We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room rates but beware” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Southampton

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Southampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Southampton
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off & $200 Credit
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good room rates but beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this very large fairmont hotel in January and were given good deals on out of season rates.however be warned!!----make sure your room is harbour facing away from service rooms and especially noisy lift shafts !!the outdoor pool area below the 6 floors of ocean facing rooms acts as an amphitheatre and all noises from corporate meetings/ children playing in the various pools etc are amplified to the bedrooms above,which isn't great when you are taking that siesta!!
This is a 500+room hotel which hosts a considerable amount of corporate events although they are generally well managed and don't interfere with normal routines.the jasmine bar lounge is comfortable and efficient ,breakfast facilities good and their so called gastro pub THE NEWPORT serves good quality meals (although can be very noisy!!)
Other facilities including their golf course are good if not exceptional.staff are excellent and very helpful.
Prices for f&b are high as in all Bermuda especially when you add the taxes on the total !!
However,a good very large hotel ,well run for its purpose,and worth an out of season visit for those special fairmont offers!!

Room Tip: Harbour view away from lift shafts and service rooms preferably at the end of the building to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. We're sorry to hear you had some noise issues, but it sounds like they were resolved, which is great. You're right- Jasmine is the perfect lounge for a drink & Newport has quite a lively atmosphere. We're also glad you enjoyed the golf. It sounds like you were able to come on one of our special offers, which is excellent. We hope that you'll return for a visit again soon, thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    562
    247
    109
    59
See reviews for
447
829
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton last February, 2012. From start to finish, it was a magical experience. The room was lovely, the views from our balcony were beautiful and the service was impeccable. We had mentioned that it was our anniversary and were welcomed to our room with a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us! The weather was a bit on the cool side, but we still managed to swim outside in the pool and spent many a night out in the hot tubs. The location of this hotel is great. The beach is right across the street, there are many walking trails, and this part of the island is much more relaxing then bustling Hamilton. We will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to room on a higher level. Ask for wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What's your pleasure?

Food, drinks, golf, snorkeling, diving, beach, music, spa, jacuzzi, boat ride, business center, grand views, amazing sunsets...etc This place has it all!

Though we went off season the place was still great. The service in Bermuda is worth the money but chose wisely. Call and ask for offers they have, sometimes you get a room free in the family package.

The harbor view rooms have a nice view at night. The sea side view gets dark beyond the hotel limits.

Tio pepe is in the area and quite nice. Vegetarian MUST NOT go to Henry VIII but good otherwise.

The golf course has a new greens keeper so the course is getting in better shape.

Room Tip: Harbor side has a better view for day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at The Fairmont Southampton. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation in Bermuda during the winter season. You are right: we offer lots of great specials via phone, web, or your travel professional at this time of the year and it is a terrific time to experience Bermuda without all of the bustle of the high season. We're glad you noticed our constant updates to the golf course, we are excited at how it's shaping up. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been to Bermuda a couple of times in the past but always by the way of a cruise ship. I fell in love with Bermuda and decided to try and see it another way so I flew there and booked the Fairmont Southampton. I am very glad I did! I flew on December 31st and stayed until January 5th. I knew that most people would be going away and that is what I wanted. I wanted a relaxing stay without a ton of people I got what I wished for!

Since my main focus was relaxation, I bought a pass for the indoor pool at the spa. I knew that less people would be there and the people there would want relaxation also. It was always very quiet and peaceful so I was glad I bought that pass.

As for the room, I had difficulties at first because I was put in a room that was connecting with another one. I could follow the conversation in the other room and they were there to party. I could not even hear the television since their music was too loud. I went to the front desk and they moved me to a very quiet room. The rooms are very spacious and the balcony are a plus. You can see the wear and tear with the carpet and the tapestry but this is always the case in hotels where there has not been a major refurbishment in a while and usually the wear and tear occurs quickly with so many guests.

I had booked the Bermuda escape sale so the room was 50% off (165$ a night) and 20% off restaurants, golf and spa. I mostly ate at Jasmine and found the food very good. It is not high end gastronomy, you can go to the Waterlot for that, but serves good food for relatively good prices. Since I live in Montreal and go to New York frequently, the prices did not surprise me but if you are from a small town you will find them very expensive!!!

Of course, the beach is just down the hill that you can access with the trolley. It is a private beach located next door to Horseshoebay which is an incredible beach! I was almost the only one in the ocean since the temperatures in December-January are around 20 C-70 F. I am used to cold weather so I swam in the ocean and was very happy to!

All in all, it was an incredible trip. I think that if the prices are as good next year as this year, I will be back!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, book a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda. We are happy to hear that you were able to relax during your vacation, and you're right, this is the perfect time of year to do it- things are quieter, it's slightly cooler but not cold, and Bermuda is still full of tranquil, lush serenity. We apologise that your neighbours were noisy, but are so happy to hear that our front desk staff were able to move you into a more quiet room so that you could fully relax and enjoy your holiday. Thank you again for your contribution, and we hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had last been to this property (once called the Southhampton Princess) 3 decades ago. So it was with some trepidation that we returned for an anniversary vacation, not sure whether we would simply be mourning its past glory. Far from it -- we had a wonderful time, warmed by the unchanged hospitality of its Bermudian staff. And most of the traditions lived on, enhanced by a total upgrade of the hotel performed a few years ago. By sheer luck we discovered the President's Club Floor, with an upgrade we requested when it was on sale. THAT was a fabulous experience for sheer relaxation and casual socialization. Breakfast, tea, and hors d'oeuvres are all included and provided in an on-floor lounge with marvelous balcony tables. Exchange privileges with their sister hotel in Hamilton offered the same free private afternoon tea, etc., with this upgrade package.
Everyone from the shuttle drivers (to dock or beach) to the concierge were unfailingly helpful and friendly -- and the traditional Bermuda attire retained the full British formality.
Dinner at their seafront restaurant was a meal to remember for a lifetime, for the sunset view, the perfectly prepared fish, and the easy conversation with other terrace diners.
The only only disappointment was that the once-elegant Newport Room restaurant of our memories is now a pub-style -- reflecting the economic and style changes of the times.
We took the free ferry to Hamilton, and enjoyed the boatride, but the town was a huge disappointment. Gone was the elegance of Triminghams and other high-end stores, replaced by dismal shops and touristy souvenir places. Don't bother to even walk around, except to have lunch at a Yelp-recommended restaurant.
Bottom line -- after not going for decades we now want to make a JetBlue flight to Bermuda an annual decompression trip each year, to soak in the genuine hospitality and perfect elegance of this property.
And I haven't even mentioned the gorgeous executive-length golf course on the property. Short, but challenging, and with the full Atlantic before you.

