We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pricy, staff is very nice but the hotel lacks attention to details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off & $200 Credit
Rye, New York, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very pricy, staff is very nice but the hotel lacks attention to details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall, the property is a gem. The staff are super nice and go out of there way to be courteous and helpful. The concierge, nick the bellman and front desk staff were great!

That being said, we had numerous issues. At check-in, my mother arranged to have a gift card presented to my husband upon arrival as a surprise birthday gift. Unfortunately, I had to inquire about it. The manager was super apologetic and upgraded us for free to a harbor view room. they initially asked at check in if we wanted to pay $50 for such. As if the upgrade wasn't by itself enough, they they sent a 6 inch cake with Prosecco plus chocolate covered strawberries the room wishing him a happy birthday!

The room was nice; however, our room didn't have bathrobes and the heat didn't work. We never complained about the heat the first night as it wasn't too cold. The second night we were quite annoyed by our neighbors - the couple next door. Their tv was very loud. We could hear every phone conversation - i even heard their grand kid on the other end of the line. We were then awoken to their news program early in the Am. Apparently the connecting rooms cause this (at least that was the front desk's explanation). looking at the glass half filled - if you are traveling with kids and plan on using the connecting room feature, you will easily be able to keep tabs on your kids while maintaining some privacy.

I went down on day three and complained about the noise as the purpose of our trip was to get some rest as we have three young kids. The front desk was super nice and apologetic. She immediately gave me a new key and offered the bellman service. Since our tee time was approaching, she told us we could take the afternoon to switch our rooms. Again - super nice, but a pain to pack up and i can't understand why the hotel would put guests next to each other when the hotel was empty. The new room - two rooms down - nicer view -279 (old was 275) had bathrobes. However, heat didn't work, there was no down comforter on the bed and no privacy tag on front door.

At 4pm my husband mentioned the heat issue to the front desk. At 6pm the heat issue was still not addressed, my husband called the operator and was transferred to maintenance. When we returned from dinner at a little after 11pm, the carpet was soaked from the heater leaking through the vent. Who wants to deal with this at 11pm....,anyhow - maintenance returns again this time very quickly and resolved the problem. When we returned an hour later, it was fixed and we had heat!

Another quibble, on day 2, my mom's gift card did arrive however, they misaddressed the recipient of the card as they addressed it to me instead of my husband. They also miswrote the gift giver's name by incorporating the first part of my mom's last name with her street name. Really????

Nevertheless, The property is gorgeous - the shuttle service is great - highly recommend walk along horseshoe bay!

Restaurants - we had some solid meals. Ate at Waterlot (sticky date pudding and Caesar salad were amazing); Newport gastropub (shrimps were delicious along with spinach salad and seafood chowder); the breakfast buffet is good.

Golf - The three hole golf course was terrific. We also played Port Royal (highly recommend {$180 a round}and the cookies on course were awesome). The fairmount course is well kept but no water fillup on course but They did give u one complimentary btl of water. another annoyance Nobody cleaned clubs at the end at either course...for $89 a round for a par 3 - u expect this!

Gym - The fitness room was nice but I think it's offensive to charge $15 a day after charging $22 in resort fee. Gym access in my opinion is part of your fee for being a guest. i understand charging extra for classes (they offer yoga, pilates Tuesday thru saturday mornings for a $15 fee - the pool aqua class is complimentary), is understandable, however, gym access should be complimentary.


Pools - guests cannot access the indoor pool without incurring a $25 charge before 6:30. I think that's obnoxious in off season when you cannot use the outdoor pools.

Please note between room taxes and resort fees expect to pay $60 additional per night in mandatory fees (that's not counting gym or indoor pool).

Overall, I would return but the price would have to be right.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for writing us such a lengthy review. We really appreciate when guests can share with us areas to improve upon, and I assure you that your comments are taken seriously. We're glad that you found the staff to be friendly, and we agree, Nick at the front door is an amazing hotel ambassador.

We apologise that we had difficulties with presenting you the gift card, but are heartened to hear that our management team did try to make it up to you. We also apologise for the noisy neighbours, and malfunctioning heating system- we are glad it was ultimately fixed, but are sorry that it occurred.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy lots of the hotel's amenities and had a fabulous experience dining and golfing. We will pass your comments about the club-cleaning to our golf team. Both the Spa Pool & the Fitness Centre are part of the separate Willow Stream Spa. The Spa Pool is open to free guest use after 6:30 PM, once most of the Spa clients have left. Access to the Fitness Centre is complimentary for Fairmont President's Club Members, which is free to join.

