We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally blissful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grape Bay Cottages
Save
You added Grape Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Totally blissful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We actually visited Easter 2011 but tripadvisor wouldn't give me the option to chose that date.

We found the cottage to be absolutely delightful. Typical Bermudian cottage with comfortable furnishings. Spacious bedrooms with the most beautiful view over the ocean. Truthfully I would actually like to live there forever, it's my idea of heaven.

Details:

It's actually as close to being on the beach without actually being built on the sand. 2 nice sized bedrooms, decent bathroom, comfy lounge/diner, compact kitchen with everything you need - we ate in most of the time with no problems cooking basic family food.

Veranda has beautiful views over the beach & ocean.

The beach is a private beach so very quiet and there is a rock pool at the fat end which is great for little ones to paddle & shallow swim in. The beach is on the north shore so care needs to be taken with the undertow for beginner swimmers. The sunrise is lovely to see over the beach. You can watch it from bed in the master bed - blissful.

It's about a mile walk to the main road which has a bus stop. Buses are pretty regular during the day. You'll need a taxi at night. Nice walk up to the road & the disused rail track is close by for a change of route. It wasn't too hot for us to walk as it was Easter.

There is a supermarket within our walking distance - this is obviously subjective - we are happy to walk 2 or 3 miles to grab groceries whilst on holiday - its a chance to see the sights & sounds of local life.

Car hire in BDA isn't available but buses & taxis & ferries are around.

The owners are absolutely lovely. We had the best time & it won't be too many years before we return.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is our second visit to Grape Bay Cottage and it as good as last year.
Lovely Calvelette collected us from the airport, not forgetting her dad's rum swizzle, then Maria's welcome - it was great !
The cottage is just what we need, especially being next to a gorgeous beach.
Bermuda is small but beautiful, we've found new things to do each year.
Would come back every year if I could.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed in the Beach Home for a week in June. The Beach Home is a beautiful, pristine, spacious cottage with a simply breath taking view of the ocean and just steps away from a gorgeous private beach. The cottage is centrally located on the island but isolated enough so that the only thing you hear at night are the waves and the Bermuda equivalent of crickets. We loved it.

Maria and Doug are outstanding hosts. They patiently helped us through a problem of our own making before the trip. They arranged taxis to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. Our ride from the airport was from a delightfully nice woman, Cal, who took us to a grocery store along the way and gave us a delicious bottle of rum swizzle when we arrived. While were there, Maria and Doug frequently checked in on us and even stopped by a couple of time. Early one afternoon, we asked if they had snorkeling equipment; they dropped some of before night fall. They were very attentive and social and friendly in doing so. When we learned we left an important personal item behind, we called only to find out they already found it and were in the process of shipping it home to us.

There is a reason for all these glowing reviews. My fiancé and I go on a big vacation every year. We have been to great places but never been to the same place twice; there are so many places we have not yet seen. That being said, we already have plans to Bermuda's Grape Bay Cottages next year. It is just that good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed in BEACH CREST for 5 nights and had the most magical time. We are so glad we chose Grape Bay Cottages rather than a beach resort. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bermuda. The cottage really allows you to immerse yourself into the breathtaking surroundings in a more intimate way. Even though the 2 cottages are next to one another, the gorgeous landscaping provides for the perfect amount of seclusion. It was out own piece of heaven right here on earth.

Maria and Doug are very thoughtful and caring hosts. They truly want the best experience for their guests. The cottage was well appointed, and very clean, with everything you need for a comfortable stay. We picked up groceries on the way to the cottage from the airport and got everything we needed for the week. We barely left once we set eyes on the space and the waters right out front...

If you're travelling to Bermuda and are eager to stay in a more comfortable, private and serene setting, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

read all the reviews and you will know that Grape Bay cottages are something special in Bermuda. As a Bermudian, I can tell you that this is as close to as you can get to experiencing true island life. this not a fancy resort surrounded by other vacationers, but an oasis for the mind.wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the surf, listen to the sparrows and kisskadee's sing, go for walks on your own private beach ( only local residences) watch parrot fish swim by your feet. We rented both cottages for family and friends...cooked fresh fish on the grill and relaxed..took our friends to all the "best" beaches, but they loved grape bay the best!! ask for Calvalette to taxi you to and from the airport, lovely person and her rum swizzles are excellent! Maria and Doug are wonderful people, We've been staying here for over 12 years book early!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thank you Maria for a great two weeks in Beach Home. The villa was clean and tidy, plenty of towels and a very comfortable large bed overlooking that amazing beach. Indeed all mod cons. Thanks also for helping with our first big shop and all the tips about getting around the island and arranging out taxis to and from the airport. Our weather could have been better for February but it could also have been far worse! We shall miss our lively conversations, the odd drink or two and the friendliness of all those we encountered. Watch out for my paintings of the sea from the villa!

Room Tip: The bedroom overlooking the beach is perfect if you like to hear the surf when dozing off to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a special piece of paradise! Maria and Doug are perfect hosts. You feel like they're old friends who take good care of you - from the yummy rum cake to their advice on things to do in Bermuda. We felt at home in Beach Home. I'm so glad they make this perfect beach cottage available to those of us who don't have such a treasure in the family. It has everything you could ever need - from books and games to comfortable beds and a patio that has the most wonderful view and sounds of the ocean waves.
Cal, Calvin, and the other taxi drivers that Maria can connect you with were absolutely wonderful. They know and love their island - and share that knowledge with you. (As well as Calvin's terrific rum swizzle!) They made our early 50th anniversary visit so very memorable. We loved all their stories as they drove us from one end of the island to the other.
Bermuda is a special place with lots of history and intermingled cultures and food - and beauty beyond description. Bermuda, Beach Home, Maria and Doug, and Cal and her crew made our trip one of the best we've had.
I can recommend this place without reservation! I feel we experienced the real Bermuda - much more than if we'd spent the time in a hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.