We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bermuda in the off-season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bermuda in the off-season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a 4-star hotel located in Southampton Parrish. We visited in February when temps are generally in the 60s during the day, so didn't spend that much time on the beach. The hotel was pretty quiet as this is the off-season. The staff was very friendly and accomodating at every turn. The immediate area where the hotel is doesn't really have much to do but the beach, tennis, golf. The spa is extremely overpriced, but overall this is an expensive island. As others have commented, there are really no night activities to speak of. The room was comfortable and clean and the beds were soft. The hotel is about 35 min cab ride from the airport, and is situated on the bus route so you can get to downtown (Hamilton) on the bus in about 30 min, the Crystal Caves area takes about 30-40 min. Overall this is a solid 4 star resort and is probably the best luxury resort on the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    665
    266
    119
    65
See reviews for
539
955
55
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was my perfect quarterly get-a-way for years. I often forgot I was on business because it usually had every amenity imaginable. Now the Cellar is closed and there nothing but Jasmine and sleep. I spend big bucks on taxis to do business in Hamilton during the day. In the evening, I like the convenience of walking to the party and charging it to my room. Location has just become a slight issue.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided on a last minute vacation (three days prior to departure) to Bermuda last August (it was super hot, but the weather was perfect!), and with our trip being so spur of the moment we soon realized that not many hotel/rental options were available. Luckily, I received my monthly 'Great Rates, Great Dates' email, and sure enough the Fairmont Southampton was on there, so we quickly booked the rate and we weren't disappointed one bit! We had an amazing time from arrival to departure... The resort was gorgeous and offered everything we could have needed/wanted. The room was comfortable, and had plenty of space for the two of us... the walk-in closet as well as the separate vanity space was a nice touch and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We took a taxi to the nearby grocery store when we arrived and picked up a a few essentials... snacks, drinks, etc... So that we didn't find ourselves starved and digging in to the minibar! As far as meals, we ate on site a few times... Dining at Ocean Club, Newport Gastropub, Windows on the Sound and Wickets during our stay... And honestly, everything we ate was delicious and the service was always outstanding. We also ventured out to Henry VIII's & Mickey's for dinners, and both were wonderful and also had entertainment to enjoy after your meal! My only complaint was that the hotel's beach was always very crowded, but the easiest way to solve that was to just go down the beach and explore some of the more quieter coves... Problem solved! We also rented a scooter from the resort one day [which I highly recommend], and drove to the dockyard for the afternoon and then went to Hamilton the next morning... It was nice to not be reliant on the ferry's schedule and/or having to spend the cash on taxis. We also enjoyed morning strolls around the resort, and along the nearby beaches. All in all, one of our most memorable vacations.

PS - Be sure not to miss Horseshoe Bay (right next to the hotel's beach), as well as the view from Gibb's lighthouse (within walking distance to the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your vacation last August, we are thrilled that you were able to take part in our Great Rates, Great Dates promotion and book a fabulous trip to Bermuda. It sounds like you got into the island spirit exploring the beaches, coves, and Dockyard. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoy not only the property but also the surrounding beautiful island. Thank you again for your review, and hopefully we will welcome you & your boyfriend back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed during the off season so the weather was not great, but that's not the hotel's fault. Beautiful views from the hotel and walking distance to fabulous beaches (especially Horseshoe, which is one of the prettiest beaches I've ever seen). Too cold for extended swimming and lots of Portuguese Man of Wars floating around. The staff was very helpful and the food was good. I would especially recommend the Waterlot restaurant. The hotel is a little older, but updated nicely inside. Other than the weather, I would definitely come back here, although i think it is slightly pricey which is why it doesn't receive an excellent rating from me. Bermuda is a clean, lovely, friendly island, but go there during Spring - Fall

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hi there...

Just got back from a weekend trip to celebrate the wife's 40th. We stayed at the Fairmont SouthHampton.

What an amazing hotel. The staff were all so nice and accommodating. They even sent us up a cake and card on my wife's actual birthday. Rooms are a little dated but overall very comfortable. Only ate once at the Jasmine Lounge and have to say it was a great meal... Food wise, thought it to be better than the Barracuda and Harbourfront which we both ate at as well...

Dinner with drinks at the Jasmine was around $150 while both the other 2 restaurants was over $200 each.

Wife had spa services done on the Sunday and said it was an amazing experience. It had better be for the cost... :). Got to check out the indoor pool and steam room which was nice.

Justin and Desmond the doormen, were amazing and very friendly. Overall great experience with the Hotel and we are already looking forward to going back. Has become one of our favorite destinations.

The scooter rental place on-site has scooters that are a little dated and ours actually broke down 30 min away from the hotel. That being said they covered the return taxi and issued me a refund, so can't complain but wouldn't recommend them. Guy was nice enough, but found out afterwards that I could have gotten a better bike for cheaper off-site.