Thanks again for sharing about your experience and giving us feedback on what we should work on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    940
    589
    253
    116
    62
See reviews for
480
860
49
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wow! That is really all I can say... Wow! I had an absolutely amazing experience at the Fairmont Southampton. The hotel itself is stunning - a beautiful pink building with a gorgeous entryway that smells amazing. The lobby reminded me of an elegant cruise ship with flowers, wood accents, and a beautiful pastel pink and green color scheme. My room was absolutely amazing - gorgeous large balcony with a view of the golf course, ocean and lighthouse. The color schemes in the room suit the island perfectly, warm, happy and bright! The bathroom was luxurious and there was so much space. I especially liked the large closet to store my luggage in. The entire building is impeccably clean - a real attention to detail on the part of the room attendants that is second to none! There are many restaurants to choose from, serving whatever you are in the mood for and serving a great quality product. Amazing fitness facilities with lemon water, towels, headphones etc and a lovely view of the pool. The spa was divine, as were both the indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub. What a great variety of facilities to please everyone! The on site golf course was lovely as well - a very challenging par 3 course with stunning views (not to mention the awesome pink golf carts!!)
The hotel also features a private beach and tennis courts - the beach is well kept up with a cabana bar, dive shop, towels available, and great beach chairs. The one think we really appreciated was the shuttle service that takes you from the lobby either to the fine dining restaurant down the road (also conveniently right next to a bus stop), or to the beach and tennis facilities. What a time saver! There is also a ferry service that takes you into the town of Hamilton complimentary for hotel guests. Impressed by this hotel would be an understatment - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Bermuda!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in October of 2012 for our 5th year anniversery. Was greeted upon check in with a bottle of champaigne in my room and chocolate covered strawberries. On day 2 a 5th year anniversery chocalate cake was left in my room. Staff at the hotel was great. room was spacious. Beach was awesome. Many places to eat at the hotel and all are very good. Great bar on site that keeps the Dark & Stormies coming and also offers a nice tea time option late afternoons. The hotel can be pricey but if you are looking for a special occasion this place is for you. Will surely return and might even splurge on the gold floor nexrt time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda. We appreciate when guests tell us about their special occasions in advance so that we are able to surprise & delight them. It sounds like our team was able to pamper you and your wife during your stay, which is wonderful! We look forward to hosting you both again, and thank you for taking the time to share about your wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotels in Bermuda are expensive and for the high prices excellence is expected. The staff is excellent, the rooms are nice, the beach is beautiful. The fact that they got rid of the nicest restaurant they had is subpar.

Expect to get a bus pass or be prepared to spend a lot of time in a taxi to go to restaurants. This is the only downside to this hotel.

Complimentary ferry is great during the day to go into Hamilton or to take the last one over for dinner. You will need to find alternative transportation back however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Southampton Fairmont is perched on a hill with an outstanding view of the ocean and surrounding area. You can't beat the location if its beach you are looking for (they have their own private beach next to public Horseshoe Bay). There is a shuttle that takes you around the large property and to and from the convenient and free ferry that takes you into Hamilton. A taxi is approximately $25 with tip into Hamilton or $30 to the Dockyards, save your $ for food and rum and take the bus - its clean, efficient and offers interesting routes to take in all of the islands views. We visited in low season so I'm going to assume that the hotel wasn't running on all cylinders - it appeared somewhat tired and not necessarily up to the standards I'd expect for a Fairmont. Take the breakfast package as the food in Bermuda is expensive and the Fairmont buffet breakfast provides lots of options and gets you through until dinner (on Sunday it's very busy as they add a Bermudian menu to their brunch which was very tasty). The Waterlot was our best fine dining experience at the hotel. The concierge was very helpful and pleasant, the front desk was inconsistent in its service - again I expect this is seasonal and when they are in full swing they iron all of this out. We didn't play golf but the friendly staff at the club house let us take a cart around the course to have a look. The spa and indoor pool are a great way to spend a rainy day. If you are looking for something livelier where you can easily walk to downtown Hamilton shopping and restaurants you may want to consider another venue.

Room Tip: Stay away from "bargain" floors - ie those with obstructed views on lower floors - you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed the views of beautiful Bermuda. Your suggestion of saving the $ for rum & food made us laugh, but you are right- the Bermuda public buses are a great, economical way of getting around and seeing some spectacular sights. We're glad that you enjoyed The Waterlot, it's a wonderful premier dining experience. We apologise, however, if you felt that our service was lacking at all- we certainly aim to deliver outstanding service year-round. We hope that you're able to visit again soon, and experience The Fairmont Southampton during a slightly busier time. Thank you again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed t the south Hampton princess 2 times 2011 & 2012 amazing place. We love the beach is close by the food has been great. In 2012 we stayed on the gold floor which is a very memorable experience. The staff make your stay all have been so helpful with our daughter and any information needed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this very large fairmont hotel in January and were given good deals on out of season rates.however be warned!!----make sure your room is harbour facing away from service rooms and especially noisy lift shafts !!the outdoor pool area below the 6 floors of ocean facing rooms acts as an amphitheatre and all noises from corporate meetings/ children playing in the various pools etc are amplified to the bedrooms above,which isn't great when you are taking that siesta!!
This is a 500+room hotel which hosts a considerable amount of corporate events although they are generally well managed and don't interfere with normal routines.the jasmine bar lounge is comfortable and efficient ,breakfast facilities good and their so called gastro pub THE NEWPORT serves good quality meals (although can be very noisy!!)
Other facilities including their golf course are good if not exceptional.staff are excellent and very helpful.
Prices for f&b are high as in all Bermuda especially when you add the taxes on the total !!
However,a good very large hotel ,well run for its purpose,and worth an out of season visit for those special fairmont offers!!

Room Tip: Harbour view away from lift shafts and service rooms preferably at the end of the building to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. We're sorry to hear you had some noise issues, but it sounds like they were resolved, which is great. You're right- Jasmine is the perfect lounge for a drink & Newport has quite a lively atmosphere. We're also glad you enjoyed the golf. It sounds like you were able to come on one of our special offers, which is excellent. We hope that you'll return for a visit again soon, thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.