We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wade's Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wade's Garden Inn
#2 Hampton Head Court, SN04 , Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Wade's Garden Inn. Russell and Jean Marie are the perfect hosts! Russell also runs a taxi service and was waiting for us at the airport. He gave us a very nice guided tour on the way to the Inn. We arrived at the Inn to find a very thoughtful welcome gift of their homemade cherry jelly and items to make a Bermuda "Dark and Stormy" drink. After settling in, Russell took us on a driving tour of the area beaches, lighthouse, restaurants and then to the grocery store where he waited for us to do our shopping. Be aware that the taxi ride from the airport to the Inn will run you about $40. Keep in mind that you can easily walk to the Marketplace for more groceries as well (15 min walk).

Both Jean Marie and Russell are very open, friendly and knowledgeable about Bermuda. They can tell you about the culture, the flowers, the sights, etc. We honestly felt like we were visiting friends from the first day because they made us feel so welcome.

Wi-fi is available but is not consistent-the signal is often weak (won't work in the bedroom but works in the kitchen). Not a big deal to me but my husband had a harder time disconnecting:)

The Inn has 2 suites with a kitchen, bedroom and bathroom in each and a shared common room as well as a shared porch with a nice outdoor table/chairs and gas barbeque. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and they have put a lot of thought into caring for guests. Ex: we had a drying rack in our closet to hang out wet towels, etc from the beach and 2 beach towels in the wardrobe. The rooms are air conditioned with a control for a unit in the bedroom and a separate control for the kitchen. All necessary kitchen items were supplied including an electric kettle and pretty much anything you might need to prepare a nice meal.

We were diving for 3 days with Dive Bermuda which is in the Fairmont. Wade's Inn is the perfect location for diving. They also have snorkeling gear for hire. You can walk 2 blocks or so down the road and catch the free trolley within the Fairmont to reach the Dive shop or to be dropped off just a few steps from Horseshoe Bay. The diving was amazing but that's for another review.

Bermuda groceries are VERY expensive (as in a $5 loaf of bread) so be sure to pack a few basics like ground coffee, tea and maybe even some frozen meat if you have room in your checked luggage (we paid at least $15 for one steak to grill). Meals out are not cheap either-expect to pay around $25 per person on average.

We thought fresh fish would be cheap on an island but it's not! The Waterlot restaurant is only blocks away but be aware the it's a 4 star super expensive restaurant ($40 or $45 per entree)-too expensive for us but we had 2 beers at the outdoor bar overlooking the water and paid a premium ($18 for 2 beers). Do yourself a favor and buy your beer and wine at the Market ($11 for 6 pack of Stella, $13 for wine).

Can't say enough nice things about Wades Inn. No, you won't have a view of the water but you absolutely won't regret the choice. A great place, wonderful hosts and a reasonable price. We will definitely return to Wade's Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I read all these reviews and they are all true. There is little to add. We were two couples in the two bedrooms and the common area was perfect for getting together. The patios on either side, with east and west exposures, are delightful, as are the hosts.
My contribution to this blog is that the shuttle to the Fairmount Southampton hotel is 100 yards away. It took us up to the hotel and down the other side to Horseshoe Bay, a beautiful sandy beach. The public beach is next to the Fairmount private beach.. We were pleasantly surprised that the best meal we had was at the Fairmount golf course club house called Bacci. The pizza is superb. There's something for everyone.

