We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Steakhouse on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterlot Inn Restaurant

Waterlot Inn Restaurant
101 South Shore Road, Bermuda
441-238-2555
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Continental, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“THE Steakhouse on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you want to tell people you ate at one of the best places in the Atlantic this is it. With ample history and a great way to reach from Hamilton (ferry), it's one of the best places I can remember. Great steak and wine. The service can be a bit snooty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    86
    32
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A re-evaluation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been a long time user and supporter of The Waterlot, but I now have to reverse my thinking.

I have to agree with jradford's thoughts.

Over and above our usage of this restaurant during the year, we have had Christmas Day dinner at the Waterlot for 3 years running. Normally, it has been an excellent meal.

Not this year! This year (2013) was dreadful. We arrived on time for an 8.00 pm booking. We were kept waiting for 30 minutes (despite protestations), yet found the restaurant less than half full when we were eventually shown to our table.

The menu had no price so whilst we expected it would not be cheap, the set menu price of $129 per person came as a small surprise - in particular as the meal was poor. It was a 6 course meal. The first four courses were good, but the main (Beef) was dreadful....and do not forget that the Waterlot is a Beef House, and prides itself on the quality of it's meat dishes. The beef was a single slice, it was tough and almost cold indicating that it had been plated up much earlier.

For the first time in 3 years, there was no choice available. Usually, they offer their normal menu, of which a traditional Christmas-type dish is included.

When asked "was there something wrong" by the waiter, my response that it was tough did not elicit even a sympathetic response, let alone an apology or offer to sort the problem.

It may well be that the ownership has changed. Irrespective of that, next year I will be sourcing another restaurant for my $129.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Waterlot Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing this with us. I am very apologetic that the service you experienced at The Waterlot did not live up to our high standards, and that your server did not ensure that you had all the information about the offerings. For clarity: the a la carte menu was available over Christmas to guests that did not want the holiday offerings, we apologise if it was not offered to you. Also, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy the food. We are committed to excellent service and quality, and would like to address your issues directly: please email me at carlita.lodge@fairmont.com. We hope that you will give us another chance to delight you with our exceptional service and food. Thank you again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An excellent evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had Christmas dinner at the Waterlot and they were well up to expectations. The service was attentive and well paced, and the food was excellent both in presentation and taste. They certainly set a high standard and continue to live up to it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bad news for a famous restaurant.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It seems that this old famous restaurant is under new management and there lies the problem. The prices are ridiculous and the quantity minimal. When the manager was confronted with the problem he was rude and said "well I'll give you another piece of meat and you can share it". this
is not the way to run a first class restaurant and I'm sure the parent company would not be happy with this situation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Waterlot Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We take our guests comments seriously, and as such, we have sent this message on to our Food & Beverage management to address internally. We understand that your party were sharing your meals but expected larger than one portion simply split into two portions. We believe our team tried their best to take care of you and anticipate your needs. We are committed to providing quality food with generous portions and exceptional service, which is reflected in our current TripAdvisor scores & JD Power ratings. We apologize sincerely if any of our staff made you feel unwelcome or were rude to you. Thank you again for sharing your concerns and we hope that your next dining experience with us better reflects our reputation and commitment to excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Tom Houston is a master Maitre D'. Both my wife and I felt like royalty and the food was superb. Wonderful experience all around and as a birthday touch, all of the staff signed a card and presented it to me with the traditional candle in the cake.
Great memories!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlita L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Waterlot Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review, we will be sure to pass on your compliments to the maitre'd. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterlot Inn Restaurant also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Waterlot Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterlot Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.