We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've already booked a return trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grape Bay Cottages
Save
You added Grape Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“We've already booked a return trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at Beach Home from Sept 1-7, 2010. I keep putting off writing this review, because I wanted to make sure that it accurately conveyed what a gem it is!

I echo the comments from other guests:
-- Maria, Doug, and Andrew (and Cal, the taxi driver) were so warm and welcoming that we immediately felt at home in Bermuda. We were there for our 10th anniversary, along with friends, and everyone really went the extra mile to make our trip special.
-- The location of the cottages is fantastic. What an amazing view of the beautiful blue water. Literally steps from the ocean, and located in Paget which is in the central part of Bermuda so it's easy to get to other sights.
-- The layout of the cottage (2 bedrooms separated by a bathroom) was very comfortable for 2 couples, or I think would work well for a family.
-- The cottage has a grill and small kitchen, so it's a great option to cook at home and enjoy the view during dinner!

We were there during Tropical Storm Fiona, which meant that the south side of the island had rough surf and it was quite humid. The cottage itself is on a hill about 40 feet up from the water. Maria and Doug checked on us and the cottage - and we felt quite safe during the storm. I'm glad that we didn't cancel our trip, as the storm passed right by in the night!

We enjoyed our stay so much that we've already confirmed our stay for next September - and are counting the days until we return!

There are a few things that I might suggest you consider:
-- This is a beach cottage. The furnishings are clean and comfortable, but not luxurious. It has a water heater with plenty of hot water for one or two showers, but it's not unlimited. And, it doesn't come with the amenities of a hotel -- so if you'd be most comfortable at the Four Seasons, then you might want to consider whether a cottage is the right choice for you.
-- The free Wifi is a great service, but it's not the fastest connection. Great for quickly checking email or looking up something on the web...
-- I typically want to walk everywhere and we had planned to rent both scooters and pedalbikes - but I didn't count on how humid and hilly Bermuda is. (I think it may have been more humid because of the tropical storm.) We ended up renting scooters and taking taxis -- even the 15 minute walk to the bus was too far in the hot sun and humidity!
-- Maria arranged our taxi pickup with Cal from the airport - which I highly recommend. Fair price, great info about the island, and she'll stop at the grocery store on the way to the cottage. (Recommend, since it can be tough to balance groceries on the scooter.) We relied on Cal to drive us to dinners in the evenings, as we didn't feel comfortable on the scooters after dark. Great service!
-- We rented scooters from Oleander, after considering several other smaller companies on the island. This proved to be a smart choice when one of our scooters broke down in Dockyard -- we were able to get a new scooter dropped off in minutes, rather than the longer wait if they were bringing a scooter from farther down the island.
-- You need to buy bus passes in advance, as you can't buy them on the bus. Maria had a few that we borrowed and then replaced before we left.

If you're looking for a cottage in Bermuda - the Grape Bay Cottages are an incredible value! Enjoy your stay - we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrapeBayCottages, Owner at Grape Bay Cottages, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We appreciate the suggestions for potential guests to consider. We can't do much about the hills and humidity in Bermuda but you will be pleased to know that we have increased the internet speed. While it may still not be the 'fastest connection' we have doubled the speed and the difference is noticeable. This was a great suggestion as most guests these days bring a laptop or use a smart phone on WiFi mode to avoid high data roaming charges. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spent Sept 15 - 18, 2010, at Beach Home, Maria and Doug Frith's lovely cottage on Bermuda's beautiful south shore. We were supposed to stay until the 23rd, but Hurricane Igor chased us away. We loved Beach Home although Beach Crest is equally as nice, just above with a wider, more ocean, less shore view.

Beach Home is a quaint cottage with this fabulous porch which is literally overlooking the most gorgeous sights: ocean, sand, palm trees, just lovely. We ate breakfast and lunch on the porch and tried to simply take it all in. It is the best porch we have ever had the pleasure to enjoy.... even if it was for just for acouple of days. I will think of it many times in the coming winter.

When we first arrived, the sand was plentiful and the rocks minimal. The pools of calm water to the left were not there as many people wrote about here. The ocean was rough as Igor approach, and more and more rocks appeared. Doug told us that the sand will return and is probably back by now.

The cottage is well equiped and comfortable, the Frith's are welcoming and available if you need anything, and the location is fabulous. We left early and reluctantly due to Jim Cantore's showing up on Elbow Beach which is the next beach down, although Doug and Maria would have moved us to the Grotto Beach hotel if we had decided to stay. Both Doug and Maria were very concerned about our well-being, and they did everything they could to make us comfortable. They also refunded all of our money without being asked.

