We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 week stay despite the weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grape Bay Cottages
Save Saved
You added Grape Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great 2 week stay despite the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thank you Maria for a great two weeks in Beach Home. The villa was clean and tidy, plenty of towels and a very comfortable large bed overlooking that amazing beach. Indeed all mod cons. Thanks also for helping with our first big shop and all the tips about getting around the island and arranging out taxis to and from the airport. Our weather could have been better for February but it could also have been far worse! We shall miss our lively conversations, the odd drink or two and the friendliness of all those we encountered. Watch out for my paintings of the sea from the villa!

Room Tip: The bedroom overlooking the beach is perfect if you like to hear the surf when dozing off to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a special piece of paradise! Maria and Doug are perfect hosts. You feel like they're old friends who take good care of you - from the yummy rum cake to their advice on things to do in Bermuda. We felt at home in Beach Home. I'm so glad they make this perfect beach cottage available to those of us who don't have such a treasure in the family. It has everything you could ever need - from books and games to comfortable beds and a patio that has the most wonderful view and sounds of the ocean waves.
Cal, Calvin, and the other taxi drivers that Maria can connect you with were absolutely wonderful. They know and love their island - and share that knowledge with you. (As well as Calvin's terrific rum swizzle!) They made our early 50th anniversary visit so very memorable. We loved all their stories as they drove us from one end of the island to the other.
Bermuda is a special place with lots of history and intermingled cultures and food - and beauty beyond description. Bermuda, Beach Home, Maria and Doug, and Cal and her crew made our trip one of the best we've had.
I can recommend this place without reservation! I feel we experienced the real Bermuda - much more than if we'd spent the time in a hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are looking for a tranquil vacation by the sea, look no further. These efficiency cottages are just steps from a pristine and very private beach. The beds are comfortable. The kitchen works. The patio on the upper cottage is a great place to grill a wahoo steak and enjoy your morning coffee. Maria is a great host. What's not to like?

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My fiance and I just got back from our second annual stay at Maria and Doug's amazing cottages.** The location is right on a totally gorgeous pinkish sand beach, which has very few people on it, so you have it practically to yourself. With the soft air and sound of the surf, the porch is my favorite place to read anywhere in the world. We had cocktail hour every evening looking at the ocean. In January when we've gone the highs are around 70 -- extremely pleasant but not hot -- and we were able to go swimming a couple times.

In addition to the place itself being great, Maria is an incredible host. She emails ahead of time to ask what basic food provisions you'd like to have there when you arrive (milk, coffee, yogurt, wine -- the basics), and she arranges to have Cal, the world's most reliable and friendliest cab driver, meet you at the airport. You feel a little like royalty. Both times we've been Maria has also left a small rum cake, which is one of the more extraordinary things I've ever tasted.

This last trip we went for a long weekend and ended up getting stranded (okay, "stranded") there for two extra days because a snow storm in New York canceled our flight. We were scrambling, looking up places to stay on hotels.com, but Maria and her husband Doug let us stay for two additional nights and days -- and didn't even want to charge us (we insisted on paying for one of the two nights). Talk about hospitality! It turned what could have been a frustrating, inconvenient experience into a vacation extension. The wireless internet meant we didn't miss work, and we still took walks on the beach at the end of the day.

Grape Bay Cottages are a peaceful slice of paradise. It's a very short trip from New York. That was actually why we went the first year, though now we're hooked. The flight is 1 hour and 45 minutes in the air, which meant we were literally door to door in under 6 hours, and it would have been 5 if we hadn't gotten to the airport so early.

I've never left a TripAdvisor review before, this is my first one. Grape Bay Cottages inspired me to do it. :)

--

** There are two cottages, one above the other, and we've now stayed in each. They are somehow close together yet each is completely private from the other. One is closer the ocean, but both have *amazing* views of the beach and the upper cottage has a view of the beautiful white limestone roof of the lower one. (Roofs in Bermuda are all white, which creates a lovely tropical feel, and they're all used for water collection.) We enjoyed both equally -- like choosing between your two favorite ice cream flavors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

After staying here I can't imagine why anyone would ever stay at a hotel. There may be no nicer beach and better view on the island and the cottage itself was completely comfortable and well appointed. Maria made sure we were well looked after from the wine and milk in the fridge before our arrival to the home made rum cake and airport drop off by the friendly and reliable Calavette.
If you are planning a trip to Bermuda this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the places you have to stay
Maria & Doug made us very welcome and nothing was too much to do, help or advise on. Maria's baking is superb, her rum cake is delicious
The cottage is great and the private beach special

We were welcomed by the lovely Calvalette at the airport and her taxis made getting around so easy. She even arranged for 2 of our group to be taken to the gym each morning at 6.30 am without fail.

I want to return, next year can't arrive too quickly

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hello Maria and Doug!
You guys have kept up a great cottage with a gorgeous location. For me, I have never been to Bermuda and 3 days in I am ready to return to Bermuda! Awaking daily to the sounds of the ocean in Grape Bay, are indescribable!! This was the perfect hideaway from the hustle and bustle of "city life." I am thrilled that I picked this spot nestled among the well manicured lawns and shrubbery. The small wren birds absolutely harmless have made a home when we enjoy the front porch dining awaiting our scraps! Wonderful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.