We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Long Weekend at the Southampton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off & $200 Credit
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Long Weekend at the Southampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I spent the President's Day weekend (Thursday through Monday) at the Fairmont Southampton. Our reason for going was to visit Bermuda, a new destination, and we have always had good experiences with the Fairmont. No exception to that. They arranged airport transportation, we didn't even 'check in' as the Bellman knew we were coming and took us to our room. It was kind of cool flying right over our big pink hotel. The property is beautiful and the restaurants terrific. Waterlot is expensive, but worth it for the food and experience of a nearly 350 year old property. That said, I think our favorite was the Newport, right off the lobby. The atmoshpere was fun, the food terrific, and the people really friendly. Our only regret is that we only had 1 more night by the time we ate there and couldn't return. Learn from us and eat there 'the Chicago way', early and often. One highlight for us was walking the Railway Trail towards the Dockyards. We went about 12 kilometers and then took the bus the rest of the way (we were running out of time!). Our suggestion to the conceirge was that they recommend that trail as a bike trail for guests. Wonderful walk, but it would be a really great bike ride. I didn't get to play the golf course, but that looks like a really fun par 3 track. I did play Port Royal---go play that course. Nice layout and really interesting holes, especially 15 and 16. Took a little while but I was told that is normal; no worries.

Great trip, fabulous property. And if you talk to the conceirge prior to getting there and you promise to stop by the desk to say 'Hi', make sure you remember----because they do! Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your weekend getaway to Bermuda at The Fairmont Southampton. It sounds like you and your wife had a great visit, which is always wonderful to hear. The Newport, a Gastropub is a new addition to our food & beverage offerings, so it is nice to get feedback that guests enjoy it - the menu there is so varied, and at prices that make sense. We are very proud of the new concept there. It also sounds like you really explored Bermuda during your long walk- sounds very relaxing. We hope you're able to return for another quick getaway soon! Thanks again for reviewing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    776
    504
    234
    105
    52
See reviews for
387
744
44
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sevastopol, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It is not central located, stays on the hill overlooking the ocean.
Nice clean and friendly.
They have own bus to their beach,I wouldn't walk there couse it is kinda far away and especially in summer you get tired before get to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Like previous posters, I have to say that the staff at the Fairmont Southampton are amazing. They are just genuinely nice people who seem to enjoy their job. The only person who's name I actually caught was Nick, the concierge, but everyone at this property always greeted us with a smile and a hello and was always super helpful.

We booked a deluxe harbour view room and got room 257. This is a corner room that sort of has a partial view of the harbour; if you were in your room you could only see half habour and the other half is (I think) the golf course. If you went to the balcony and faced left you'd see the whole harbour.

I requested for a King sized bed, a crib and a fridge. Crib and fridge were not in our room but a quick call to the front desk had housekeeping bring the items to us in a timely manner. The room is a good size, with double sinks, marble countertops, a separate room for the toilet and bathtub and high end amenities. There is also a flatscreen TV with American cable channels, and desk with two chairs and an armchair/recliner. There is plenty of room, even with our crib, for our son to walk/run around.

We left our room around 12 on most days and by the time we came home (5, 6ish) our room was always cleaned.

I asked to borrow a stroller (which the concierge mentioned they had when I called prior to leaving for my trip) and housekeeping brought that up. It's a somewhat old, metal (re: HEAVY) stroller but still beats us having to lug our own from the States! I also thought this was a great perk and that ALL hotels should have loaner strollers!

There are a few onsite restaurants; Jasmine Lounge has small bites that you can request to take up to your room (no inroom dining charge but 17% gratuity charge). We brought back pizza one night and it's AMAZING but very small! Definitely more a snack and not a meal. We also had dinner one night at the Newport Room; hubby enjoyed the steak very much whereas my mahimahi was only ehhh. Wouldn't recommend the fish but wholeheartedly recommend the steak (and their awesome fries).

There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and the busdrivers were always very friendly and approachable. We were able to tell them where we needed to go and they would always remind us at that particular stop. Tokens and passes can be bought at the front desk.

