We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grape Bay Cottages
Save
You added Grape Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Totally amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My fiance and I just got back from our second annual stay at Maria and Doug's amazing cottages.** The location is right on a totally gorgeous pinkish sand beach, which has very few people on it, so you have it practically to yourself. With the soft air and sound of the surf, the porch is my favorite place to read anywhere in the world. We had cocktail hour every evening looking at the ocean. In January when we've gone the highs are around 70 -- extremely pleasant but not hot -- and we were able to go swimming a couple times.

In addition to the place itself being great, Maria is an incredible host. She emails ahead of time to ask what basic food provisions you'd like to have there when you arrive (milk, coffee, yogurt, wine -- the basics), and she arranges to have Cal, the world's most reliable and friendliest cab driver, meet you at the airport. You feel a little like royalty. Both times we've been Maria has also left a small rum cake, which is one of the more extraordinary things I've ever tasted.

This last trip we went for a long weekend and ended up getting stranded (okay, "stranded") there for two extra days because a snow storm in New York canceled our flight. We were scrambling, looking up places to stay on hotels.com, but Maria and her husband Doug let us stay for two additional nights and days -- and didn't even want to charge us (we insisted on paying for one of the two nights). Talk about hospitality! It turned what could have been a frustrating, inconvenient experience into a vacation extension. The wireless internet meant we didn't miss work, and we still took walks on the beach at the end of the day.

Grape Bay Cottages are a peaceful slice of paradise. It's a very short trip from New York. That was actually why we went the first year, though now we're hooked. The flight is 1 hour and 45 minutes in the air, which meant we were literally door to door in under 6 hours, and it would have been 5 if we hadn't gotten to the airport so early.

I've never left a TripAdvisor review before, this is my first one. Grape Bay Cottages inspired me to do it. :)

--

** There are two cottages, one above the other, and we've now stayed in each. They are somehow close together yet each is completely private from the other. One is closer the ocean, but both have *amazing* views of the beach and the upper cottage has a view of the beautiful white limestone roof of the lower one. (Roofs in Bermuda are all white, which creates a lovely tropical feel, and they're all used for water collection.) We enjoyed both equally -- like choosing between your two favorite ice cream flavors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

After staying here I can't imagine why anyone would ever stay at a hotel. There may be no nicer beach and better view on the island and the cottage itself was completely comfortable and well appointed. Maria made sure we were well looked after from the wine and milk in the fridge before our arrival to the home made rum cake and airport drop off by the friendly and reliable Calavette.
If you are planning a trip to Bermuda this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the places you have to stay
Maria & Doug made us very welcome and nothing was too much to do, help or advise on. Maria's baking is superb, her rum cake is delicious
The cottage is great and the private beach special

We were welcomed by the lovely Calvalette at the airport and her taxis made getting around so easy. She even arranged for 2 of our group to be taken to the gym each morning at 6.30 am without fail.

I want to return, next year can't arrive too quickly

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hello Maria and Doug!
You guys have kept up a great cottage with a gorgeous location. For me, I have never been to Bermuda and 3 days in I am ready to return to Bermuda! Awaking daily to the sounds of the ocean in Grape Bay, are indescribable!! This was the perfect hideaway from the hustle and bustle of "city life." I am thrilled that I picked this spot nestled among the well manicured lawns and shrubbery. The small wren birds absolutely harmless have made a home when we enjoy the front porch dining awaiting our scraps! Wonderful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Beach Crest Grape Bay Cottage a couple weeks ago. This place is true paradise, exceptional beach, cozy cottage with all the amenities, nice patio, and no flies or mosquitoes! The water was warm and it was so nice to hear the ocean all day long. Our hosts Maria and Doug treated us like family and were very helpful and knowledgable. Maria makes the best rum cake ever! Calvelette and her Dad from C&C cab were terrific and informative. I feel like I've made some new friends in Bermuda and will definately be back! Thank you for an amazing trip with my sisters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved being at Grape Bay cottages. Maria and Doug provided for a very nice family experience with a beautiful cottage, taxi arrangements upon our arrival with a stop at the grocery, and ongoing support the entire duration of our trip! We were able to cook in the well equipped kitchen, the cottage had everything we needed for work and entertainment, the beach site is stunning, and hikes along the railroad trail were great. We only wished the weather was a little better, but it was late March, so we didn't set the bar too high for that. I would indeed go back for this private, yet well located, retreat. Thank you Maria and Doug! It was truly nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Accompanied by our adult daughter, my husband and I visited "Beach Home" for several days in March. The view is spectacular, the house is great and hosts Maria and Doug are wonderful. Maria is extremely gracious and was very helpful in making arrangements, such as our cab ride from the airport with 'Cal' from C&C Cab. Cal gave us great suggestions about what to see during our visit. Cal's dad, Calvin also drives for C&C and took us back to the airport. He is extremely funny and has wonderful stories to tell. :-)

Modern Mart grocery store is a pleasant 15 minute walk. We decided not to rent scooters (too scary for us!), but did use both the ferry and the bus, which have convenient schedules to get you most places. We walked a LOT and spent a good deal of time on the old railway trail, which is very interesting. Sleep with the windows open at night - the sound of the ocean is AMAZING!

If you're looking for privacy combined with proximity, this is it...and the heavenly view is the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back! Thank you, Maria and Doug!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.