We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bermuda Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dawkin's Manor

Dawkin's Manor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dawkin's Manor to your Saves list
Dawkin's Manor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 St Michaels's Rd, PG BX, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bermuda Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family (spouse and two adult children) just spent a week at Celia Dawkins' guest house. The trip started with a two hour delay at JFK, getting us to the house at almost midnight. Mrs. Dawkins was very tired, but had stayed up until we arrived and she could show us how everything worked.

This was our first visit to Bermuda so it's impossible to know what to expect. As it turned out this place was a perfect fit our needs. There's an excellent market 5 minutes away on the main road, a bike rental on the grounds of the Elbow Beach Hotel (about 15 minutes away), and beach access via Elbow Beach, also 15 minutes away. We rented a suite with a kitchen, which probably saved $50 a day for breakfast alone. Even though we washed our own dishes, the unit was thoroughly cleaned every day and I'm sure the maid would have done it.

We rented a scooter from Elbow Beach and left the helmets and keys with Mrs. Dawkins for pickup by the rental company after we left. Very convenient. Riding a bike in Bermuda is not for the meek. I ride one in Manhattan often and I would never even attempt this on the very narrow, winding, shoulderless roads in Bermuda.

I would highly recommend getting the multi-day bus and ferry pass. We got ours at the main ferry terminal in Hamilton, which is a $10 cab ride away. (We had no trouble flagging cabs on the main road or in the parking lot of the market.)

Ocean views are nice, but paying extra for this feature at your lodging seems like a waste when you are surrounded by stunning views all day. For us, it was nice to come back to a quiet house with a private entrance to our rooms.

Also, March is a nice time to go. The cruise ships don't arrive until April so the sights near these areas (St George and the Naval Dockyards) were very quiet and uncrowded. The merchants are also very happy to see you! The downside is that the water is too cold to dive or snorkel without a wetsuit.

We will definitely return to Bermuda and Dawkins Manor one day!

