We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is the best part” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Essex, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beach is the best part”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotels in Bermuda are expensive and for the high prices excellence is expected. The staff is excellent, the rooms are nice, the beach is beautiful. The fact that they got rid of the nicest restaurant they had is subpar.

Expect to get a bus pass or be prepared to spend a lot of time in a taxi to go to restaurants. This is the only downside to this hotel.

Complimentary ferry is great during the day to go into Hamilton or to take the last one over for dinner. You will need to find alternative transportation back however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    619
    260
    119
    63
See reviews for
511
897
52
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Southampton Fairmont is perched on a hill with an outstanding view of the ocean and surrounding area. You can't beat the location if its beach you are looking for (they have their own private beach next to public Horseshoe Bay). There is a shuttle that takes you around the large property and to and from the convenient and free ferry that takes you into Hamilton. A taxi is approximately $25 with tip into Hamilton or $30 to the Dockyards, save your $ for food and rum and take the bus - its clean, efficient and offers interesting routes to take in all of the islands views. We visited in low season so I'm going to assume that the hotel wasn't running on all cylinders - it appeared somewhat tired and not necessarily up to the standards I'd expect for a Fairmont. Take the breakfast package as the food in Bermuda is expensive and the Fairmont buffet breakfast provides lots of options and gets you through until dinner (on Sunday it's very busy as they add a Bermudian menu to their brunch which was very tasty). The Waterlot was our best fine dining experience at the hotel. The concierge was very helpful and pleasant, the front desk was inconsistent in its service - again I expect this is seasonal and when they are in full swing they iron all of this out. We didn't play golf but the friendly staff at the club house let us take a cart around the course to have a look. The spa and indoor pool are a great way to spend a rainy day. If you are looking for something livelier where you can easily walk to downtown Hamilton shopping and restaurants you may want to consider another venue.

Room Tip: Stay away from "bargain" floors - ie those with obstructed views on lower floors - you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed the views of beautiful Bermuda. Your suggestion of saving the $ for rum & food made us laugh, but you are right- the Bermuda public buses are a great, economical way of getting around and seeing some spectacular sights. We're glad that you enjoyed The Waterlot, it's a wonderful premier dining experience. We apologise, however, if you felt that our service was lacking at all- we certainly aim to deliver outstanding service year-round. We hope that you're able to visit again soon, and experience The Fairmont Southampton during a slightly busier time. Thank you again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed t the south Hampton princess 2 times 2011 & 2012 amazing place. We love the beach is close by the food has been great. In 2012 we stayed on the gold floor which is a very memorable experience. The staff make your stay all have been so helpful with our daughter and any information needed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this very large fairmont hotel in January and were given good deals on out of season rates.however be warned!!----make sure your room is harbour facing away from service rooms and especially noisy lift shafts !!the outdoor pool area below the 6 floors of ocean facing rooms acts as an amphitheatre and all noises from corporate meetings/ children playing in the various pools etc are amplified to the bedrooms above,which isn't great when you are taking that siesta!!
This is a 500+room hotel which hosts a considerable amount of corporate events although they are generally well managed and don't interfere with normal routines.the jasmine bar lounge is comfortable and efficient ,breakfast facilities good and their so called gastro pub THE NEWPORT serves good quality meals (although can be very noisy!!)
Other facilities including their golf course are good if not exceptional.staff are excellent and very helpful.
Prices for f&b are high as in all Bermuda especially when you add the taxes on the total !!
However,a good very large hotel ,well run for its purpose,and worth an out of season visit for those special fairmont offers!!

Room Tip: Harbour view away from lift shafts and service rooms preferably at the end of the building to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. We're sorry to hear you had some noise issues, but it sounds like they were resolved, which is great. You're right- Jasmine is the perfect lounge for a drink & Newport has quite a lively atmosphere. We're also glad you enjoyed the golf. It sounds like you were able to come on one of our special offers, which is excellent. We hope that you'll return for a visit again soon, thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton last February, 2012. From start to finish, it was a magical experience. The room was lovely, the views from our balcony were beautiful and the service was impeccable. We had mentioned that it was our anniversary and were welcomed to our room with a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us! The weather was a bit on the cool side, but we still managed to swim outside in the pool and spent many a night out in the hot tubs. The location of this hotel is great. The beach is right across the street, there are many walking trails, and this part of the island is much more relaxing then bustling Hamilton. We will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to room on a higher level. Ask for wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What's your pleasure?

Food, drinks, golf, snorkeling, diving, beach, music, spa, jacuzzi, boat ride, business center, grand views, amazing sunsets...etc This place has it all!

Though we went off season the place was still great. The service in Bermuda is worth the money but chose wisely. Call and ask for offers they have, sometimes you get a room free in the family package.

The harbor view rooms have a nice view at night. The sea side view gets dark beyond the hotel limits.

Tio pepe is in the area and quite nice. Vegetarian MUST NOT go to Henry VIII but good otherwise.

The golf course has a new greens keeper so the course is getting in better shape.

Room Tip: Harbor side has a better view for day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at The Fairmont Southampton. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation in Bermuda during the winter season. You are right: we offer lots of great specials via phone, web, or your travel professional at this time of the year and it is a terrific time to experience Bermuda without all of the bustle of the high season. We're glad you noticed our constant updates to the golf course, we are excited at how it's shaping up. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been to Bermuda a couple of times in the past but always by the way of a cruise ship. I fell in love with Bermuda and decided to try and see it another way so I flew there and booked the Fairmont Southampton. I am very glad I did! I flew on December 31st and stayed until January 5th. I knew that most people would be going away and that is what I wanted. I wanted a relaxing stay without a ton of people I got what I wished for!

Since my main focus was relaxation, I bought a pass for the indoor pool at the spa. I knew that less people would be there and the people there would want relaxation also. It was always very quiet and peaceful so I was glad I bought that pass.

As for the room, I had difficulties at first because I was put in a room that was connecting with another one. I could follow the conversation in the other room and they were there to party. I could not even hear the television since their music was too loud. I went to the front desk and they moved me to a very quiet room. The rooms are very spacious and the balcony are a plus. You can see the wear and tear with the carpet and the tapestry but this is always the case in hotels where there has not been a major refurbishment in a while and usually the wear and tear occurs quickly with so many guests.

I had booked the Bermuda escape sale so the room was 50% off (165$ a night) and 20% off restaurants, golf and spa. I mostly ate at Jasmine and found the food very good. It is not high end gastronomy, you can go to the Waterlot for that, but serves good food for relatively good prices. Since I live in Montreal and go to New York frequently, the prices did not surprise me but if you are from a small town you will find them very expensive!!!

Of course, the beach is just down the hill that you can access with the trolley. It is a private beach located next door to Horseshoebay which is an incredible beach! I was almost the only one in the ocean since the temperatures in December-January are around 20 C-70 F. I am used to cold weather so I swam in the ocean and was very happy to!

All in all, it was an incredible trip. I think that if the prices are as good next year as this year, I will be back!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, book a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda. We are happy to hear that you were able to relax during your vacation, and you're right, this is the perfect time of year to do it- things are quieter, it's slightly cooler but not cold, and Bermuda is still full of tranquil, lush serenity. We apologise that your neighbours were noisy, but are so happy to hear that our front desk staff were able to move you into a more quiet room so that you could fully relax and enjoy your holiday. Thank you again for your contribution, and we hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 593
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.