You know you are in trouble when you have a reservation, on time, seated in a lounge with 6 other couples, and can see several set 2-toppers are available but not used. Why wouldn't a restaurant seat parties with available tables> Uh-Oh.
We were seated 30 minutes after our resv. time. The room was stuffy and humid. We chatted with the table next to us with the same complaint. They asked the wiatress for some relief. Nothing changed. We were offered rolls - tasted like the chef was using something other than butter. The Filet Rossini was OK but did not taste like it was from the part of the tenderloin used for filet mignon. Also had the Medallions. Had to ask Medallions of what? It was beef. It was underprepared and had to be returned to the kitchen.Tasted like old meat.
The best thing I did was to review the wine list before dinner. It saved a lot of time. As many others have stated the service is sloooooow. The waitstaff appeared to be understaffed ( no lack of effort on their part ) as we have found with other Fairmont Southampton hotel restaurants, but I suspect the source of the problem is an overwhelmed kitchen.
The 'star' of the night was a 1/2 bottle of Brunello di Montalcino di Orcia.
We didn't want to invest more time with the dessert. That is when the hostess / maitre'd came by an offered us a free dessert. We declined to her chagrin. Maybe 'Free' works with the over 65 crowd, but for us - just fix the problem.
Until then, we would not return.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us on TripAdvisor. Our Waterlot management team knows which evening you are talking about. Unfortunately we had a technical issue with our air conditioning system, which impacted the temperature of the restaurant and the availability of tables. This has been fixed since, and we apologize that you did not get to enjoy The Waterlot Inn in its normal environment. We take our food very seriously and apologize that you were unimpressed with the quality - we'd like to discuss it with you further directly, so please feel free to reach out to me at email@example.com and I will put you in touch with our F&B management team. Again, I hope that you will give us another chance to impress you in the future and I sincerely apologize that your experience did not reflect our high-quality service and culinary standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.