We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grape Bay Cottages
Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Scarborough, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Next to Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've often said that when I die please forget heaven, just let me spend eternity at Grape Bay. We just returned from two weeks sitting on our porch at Beach Home, our third visit. Each visit I marvel that it could be true. So private, so near the beautiful beach, our own little Eden. Maria and Doug are the most gracious, helpful, generous hosts and, may I say, friends, anyone could imagine. The cottage is very well equipped, spacious, charmingly decorated, cosy and virtually on the beach. We have stayed in both cottages and each have their own charm. After 30 years of visiting Bermuda we have seen most of this fabulous island and now we enjoy settling in at Grape Bay and visiting just a few of our old favorite places. My most treasured hope is that we will be able to return to Grape Bay year after year. Thank you Doug and Maria!

Room Tip: Both cottages are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I have been to many vacation destinations but we never experienced such a warm and genuine welcome like we received from Maria and Doug. They made us both feel like family as they stopped in several times to check on us as while were in the midst of tropical storm Leslie. Maria surprised us with a homemade rum cake that was to die for while Doug gave pointers and ideas for us including local history as well as recommending restaurant spots etc. as Doug is a native Bermudian with much insight and knowledge on the islands best attributes. The beach home is truly the gem of the entire island with private access to a private beach. The gorgeous view from the porch is unequalled as we enjoyed many meals from there.
It was a magical trip that we expect to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My mother invited my sisters family and mine to Bermuda. She rented Maria and Dougs two lovely cottages over Easter 2012. As Norwegians we looked forward to warm days in the sun and beach life, but also to cooking and eating together. The place was perfect! We built sand castles, went exploring the Island, hung out on the porch in the sun. Doug and Maria provided relevant tourist information and contact with what has to be Bermudas coolest taxi service. The Cottages were well equipped and we lacked nothing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We are staying in the upper cottage, Beach Crest. The cottage is a 2 bedroom, 1 bath, with everything that you would need to cook with and serve dinner with in the kitchen, not that we used it for that purpose, too many good restaurants within a reasonable taxi or bus trip.
The location is very private, and you practically have your own beach and reefs to explore. Thanks to tropical storm/depression Debby, we have had limited opportunity to snorkel the reefs. The surf has just been too rough.
If you plan on using public transportation, it is a hike to get to the closest bus stops, Maria doesn't to try to hide this fact, and there are hills involved. We found the easiest way was to cut across the beach and go through the Grape Bay Hotel parking lot. I wouldn't recommend doing this late at night, as the hotel is closed and there might be some vagrants living in the hotel, so I would grab a taxi for the late night return to the cottage. The public transportation is great, and you get a local perspective of things by talking with the other bus riders. Buses and ferry services run all day and can be used with the daily or multi day passes. We used them to get to Grotto Bay (took an hour), and used the ferry service a couple of times to get to St. George's and to the Dockyard. We found that if you are returning from Hamilton after dinner of cocktails, it's worth the ~$10 taxi fare.
Maria has a favorite taxi partner, and they have done a great job for us. As a matter of fact, they just called to arrange our departure time for tomorrow. We have had to use some other taxi services (hailed on the streets of downtown Hamilton) with mixed results. Not every driver knows where the cottages are, so if you can't tell them exactly where you want to go, you might end up at the Grape Bay Hotel, as we did one night. Another perk to using her recommended taxi service is the welcome bottle of swizzle that Calvin makes up for you (he's been making these for over 50 years, great recipe). If you run out, I believe that he can help you out with more. Calvin and his daughter are wonderful, and full of Island knowledge.
Maria has checked in with us, and stopped by for a visit. She's a wonderful person, with a great personality. She brought us a wonderful rum cake during her visit yesterday. We look forward to her visit tomorrow when we depart.
Glad that we found this place. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've been to Bermuda about 10 times and 3 of those times I stayed at Grape Bay Cottages Beachcrest cottage. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Bermuda. The cottage is quaint, clean, has everything you need to live comfortably and has the best view ever! It's in a quiet and beautiful residential neighborhood with the only noise being the surf, the birds and the tree frogs.
We stayed only 5 days in early May and we all wished we had planned to be there for 2 weeks or more. The beach is right down some steps and is one of the prettiest beaches in Bermuda but there's not many people on it. We even saw humpback whales breaching way out offshore while sitting on Grape Bay Beach. We also enjoyed watching the parrot fish feed on the coral in the shallow water. Every day we went off on excursions around the island and we always couldn't wait to get back to our oasis, our beautiful peaceful cottage and beach.
Maria was the most amazing hostess. She bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We were celebrating a birthday so Maria showed up one day with the most delicious Bermuda rum cake ever! What a nice surprise.
Grape Bay Cottages are a wonderful place to stay if you don't mind being off the beaten track, you want to be away from the crowds and if you want to be surrounded by the natural beauty of Bermuda. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a fabulous time at the cottages, they were perfect! Waking up to the bermudaful view each morning, over looking the beach and ocean. So relaxing and comfortable. Maria and Doug were awesome, anything we needed they helped us out. Our double wedding on Sunday 15th April was perfect! A truly magical experience, we couldn't have asked for anything more! Thank you both for making our stay and weddings so perfect! We will be back! x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at Beach Home for the 2nd year in a row in September. This visit was just as wonderful as the first! The Beach Home cottage is such a gem -- fantastic location and very comfortable accomodations. But what makes vacations at Grape Bay so special is the warm hospitality and friendship that Maria and Doug extend to their guests. Maria called and came by to say hi a few times during our visit - just to check that we were enjoying our stay and make sure that there wasn't anything else that we needed. (Which there wasn't -- they've pretty much thought of everything!) Maria made us a cake for anniversary and birthday celebration - above and beyond what we'd expect from renting a cottage!

We rented scooters again this year, which for us are the best way to be able to explore on our own. Since we don't drive the scooters at night, we relied on Cal's taxi service to get back and forth to dinner. Cal is friendly, reliable, and knowledgeable about the island.

When I'm having a rough day at work, I just think about relaxing on the porch at Beach Home with a rum swizzle in my hand! We made sure to leave our deposit for next year's trip before we even left the island - can't wait to go back to Bermuda and especially to Grape Bay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish
Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grape Bay Cottages to your Saves list