The indoor pool can only be used by hotel guests after 6:30pm, which normally wouldn't be an issue but I think during off season this should be a bit more flexible? What if the weather was bad and hotel guests needed to stay indoors? We didn't use the heated outdoor pool since it was just slightly nippy and I wouldn't want my son to catch a cold.

We had free WiFi in our room and the connection was very strong; never had any issues with it.

There is a free ferry that goes to the sister hotel, Fairmont Hamilton that departs at 9:30, 12:30 and 5:30 and returns at 10:30, 1:30 and 6:30. I would've liked a later return (maybe 8, 9?) for those that want to have dinner in Hamilton. It takes about 25 minutes to get to Hamilton on the ferry.

All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 257 is a corner room that is on the path of the trolley so may not be a good choice if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. We're glad that you had a satisfying vacation with us, and found the service and amenities to be high-quality. It sounds like the small bumps you encountered were quickly smoothed over by our staff. The Spa indoor pool is part of the Willow Stream Spa, and is a quiet spa sanctuary during the day, but open to all guests after 6:30 pm. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience it, then. Thank you again for sharing your experiences, we hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I checked in for a brief tour and meeting at this hotel. From the time we exited the cab, we had one fantastic visit! The staff was more that friendly, courteous, and gracious.

Our sleeping room had an incredible view and was nothing short of royal! Everything was top-notch. From the time that the bellman greeted us, we knew that this was going to be fun!

When you stay there, you must experience the Water Lot Dining Room. The menu is great, teh wine list even better and the staff was most helpful by making suggestions as to what was the freshest, etc..

If there were a higher rating, I would be happy to give this hotel the highest!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Perhaps it was the time of year, mid January, but the hotel lacked character and a warm welcome, from check in staff to staf in the resteraunts and bars there was a lack of charm and friendliness.
There is no excuse for the staggering cost of food and drink.
Could not recommend this hotel, or indeed bermuda.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are upset to hear that you did not enjoy your experience, we are committed to providing exceptional service that is friendly. Our food & beverage offerings have a wide range of pricing to suit each budget. Bermuda is a remote sub-tropical island, and food is slightly more expensive here than some larger destinations. We try to offer lots of great deals for our guests and are disappointed that you did not enjoy Bermuda. We hope that you will reconsider your position on a truly beautiful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Sask
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just got back from Bermuda, The Fairmont Southhampton ( the Princess) is a great place to stay. They should not have named their other hotel the Princess because all the locals still call South Hampton the Princess and for good reason. The building stands out like a castle, the golf course was a great par 3 that we played 3 times, and was never busy. Not too many people here in January so we got the upgrade on already a 50% room saving to an ocean view. Had 20% off golf and food as well. Berumda is a great island if you want to golf, especially in January , we signed up for the visitors tournament at Port Royal and had the course to ourselves n a Monday morning, the knock off $70 off the $180 rate ( with cart) Still cheaper than golf in Jamaica, and only a short cab ride from FSH, the other course that was closer you could take the shuttle we ran out of days is all. All staff very friendly , rooms awesome , taking the bus was an easy way to get to either end of the island, fun to see the locals , made some bus friends as well as got picked up at the stop by a nice lady going into Hamilton...Bermuda is a safe place , and nobody is trying to sell you anything, braid your hair or suck you in. The bonus was the just for laughs was held at the FSH that weekend and the show was fantastic.Not beach weather in Jan. but if you like to golf hassle free take your clubs and enjoy the many courses with very little traffic on them. Awesome beds too. Beach was cool but water was cold.

Room Tip: Great par 3 course , very challenging. Patty Harrington played it a couple of time on his visit as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall, the property is a gem. The staff are super nice and go out of there way to be courteous and helpful. The concierge, nick the bellman and front desk staff were great!

That being said, we had numerous issues. At check-in, my mother arranged to have a gift card presented to my husband upon arrival as a surprise birthday gift. Unfortunately, I had to inquire about it. The manager was super apologetic and upgraded us for free to a harbor view room. they initially asked at check in if we wanted to pay $50 for such. As if the upgrade wasn't by itself enough, they they sent a 6 inch cake with Prosecco plus chocolate covered strawberries the room wishing him a happy birthday!

