We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Do It!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar

Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar
60 South Shore Road | Elbow Beach Hotel, Elbow Beach Terrace, Bermuda
441-236-9107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 restaurants in Paget Parish
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Eclectic, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just Do It!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

For my wife and I no trip to Bermuda is complete without spending the evening at Mickey's.

And here is why:

1. Outstanding Wait Staff and Bartenders. Our experience is that no matter how crowded the Bistro is when you walk in you are made to feel like you are their primary concern in terms of service. And this starts with the Manager and holds right thru to those who bus the table at the end of the meal.

Our waiters have always been attentive, engaging, and highly professional. We love how they manage to unobtrusively visit the table and anticipate your needs throughout the meal.

And a few of them come by just to make you laugh at your table. This has to be the best crew in Bermuda!

2. Outdoor view that you will never forget.

Mickey's is directly on Elbow Beach and the view is simply stunning. Most of the restaurant is completely open: no roof...no walls. Just that incredible view of the breaking ocean waves thirty yards away and a night sky filled with stars.

We were there for dinner in August (3 times) and there was no heat or humidity...only those lovely ocean breezes. And if you catch it on a night with a full moon you will pinch yourself.

3. Well prepared Meal Courses.

Being that we were on an island we always went for the seafood side of the menu and were always delighted with the starters and main course offerings.

Nicely plated and perfectly cooked at each of our visits.

4. The Intangibles.

We love the atmosphere and the energy that surrounds us. Mickey's is a happy gathering place in the best sense of the word. Families, groups of friends, romantic couples, children playing on the beach...everyone seems to find their niche there.

Kinda hard to describe but you will understand when you are there.

Although there does not seem to be dress code folks seem to appear at the upper end of "casual" ...again just part of the atmosphere that surrounds Mickey's.

We did not visit during the day so cannot comment on the lunch experience.

In regards to cost...yes it is on the expensive side if all you look at is price. But then again that's true of all aspects of Bermuda.

But for us, when we consider the total experience it is the best money spent in Bermuda.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    91
    59
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dream location, good food, prompt service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am torn between putting very good and average - it was a pleasant evening but nothing out of the ordinary as regards food. However the service was excellent with prompt attention and courteous waiters and the setting beautiful.
I booked a table and asked to be by the beach but all those had been taken by prior bookings apparently even though it only seemed they were allocating us as we arrived. So we were three rows back from the edge so view a little less good. There were a significant number of families with young children so this distracted somewhat from any romance or feeling of special seclusion. The children weren't noisy, just children and fidgety!
The food was well cooked but limited menu with nothing that intrigued or surprised - salmon in FILO pastry, baby ribs, pasta, fish,etc. the plates were well presented with just the right amount of vegetables and main. Desert menu standard - sticky toffee pudding, tiramisu etc.
wine good.
So I would recommend for family or group of friends, less so for couples wanting romance. Costs around $30 for main course, $20 for starters and desert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The prices at Mickey's are high but the food for lunch is very good. I would recommend the seafood salad and the chicken and mango salad. Lets face it he many places can you walk up to barefoot coming off the beach and be seated or lunch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good service, gr8 cocktails, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch, very popular bar, were seated promptly, lovely location overlooking Elbow beach. We ordered 2 x Bermuda Triangle Cocktails which had plenty of rum :) then had 2 mickeys burgers, presentation was not the nicest looking (im sure they used to serve the fries in a nice basket b4) but the burger tasted gr8 pure beef. Service was very good despite the volume of people there. We were just visitors to the beach that day and walked in. Have visited b4 on several occasions and will do again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional service....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

...but you pay for the beachfront location! We had lunch there twice -both appetizer selections-but the service was outstanding. The avocado and baby shrimp was tasty as was the chowder and you can't beat the view! Well run but pricey lunch locale.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Paget Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickey's Beach Bistro and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.