch. There's no other comparable place on the island. We went by bus to Coco Reef as this was the spring break headquarters. The beach was lovely and the people nice but nowhere near the amenities offered at the Fairmont. We never want to leave. Everyone is so nice but there is one doorman that you just want to hug. He is always so happy and makes you want to be just like him. A most wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We got an upgrade without asking but the place is so fabulous I don't think any room can e a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

You know that credit card commercial where travellers show up for the Olympics after it's all over, the stadium is empty and the atmosphere is not quite right? That was my experience at the Fairmont Southampton in mid-March. "You should be here in the season - it's a completely different place". I thought off season meant no crowds and milder temps. It was quite cold, rainy (not their fault of course) and gale force winds shut the ferries down. The locals are wearing down jackets and toques so why is the air conditioning still full blast in the restaurants? Half the restaurants were closed and lunch/dinner service for the ones that were open was painfully slow. My 17 year old who works for restaurant at home attributed it to the automatic 17% tip - no incentive! I think they just don't have enough staff in the right places. Trying to get a cab in the evening from restaurants took 30+ minutes. The outdoor pool was closed and there were limited areas where you could sit outdoors - who wants to look at an empty pool? That said, the food when it finally arrived was good and the people are very friendly. Bermuda is a beautiful island and we travelled from end to end by taxi and/or on the local bus. Would love to go back but not in March. If you go, bring a coat and some fellow diners so you are not the only one there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel doesn't cater to families, it rather caters to business groups, they want to keep them happy. The hotel was overbooked and the beach was really crowded, not mention the hotel is not on the beach and you have to grab the bus to get there. Yes, I knew this in advance but it was not good and like I said, the beach is really overcrowded.
We received good service in the hotel. The lobby doesn't compare to the Fairmont in town which has been upgraded and just beautiful. The restaurants were good, that includes Baci and the beachfront restaurant. Although, the beachfront restaurant was great atmosphere to dine outside with the sunset, the food was OK, not great.
The rooms were nice, we had adjoining rooms due to traveling with teenagers and that was good.
Loved Bermuda but I absolutely would not return to this particular hotel, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton Parish
Free internet...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
9.4 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 7 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.8 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 4 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
9.5 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.