Taxi's are expensive on the island so make sure you budget accordingly. Taxi to the Caves is around $30. Hamilton around $20. and the Dockyards around $30. Sundays they charge a 25% surcharge on all taxi fares. You can see how this could add up. I would recommend scooter and bus during the day and cabs at night. Although I did find an amazing driver, who's contact info I've kept to share with people who need it. Not any cheaper, but really informative and helpful. We used him alot.

Hotel staff and services was top notch and we're already looking to book again.

Room Tip: We were in 226, had a great view of the pool and Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences, it sounds like you were able to make the best out of a trip that had a bit of bad weather. We apologise for any problems you had with your scooter, but we're glad to hear our partners reimbursed you for the inconvenience. We love to hear when people love Bermuda, and we look forward to hosting you again- fingers crossed for better weather next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel,spa,fitness room and indoor pool,friendly and helpfull staff especially great concierge,definitely at the high standards of the Fairmont hotels in North America. Went on a 5 day vacation with Westjet vacations, weather wasn't great since it's their winter now but staying at this hotel made it better.

Had a moderate room on the second floor,was as good as the ocean view rooms since the wind most days were too strong to use the balcony. Eat a few times at the Jasmine lounge, one at the gastropub. We liked the Jasmine lounge better. Food is expensive everywhere in Bermuda,the restaurants at the fairmont are also expensive but the Jasmine lounge has a great Moroccan pizza! Visited the fairmont Hamilton, not anywhere as nice as the Southampton, seemed much older and less luxurious.

Has a great beach,too bad we couldn't use it. A little disappointed that the dance club they had is now shut down. But the indoor swimming pool and hot tubs are a good evening activity.

Room Tip: Moderate rooms are great if you don't care about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your Valentine's Getaway to Bermuda. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You are right, a moderate room is a great, economical room option if you don't mind enjoying the stunning views of Bermuda from locales other than your room- the Resort Pool, the Willow Stream Spa, Jasmine Lounge, & The Waterlot Inn all have great Bermuda views. We're glad to hear you enjoyed Jasmine - the Moroccan Pizza is delicious! We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon, when it is a bit sunnier and you can explore our beautiful beach. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just recently came back from staying at the Fairmont Southampton. It was a nice and relaxing stay. Here are some of my thoughts:

Bermuda
Beautiful destination, very clean and the people are very cordial. Not much on the main strip but shops and restaurants, but it was nice for a leisurely stroll. We went during the beginning of February, so it was a bit breezy and not hot enough to really enjoy the beaches. Just be aware that whatever weather is going on in the east coast of the U.S., Bermuda will get a ping of that to. So snowy and cold in NY, it will be breezy and very cool in Bermuda.

Hotel
Nice rooms, very comfortable beds. Basically a standard hotel room. It was comfortable, spacious and clean. Staff was quite nice, especially the doorman Nick. He is a true treasure and the Fairmont is lucky to have him. He gave great suggestions on where to go, what to eat, etc. It was nice to have him around in case we had any questions.

Food
This was my only gripe with the hotel and with the destination. As many reviewers have already stated, the food is quite expensive. My friend and I combined spent about $450 on food for a 3 night stay, and believe me we ate average meals (2 eggs for breakfast, sandwich or salad for lunch, nice dinner, a couple of drinks). We even had the 20% off promotion on all of our food within the hotel and went during restaurant week in Bermuda and the bills were still expensive.We mostly ate on property but did experience 2-3 restaurants offsite. So please be prepared to spend a good chunk of your budget on food and drink.

Unfortunately in my opinion the food was average on property and about average to nice off property. The food just never tasted flavorful. It's as if they cook without seasoning anything. Even off property, we ate at a great restaurant called Barracuda that was very nice (pricey) but good. But it wasn't great, and still there was always something off. I don't know if our palettes are too American (salt, butter, spices) or if they prefer to cook their food in a plain way to stay as safe as possible, but we never had a great enjoyable meal. It was mostly just decent food.

Transportation
Taxi's are everywhere and plentiful, but could get pricey if you use them to various destinations in a day. We did use the local bus transportation from time to time ($10 for a day pass that can be purchased at the hotel). They come quite often and it's very easy to use to get to the downtown area or anywhere else you want to go (You would use the #8 to get to and from the hotel). If you want to get a nice tour of Bermuda, it's a good idea to use the bus system. It's clean and efficient.

All in all we had a nice trip, and I may give the destination another go when the weather is a bit nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms - The higher you stay the better the view. Spend the few extra bucks to upgrade to 5th floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of your visit to The Fairmont Southampton, we are glad to hear you found it relaxing. You are right, Bermuda can be slightly breezy in the winter, but certainly nowhere near temperatures on the East Coast. In January & February, Bermuda's average temperature is 63 F. Certainly a warm respite from snowy East Coast!

We are disappointed to hear your feedback on the food. We take great pride in having fresh, flavourful food and are sorry to hear that you did not find it exceptional. The Fairmont Southampton has dining options at a variety of price-points to suit a range of budgets, and is priced similarly to other outlets in the country.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the public bus system- you're right, it is a great way to explore Bermuda. We hope to host you again in the future, and will aim to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.