Room Tip: The two rooms are comparable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently spent one night at Wade's Garden Inn staying in their Pineapple suite. If you are looking for a nice clean place to explore Bermuda this place should be considered. It comes with a kitchenette and a shared common room. Plus you have access to a front porch and back patio as well. What we liked best was that it was clean and quiet and we found the owner (russell) to be very helpful through our stay as well. The only drawback would be that there is limited view of the ocean from this location but for the price and value we were fine with it (also there is no pool or easy beach access either).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Wade's Garden Inn, and felt like we were staying with long time family friends. Russell and Jean-Marie were so kind to us, helped us when we needed dining or entertainment suggestions, and made our stay very comfortable. Jean-Marie had been so patient with my many date changes and adjustments, we had booked just two nights, with an intention to move to a hotel for the remainder of our trip, and we were so pleased and well-adjusted at Wade's, that we stayed for 5 nights! Russell has a taxi company, and he was waiting at the airport upon arrival, and gave us a lovely tour through Bermuda on our way to the Inn.
Our suite was just a perfect size, like staying in a small apartment. The shared area offered a nice chaise lounge and a computer with internet, at no additional cost. We did not get to enjoy the nice backyard, but they had a grill there, with a nearby grocery store if we had wanted to stay in and barbeque.
About 200 feet down the road is the ferry to Hamilton, a picturesque way to get to the more urban area, and across from the ferry is the shuttle to the Fairmont Southampton Princess, a large hotel with beach, golf and pool access. The Gibbs Hill lighthouse is about a 15 minute walk up a residential road from Wade's, and the view from there is incredible.
When we go back, we will be sure to stay there again, and recommending Wade's to our friends as well. If you are looking for a home-away-from-home, not a hotel, this is where you want to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We LOVED Bermuda, and Russell and Jean-Marie made our stay so wonderful, we hated to leave! My wife and I came with our best friends (another couple) and we booked both suites and stayed for a week. Russell met us at the airport and gave us a great guided tour of the island along the way back to Southampton. After we unloaded and unwound, he took us out for a short tour of the beaches and the lighthouse, and then he was nice enough to drive us to a nearby grocery while we did some shopping for the week. They were wonderful hosts, and were happy to provide information on the island. The accommodations at Wade's Garden Inn were just as everyone else has described - very comfortable, air conditioned, nicely decorated, and very up to date. This was our first visit, and Wade's Garden Inn will always be our destination when we come back! Russell and Jean-Marie made sure that we were wanting for nothing. We recommend contacting Russell and Jean-Marie directly to make reservations; they'll be happy to assist you, and they answer their email quite promptly. If you're looking for a home away from home in Bermuda, this is the place to stay. It's tops in my book!!! Five-Star, Russell and Jean-Marie!! Thank you for a wonder vacation!

Room Tip: Both suites are very nice. Pick either one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Coumbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 weeks in the Pineapple suite at Wade's and it was very comfortable with a small kitchen and a shared reading,TV, living room separating us from the other suite. Our suite connected to a shared balcony with BBQ and it overlooked a lovely garden, Jean-Marie and Russell were very kind and helpful. CAVEAT: beware the large cactus on the balcony ( it bites!) and it is helpful to rent a scooter as the market is a fair walk away.

Room Tip: Perfect for a family with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Head Of Chezzetcook
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We had always wanted to visit Bermuda and in March 2010 we experienced the beauty of the island. We found Wade's Garden Inn on the internet and knew this was the place for us. Our friendly hosts, Russell and Jean-Marie Wade, were more than happy to chat and provide advice and information on the island. We stayed in the Pineapple Room - a large, comfortable room with full ensuite. The kitchen is equipped with the necessities, (has a microwave but no oven) and came in handy because eating out is quite expensive in Bermuda. The patio just outside the bedroom door is equipped with a small table and two chairs for late afternoon refreshments/snacks in the sun. The location of the Inn is great - 20 mins to Hamilton and about 30 mins to the Dockyard (bus stops are very close). The Market Place grocery store is about a 10 mins walk and has a good selection of food (meat, veggies, fruit, etc.). The beaches in Bermuda are fabulous and Wade's Garden Inn is conveniently located near Horseshoe Bay. This is a fabulous beach located on the South Shore. We walked from the Bay, to a cove, to another beach - at times we were the only ones on the beach - truly paradise! We look forward to our next visit to Bermuda and to Wade's Garden Inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wade's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wade's Garden Inn

Also Known As:
Wade's Garden Inn Bermuda/Southampton Parish
Address: #2 Hampton Head Court, SN04 , Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Southampton Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton Parish
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment style accommodation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wade's Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wade's Garden Inn to your Saves list