Room Tip: We rented two rooms with an adjacent living room and kitchen - not a suite exactly but I think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
18
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family visited to Bermuda for the first time in Jan 2013. We booked through hotels.com. Then, I contacted Mrs. Dawkins for transportation from the airport. She mentioned that the rate was paid for two only, not including my son and advised $45.00 additional will be charged at the hotel. But hotels.com agent booked for us including 1 child is $160.00/ngt. I even saw the same amount $160.00/ngt on the hotels.com website. So, I called hotels.com but they keep transferring phone to a lot of departments and never resolve the problem. But they took my booking fees and nobody wanted to take responsible for my booking. So, I forwarded hotels.com confirmation to Mrs. Dawkins. She advised me that just come with the same price. She will resolve the problem with hotels.com manager. BE AWARE OF HOTELS.COM when you book with them. They will charged you for booking fees but they don't want to take responsible for customer that I was treated badly and unprofessional services. Mrs. Dawkins was very nice and kind. She even gave us a ride around the neighborhood the day we arrived. I will definitely go back to DAWKINS MANOR again. And also very convenience place to get to the hotel from the Airport by bus if you only have a carry on bag. You just need to take bus 10 or 11 from BDA and transfer another bus 7 at Hamilton without additional charges. Then get off at Bermuda college stop and walk about 3 minutes. And elbow beach is 5 minutes away and horseshoe beach is about 4 stops away by taking bus No. 7. Grocery store is 3 mins walk next to the bus stop. Hotel is very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There is nothing negative I can say about Dawkin's Manor. My friend and I stayed here for 4 days in November, and it was absolutely wonderful. The Manor is a 5 minute walk from Elbow Beach, one block from a grocery/liquor store, and a 20 minute walk to Hamilton. Other than the location being ideal, the place itself is clean and friendly. Ms. Dawkin's was an amazing hostess. She was so helpful and even gave us a ride into town one day when she saw us walking. She gave us a brief tour around Hamilton before dropping us off. The room was extremely clean, comfortable, and cozy. It had all the amenities you would need for a short stay or an extended stay. The kitchen was fully stocked with appliances as well as having an oven, stove, microwave, toaster, and fridge. The rates are fantastic as well. We paid $90 a night, which is basically unheard of in Bermuda. We couldn't have asked for a better stay as first-timers in Bermuda. Cherry on the sundae was receiving a Christmas card today in the mail from Celia. She certainly is a most gracious hostess. I was floored. I will most definitely be coming back for another stay at Dawkin's Manor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked a great deal through travelocity and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Celia is an absolute peach. She was so friendly and helpful and really made our experience in Bermuda that much more special. The room was comfortable and had a little kitchen with a stove and and sink and dishes ready to use. There was plenty of room and we were just a short stroll to the nearby Elbow Beach which was one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen! The grocery store is literally at the end of the street and we were within walking distance of the City of Hamilton. I would definitely stay with Celia and her staff again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I visited Bermuda for the first time last month (July 14-21) and chose Dawkin's Manor for our lodging. For us it was important to be centrally located on the island. The bonus is that Dawkin's Manor is a 5 minute walk to the best beach - Elbow Beach (there is a path through the woods - make sure you find it). There is a grocery store, ATM and bus line as well as restaurants all within a very short walk from the Manor. We walked to Hamilton one day. There are sections of the road with no sidewalks - so it was an adventure. The people are very kind. The weather was perfect. We took the bus and ferry frequently. Cabs are expensive and so is the food. We chose the one bedroom with full kitchen and the price was very reasonable. The pool is nice too. Mrs. Dawkins and her staff are very pleasant. We look forward to our next visit one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Changed last minute plans led us to Dawkins Manor, the last available hotel on the island through Expedia. When the taxi dropped us off late in the evening, and as we'd been informed during the half-hour ride that it was a two-day Cricket holiday, we did not know what to expect. After waiting for the host, having caught her taking a shower, we were let in and waited while she found our late reservation. Once settled in to our basic efficiency unit, we found it full of Bermudan charm and cleanliness with a well-stocked kitchen, the bathroom containing toiletries, and the spacious closet having bathrobes. As it was past 10pm, we were hungry, so we asked Celia Dawkins about getting food; she promptly phoned the nearby Elbow resort and drove all of us down to their waterfront beach restaurant. We easily walked back. While we were out eating, Celia stocked our fridge with enough food for breakfast to get us through the next morning till we could get to the shops. The supermarket down the block is more than adequate--has liquor and toiletries and beach gear. The location of DM is great for exploring the island--scooter rental at Elbow, public beach at Elbow, bus stops down block on South Road to both Hamilton (10 minutes) and Dockyard (40 minutes); go to Hamilton for shopping and museums and to bus terminal to get to points east (St. George's and the Crystal Caves). Busses stop running on Sundays at 6pm, so plan accordingly.
The ants seem to be a problem on the island, so when we found them in the bathroom, we told Celia who sent the maid with a can of Raid. These are very tiny ants and the spray did the trick. If there is a problem, just tell Celia and she will promptly take care of it. She aims to please and go beyond ensuring her guests have a comfortable stay. The room was very clean and quiet The kidney-shaped pool fits the size of the property and we had it to ourselves the only time we went in. It is quite deep on the deep-end, so if you have small children, bring an inflatable tube, water wings, or floatie in your luggage. There are plenty of chairs and lounges around it, but bring your own pool towels or ask Celia if you need some. Just remember, Bermuda is an expensive place, so bring or budget extra money. We saved by cooking most meals. Prices in the supermarket compare to Whole Foods or NYC markets. But the wines were fairly competitive in price.
If you want a trendy, chic, glitzy resort with evening entertainment, this is not the place for you. If you seek a true Bermudan experience, with peace and quiet, this place fits the bill. Celia is a true gem and so is her place.

Room Tip: Call ahead to reserve a unit to meet your needs, i.e. private bedrooms, outside private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a wonderful experience on Bermuda with Mrs. Dawkins and her staff. The Manor is centrally located in Paget with easy access to Hamilton. A quiet neighborhood, but all the amenities - a super market ( with liquor ) at the beginning of the road, a 5 minute walk to fabulous south shore beaches, great area restaurants a short walk away, a scooter rental facility within walking distance - that will also deliver to your doorstep, and for those less venturous - a bus stop adjacent to the supermarket. Six of us stayed in the efficiency apartments with plenty of space and comfort - and daily housekeeping. Mrs. D was the perfect host that helped us enjoy a memorable visit. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: the efficiency apts were perfect for a family ( and their boyfriends ) that traveled about on their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dawkin's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawkin's Manor

Address: 29 St Michaels's Rd, PG BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawkin's Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawkins Manor provides visitors a "Home away from Home." Each suite has a fully operational kitchen, there is barbeque on pool deck as well as portable ones in store should several guest need to cook out at the same time. We pride ourselves in keeping our guest "SAFE" with modern Security devices, plenty of lights around the property, an electronic gate and a watch dog. Our state-of-the-art generator powers the entire property during power outages so our guests are never without electricity. Chauffeuring our guest on a rainy day or getting them to their appointments on time when taxis are not available or late or taking them to the airport is one of the owner's greatest pleasures; anything to keep her guest happy. Quiet, serene, peaceful, safe, hospitable and homely is Dawkins Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Dawkin's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawkins Manor Paget
Dawkins Manor Hotel Paget
Dawkin's Manor Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawkin's Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.