We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grape Bay Cottages
Save
You added Grape Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the places you have to stay
Maria & Doug made us very welcome and nothing was too much to do, help or advise on. Maria's baking is superb, her rum cake is delicious
The cottage is great and the private beach special

We were welcomed by the lovely Calvalette at the airport and her taxis made getting around so easy. She even arranged for 2 of our group to be taken to the gym each morning at 6.30 am without fail.

I want to return, next year can't arrive too quickly

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hello Maria and Doug!
You guys have kept up a great cottage with a gorgeous location. For me, I have never been to Bermuda and 3 days in I am ready to return to Bermuda! Awaking daily to the sounds of the ocean in Grape Bay, are indescribable!! This was the perfect hideaway from the hustle and bustle of "city life." I am thrilled that I picked this spot nestled among the well manicured lawns and shrubbery. The small wren birds absolutely harmless have made a home when we enjoy the front porch dining awaiting our scraps! Wonderful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Beach Crest Grape Bay Cottage a couple weeks ago. This place is true paradise, exceptional beach, cozy cottage with all the amenities, nice patio, and no flies or mosquitoes! The water was warm and it was so nice to hear the ocean all day long. Our hosts Maria and Doug treated us like family and were very helpful and knowledgable. Maria makes the best rum cake ever! Calvelette and her Dad from C&C cab were terrific and informative. I feel like I've made some new friends in Bermuda and will definately be back! Thank you for an amazing trip with my sisters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved being at Grape Bay cottages. Maria and Doug provided for a very nice family experience with a beautiful cottage, taxi arrangements upon our arrival with a stop at the grocery, and ongoing support the entire duration of our trip! We were able to cook in the well equipped kitchen, the cottage had everything we needed for work and entertainment, the beach site is stunning, and hikes along the railroad trail were great. We only wished the weather was a little better, but it was late March, so we didn't set the bar too high for that. I would indeed go back for this private, yet well located, retreat. Thank you Maria and Doug! It was truly nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Accompanied by our adult daughter, my husband and I visited "Beach Home" for several days in March. The view is spectacular, the house is great and hosts Maria and Doug are wonderful. Maria is extremely gracious and was very helpful in making arrangements, such as our cab ride from the airport with 'Cal' from C&C Cab. Cal gave us great suggestions about what to see during our visit. Cal's dad, Calvin also drives for C&C and took us back to the airport. He is extremely funny and has wonderful stories to tell. :-)

Modern Mart grocery store is a pleasant 15 minute walk. We decided not to rent scooters (too scary for us!), but did use both the ferry and the bus, which have convenient schedules to get you most places. We walked a LOT and spent a good deal of time on the old railway trail, which is very interesting. Sleep with the windows open at night - the sound of the ocean is AMAZING!

If you're looking for privacy combined with proximity, this is it...and the heavenly view is the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back! Thank you, Maria and Doug!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

View cannot be matched, the beach (despite seaweed) was lovely, the cottage was homey and had everything we needed. Store was easy walking distance, and C+C Cab Services made getting anywhere else a breeze. Maria went out of her way to make sure our stay was the best it could be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I decided to finally visit Bermuda on my 40th bday...after a lifetime of travel. That was 3 years ago, and since then, I've been back 4 times. I've stayed at the Reefs and both of the Fairmonts but this visit was my favourite by far!! The cottage at Beach Crest was perfect for my family of 6. Maria and Doug were amazing hosts. They met us upon our arrival, picked up our groceries, checked in regularly, and even drove my mother-in-law to search for her lost bifocals. Their preferred drivers, Calvelette and Calvin, were equally welcoming and warm. Calvelette's husband even cooked us supper on the first night and it was the most delicious roast beef ever! The rum swizzle that Calvin supplied was equally appreciated. Do yourself a big favour and stay at one of Maria and Doug's cottages...you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.