You really should rent a scooter to stay conveniently at these cottages, unless you want to contact taxi drivers to take you everywhere. Maria arranged for Calvetta to pick us up at the airport,and she showed us marvelous gardens and numerous beautiful sights on the way to the grocery store and to pick up our scooter before she took us to Beach Home. Cal also took us on a tour of St George's before we flew out on Saturday. She is an excellent tour guide as she knows history and interesting aspects of so many of Bermuda's sights. Maria will set up the airport pickup, then you can call her from the cottage. Maria has Cal's number and other drivers' numbers posted, along with any other number you might want. FYI, Cal's phone number is 1-441-504-1591.

Calvetta recommended The Speciality Inn, a local restaurant that isn't fancy, but the food is delicious. We had a wonderful meal there for less than 40 dollars.... in Bermuda!!

So, I definitely recommend Beach Home and Beach Crest. The only problem is getting a reservation. Curses to Igor...we lost five nights in paradise. Email me if you need more info, but definitely book and do it NOW!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otego, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

A special spot of peaceful beauty, colorful landscape and characters. Highly recommend a vacation at the Frith family cottage. It's a bit off the beaten trail, which adds to its charm. Our family felt completely at home and instantly felt like we were part of an extended family. Maria is so hospitable, charming, funny and sweet. You won't regret your time at Grape Bay Cottages. The beach is beautiful, the surf is mesmerizing and the island is gorgoeus.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Our first visit to Beach Home is unlikely to be our last. Unsurpassed hospitality from Maria who was particularly helpful and flexible with our booking. Cottage was just as described with superb access to a wonderfully quiet beach. A selection of over 100 DVDs kept our teenage son content at quiet times. The walk to the supermarket and bus stops got shorter as the week progressed and are typical Bermuda walks, picturesque but with some up and down. We found that a taxi (list provided) into Hamilton ($10) to pick up the ferries etc worked well for us on sightseeing days.

Our stay was all too short on a wonderful island, superb weather, stunning scenery and hospitable residents. When asked to summarise his Bermuda impressions after his first visit our son hit the button with one word - 'colour'

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We were so delighted with our stay at Grape Bay Cottages. Beach Crest Cottage was truly our home away from home for our 12 day stay in June. The cottage itself was well equipped with everything we needed to be comfortable. The location was excellent-a short walk to the bus stop and steps away from the ocean. Our 3 year old son loved the beautiful private pink sandy beach and the warm tidepools in the evenings. We sat on the patio, watched and listened to the waves each evening and were able to relax. Thank you to Maria and family for your hospitality. We will be back!!

The Storoschuks
Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is the perfect vacation spot! It is quiet, beautiful and right on a private beach. Everything you could think of is at your finger tips. Including an amazing DVD Collection. Maria and Doug go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. It truely is a home away from home. We have laready booked for the same time next year, and I anticipate that we will make this an annual event.

I tried to think of some contructive criticism, however I couldn't. It really was absolutely perfect!1

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

My husband and I and three young adult children had a very memorable vacation at Grape Bay Cottages' in late Sept. 09 - a celebration of my 60th birthday! From the moment I initiated contact with owners, Maria and Doug, I knew that our first visit to Bermuda would be a great adventure. Maria arranged for a very friendly cab driver to meet us at the airport and bring us to a grocery store on the way to Beach Home. When we arrived we just couldn't stop smiling - the cottage is just steps away from a lovely, private beach and there is a cozy front porch from which you can enjoy all the incredible sights and sounds.
Late September weather was great - hot and sunny, with just an occasional shower. We divided our time between beach days and sightseeing. We opted for bus/ferry passes to get around the island and we managed to get everywhere we wanted and then some. We enjoyed walking the 10 - 15 minutes to the grocery store and bus stop - it was as though we lived there!
The beach was incredible. The water was warm and often calm. Maria allowed us to drag lounge chairs right down to the water's edge. The cottage is clean and very well equipped - beach towels, boogie boards , cooking supplies, etc. - even flashlights for walking home in the dark! We arrived just after Gwen retired, but a great cleaning service kept us orderly.
Maria goes out of her way constantly to make your stay at Grape Bay Cottages enjoyable, but she doesn't intrude. If you like being independent and don’t require a restaurant on site, you will be rewarded with one of the best views in Bermuda, with a private beach at your doorstep and with meeting Maria and Doug , two of the nicest people alive. I highly recommend Grape Bay Cottages. Even if you are not able to walk and aren’t comfortable with scooters, Maria has good relationships with many wonderful cab drivers, and I'm sure you could arrange something with them. You won’t be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.