Room Tip: Splurge for the President's Club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Fairmont Southampton, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are overwhelmed by your lovely review, thank you so much for sharing. We are so pleased we could host your anniversary and make your return trip as special as it was 3 decades ago. Our teams on Fairmont Gold do an excellent job, and it sounds like you took full advantage of all the wonderful offerings on their private concierge floor. I'm glad you enjoyed the Ocean Club and got a chance to eat with the panoramic backdrop of a glorious Bermuda sunset. In 2012, we changed the Newport Room that you describe into the Newport, a Gastropub. While the focus is still on creative, gourmet cuisine, it is at a price point that is sensible and in a more relaxed and vibrant atmosphere. We hope that we will become an annual retreat for you, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Thank you again for this glowing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We vacationed in Bermuda for a few days after Christmas. We stayed at the Fairmont Southampton and were very pleased with the hotel and their staff. They made us feel very welcome. If possible, upgrade to the 6th Floor Gold level (a few extra bucks a night but well worth it) as you get complimentary breakfast, appetizers, and desserts. Horseshoe Bay, a beautiful beach, is very close by. A beautiful 9 hole golf course.

Room Tip: 6th Floor Gold Level is worth the extra money. Get the bay side view versus the ocean side. Less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Family holiday over Xmas and New Year at Fairmont Southampton. Weather understandably a bit cold to be ideal, but the staff at the Fairmont warmed up the experience and have made this one of best holiday experiences we've had. Yes Bermuda is beautiful, the sea a stunning turquoise, the island small enough to to have a great community feel, but the thing that's special are the people.... genuine, warm, friendly, funny. The staff at the Fairmont Southampton (in contrast to the sister hotel the Fairmont Princess in Hamilton where we had a stuffy cold unhelpful service at reception/concierge) seemingly effortlessly, put their own personalities into the experience to deliver service excellence, not the fake, rote American style 'have a nice day' type of robotic effort but a genuinely warm, and helpful service, delivered uniquely by each personality. Big clap for Russell at reception, Maria waitress in the Newport, Dennis the manager, and Jane the concierge. The highlight however was Thomas the Canadian/ New York Maitre D' of the Waterlot and Manager, whose great character kept us amused at every encounter. You can't train this kind of approach but he has it in spades. Very funny, fabulous with the kids and made an ordinary and quite overpriced meal at The Waterlot worth it. My 6 year old son had a mission to report the holiday back to his class via the school Owl mascot and Thomas took him and his brother for an Owl chef adventure-money -cant- buy in the kitchens where they took some memorable unique shots for school, before taking us on a personal historic tour of the old building and wine cellars. Made the service experience on other holidays, look surly, stuffy and formulaic, Thanks Thomas and all the crew at the Fairmont. Highly recommended. ( only lost the 5th star due to high cost of meals)

Room Tip: We stayed overlooking harbour on 5th floor and were very happy with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Southampton

Address: 101 South Shore Rd, SN02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Southampton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Southampton 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda is a luxury resort perched on Bermuda's stunning south shore with miles of pink sand beaches. Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, this hotel is perfect for getaways year-round. Sitting on nearly 100 gorgeous acres dotted with lush bougainvillea and towering coconut palms, The Fairmont Southampton is Bermuda's largest full-service luxury beach resort boasting 593 rooms and 6 floors with amazing views of ocean and sound. Unparalleled amenities are offered throughout the property. Spend your days relaxing at the resort pool, or pull up a chaise lounge at the sprawling private oceanfront beach club with Dive Centre, 11 tennis courts, jet ski rentals, and more. Unwind in the luxurious Willow Stream Spa with indoor spa pool & fitness facility, or tee off at the Turtle Hill Golf Club, an award-winning 18-hole par-three championship golf course. The Fairmont Southampton has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with an impressive range of restaurant options. Family-friendly, the hotel offers a kids camp for day & evening. Free round-trip ferry service is available to the Fairmont Hamilton Princess, located in the island's downtown district. Guest rooms feature AC, 42" flat screen TV with multimedia panel, spacious work desk, 2 telephones with voicemail, dataport, Keurig coffeemaker, tea kettle, mini bar, large walk-in closet, iron & ironing board, personal digital safe, private bathroom, hairdryer & bathrobes, and WiFi Internet access is available (fee). The Fairmont Southampton is a AAA Four-Diamond award-winning resort. The Turtle Hill Golf Club was named one of the top 5 par-3 courses in the world by Golf Magazine. The Willow Stream Spa won the 2012 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award for best hotel spa in the Caribbean. In 2012, Conde Nast called The Fairmont Southampton one of the top hotels in the Atlantic & one of the best golf hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Southampton Hotel Southampton
Fairmont Southampton Bermuda
Southampton Princess Bermuda
Southampton Fairmont
The Fairmont Southampton Bermuda/Southampton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.