We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in Bermuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grape Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grape Bay Cottages
Save
You added Grape Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Maine, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've been to Bermuda about 10 times and 3 of those times I stayed at Grape Bay Cottages Beachcrest cottage. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Bermuda. The cottage is quaint, clean, has everything you need to live comfortably and has the best view ever! It's in a quiet and beautiful residential neighborhood with the only noise being the surf, the birds and the tree frogs.
We stayed only 5 days in early May and we all wished we had planned to be there for 2 weeks or more. The beach is right down some steps and is one of the prettiest beaches in Bermuda but there's not many people on it. We even saw humpback whales breaching way out offshore while sitting on Grape Bay Beach. We also enjoyed watching the parrot fish feed on the coral in the shallow water. Every day we went off on excursions around the island and we always couldn't wait to get back to our oasis, our beautiful peaceful cottage and beach.
Maria was the most amazing hostess. She bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We were celebrating a birthday so Maria showed up one day with the most delicious Bermuda rum cake ever! What a nice surprise.
Grape Bay Cottages are a wonderful place to stay if you don't mind being off the beaten track, you want to be away from the crowds and if you want to be surrounded by the natural beauty of Bermuda. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a fabulous time at the cottages, they were perfect! Waking up to the bermudaful view each morning, over looking the beach and ocean. So relaxing and comfortable. Maria and Doug were awesome, anything we needed they helped us out. Our double wedding on Sunday 15th April was perfect! A truly magical experience, we couldn't have asked for anything more! Thank you both for making our stay and weddings so perfect! We will be back! x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at Beach Home for the 2nd year in a row in September. This visit was just as wonderful as the first! The Beach Home cottage is such a gem -- fantastic location and very comfortable accomodations. But what makes vacations at Grape Bay so special is the warm hospitality and friendship that Maria and Doug extend to their guests. Maria called and came by to say hi a few times during our visit - just to check that we were enjoying our stay and make sure that there wasn't anything else that we needed. (Which there wasn't -- they've pretty much thought of everything!) Maria made us a cake for anniversary and birthday celebration - above and beyond what we'd expect from renting a cottage!

We rented scooters again this year, which for us are the best way to be able to explore on our own. Since we don't drive the scooters at night, we relied on Cal's taxi service to get back and forth to dinner. Cal is friendly, reliable, and knowledgeable about the island.

When I'm having a rough day at work, I just think about relaxing on the porch at Beach Home with a rum swizzle in my hand! We made sure to leave our deposit for next year's trip before we even left the island - can't wait to go back to Bermuda and especially to Grape Bay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Grape Bay Cottages is the perfect destination in Bermuda. It was relaxing, private, romantic and perfect for our week vacationin Bermuda. Maria was so kind and even took us grocery shopping as we had a little one in our group so it was difficult for us to get to the store. Maria goes above and beyond and wants you to feel relaxed, happy, and safe. The cottages are just what we wanted. I'm very happy we got the top cottage as the view and patio were amazing. I hope to be able to go back some day! Oh, and I cant forget to mention how private the beach is... it really is like your own private paradise. At the most, we saw maybe 6 other people on the beach... it was pure heaven!

Room Tip: Pick Beach Crest if it's available... it's more private because it's above Beach Home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We couldn't have made a better decision of where to stay in Bermuda. We always stayed at the large resorts and haven't been back for over 20 years. This time we wanted something more personal, more private. After reading the great reviews about Grape Bay Cottages, we knew this would be the perfect place and booked the Beach Crest Home. We can't express enough the sheer delight and awe we experienced when we arrived there. The view was breathtaking, to say the least, and the cottage was so cute and comfortable! Even with all the beautiful pictures we saw on the Internet, nothing gives it more justice than experiencing it in person.

As beautiful as Grape Bay Cottages and the beach are, Maria was key to making it a perfect place to stay. She was extremely helpful and thoughtful. We had many questions before booking the trip, since we had not been there for so long, and she responded quickly and was always so kind. Maria set us up with the most terrific cab service -- Calvalette with C&C Cab Services. Even after arriving three hours late at the airport, Calvalette was there ready for us and even brought us to the local market to pick up some groceries on the way to the cottage. Maria checked in on us as soon as we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed. She knew we were there for a special birthday celebration and even came over and surprised us with a little birthday cake that she baked! These are just a few examples of the helpfulness you will come to experience when you stay at Grape Bay Cottages.

The home has everything that you'll need for your stay -- even beach chairs and umbrella. Having a little breakfast on the patio and watching the beautiful birds and sun coming up over the ocean was a perfect way to start our day. We thoroughly enjoyed ending each day by relaxing on the patio again, listening to the surf and the sound of our favorite -- the Bermuda tree frogs.

We highly recommend making this your Bermuda vacation home. We consider Grape Bay Cottages our home away from home. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Sister's family and mine rented both cottages. Most comfortable accommodations and both with porches overlooking the ocean. In a residential area with private access to the South Shore beach. Full kitchen so ate in for breakfast and lunch - when not wandering Bermuda - and out in the evening. About ten minutes away from waterfront restaurants in Hamilton. Past trips in other rentals and Southhampton Princess, but this first choice henceforth.

n.b., Rented scooters, but found buses and ferrys to be most convenient, and taxis readily available and relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This was our fourth trip to Bermuda. We have stayed in bed and breakfasts, housekeeping units and a major resort. Without question, Grape Bay surpassed ALL of these. The cottage is well stocked and completely comfy, Maria is a "people person" who genuinely enjoys visitors, and the location is good both for life's necessities (most of which can be found at the near-by Modern Mart) and for the local attractions. The real attraction here, however, is visible from your porch - its the AMAZING access to the ocean. Bring snorkel gear, and a swim suit, and enjoy the way your day slips by in a happy haze of surf, a myriad of sea creatures, and the gentle rythm of beach life. For our family of 4, it was perfect and worth every penny. Our teens were never bored, we loved overlooking the beach for every meal, and we lived in our swim suits. The cottage is big enough to allow 4 people some privacy, yet cosy enough to encourage togetherness. We knew that Maria was only a call away when we needed anything, and even when we didn't, she dropped by with homemade muffins. A truly memorable holiday. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grape Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Bay Cottages

Address: Grape Bay Drive, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Paget, these two, two-bedroom beach cottages are a great escape for anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Both have a fully equipped kitchen, TV and wireless internet. A 10-15 minute walk from main bus routes and grocery store or 10 minute taxi ride into the City of Hamilton. Each cottage sleeps 4 adults comfortably. Monthly winter rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grape Bay Cottages Hotel Paget
Grape Bay Cottages Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grape Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.