The room was nice; however, our room didn't have bathrobes and the heat didn't work. We never complained about the heat the first night as it wasn't too cold. The second night we were quite annoyed by our neighbors - the couple next door. Their tv was very loud. We could hear every phone conversation - i even heard their grand kid on the other end of the line. We were then awoken to their news program early in the Am. Apparently the connecting rooms cause this (at least that was the front desk's explanation). looking at the glass half filled - if you are traveling with kids and plan on using the connecting room feature, you will easily be able to keep tabs on your kids while maintaining some privacy.

I went down on day three and complained about the noise as the purpose of our trip was to get some rest as we have three young kids. The front desk was super nice and apologetic. She immediately gave me a new key and offered the bellman service. Since our tee time was approaching, she told us we could take the afternoon to switch our rooms. Again - super nice, but a pain to pack up and i can't understand why the hotel would put guests next to each other when the hotel was empty. The new room - two rooms down - nicer view -279 (old was 275) had bathrobes. However, heat didn't work, there was no down comforter on the bed and no privacy tag on front door.

At 4pm my husband mentioned the heat issue to the front desk. At 6pm the heat issue was still not addressed, my husband called the operator and was transferred to maintenance. When we returned from dinner at a little after 11pm, the carpet was soaked from the heater leaking through the vent. Who wants to deal with this at 11pm....,anyhow - maintenance returns again this time very quickly and resolved the problem. When we returned an hour later, it was fixed and we had heat!

Another quibble, on day 2, my mom's gift card did arrive however, they misaddressed the recipient of the card as they addressed it to me instead of my husband. They also miswrote the gift giver's name by incorporating the first part of my mom's last name with her street name. Really????

Nevertheless, The property is gorgeous - the shuttle service is great - highly recommend walk along horseshoe bay!

Restaurants - we had some solid meals. Ate at Waterlot (sticky date pudding and Caesar salad were amazing); Newport gastropub (shrimps were delicious along with spinach salad and seafood chowder); the breakfast buffet is good.

Golf - The three hole golf course was terrific. We also played Port Royal (highly recommend {$180 a round}and the cookies on course were awesome). The fairmount course is well kept but no water fillup on course but They did give u one complimentary btl of water. another annoyance Nobody cleaned clubs at the end at either course...for $89 a round for a par 3 - u expect this!

Gym - The fitness room was nice but I think it's offensive to charge $15 a day after charging $22 in resort fee. Gym access in my opinion is part of your fee for being a guest. i understand charging extra for classes (they offer yoga, pilates Tuesday thru saturday mornings for a $15 fee - the pool aqua class is complimentary), is understandable, however, gym access should be complimentary.


Pools - guests cannot access the indoor pool without incurring a $25 charge before 6:30. I think that's obnoxious in off season when you cannot use the outdoor pools.

Please note between room taxes and resort fees expect to pay $60 additional per night in mandatory fees (that's not counting gym or indoor pool).

Overall, I would return but the price would have to be right.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for writing us such a lengthy review. We really appreciate when guests can share with us areas to improve upon, and I assure you that your comments are taken seriously. We're glad that you found the staff to be friendly, and we agree, Nick at the front door is an amazing hotel ambassador.

We apologise that we had difficulties with presenting you the gift card, but are heartened to hear that our management team did try to make it up to you. We also apologise for the noisy neighbours, and malfunctioning heating system- we are glad it was ultimately fixed, but are sorry that it occurred.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy lots of the hotel's amenities and had a fabulous experience dining and golfing. We will pass your comments about the club-cleaning to our golf team. Both the Spa Pool & the Fitness Centre are part of the separate Willow Stream Spa. The Spa Pool is open to free guest use after 6:30 PM, once most of the Spa clients have left. Access to the Fitness Centre is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club Members, which is free to join.

Thanks again for sharing about your experience and giving us feedback on what we should work on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel
Fairmont Southampton
Southampton Princess
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.