We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Bermuda Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dawkin's Manor

Save Saved
You added Dawkin's Manor to your Saves list
Dawkin's Manor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dawkin's Manor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 St Michaels's Rd, PG BX, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Bermuda Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Dawkins Manor is like staying with your aunt. Celia Dawkins was very welcoming and accommodating, always there to help. The night we arrived, it was late. It had been a long day of travel. Celia was gracious enough to bring us fruit and milk, to go with the cookies that we had brought for our late night snack. Dawkins is the Bermuda experience; simple, very modest and laid-back. Our family rented the 2 bedroom suite for 4 nights and the efficiency suite for 1 night. It felt like home. We cooked our breakfast and dinners there and walked to Elbow beach for sunset (5 minutes) and one last ride on the waves. The Manor is located in the middle of the island, which is great. Every convenience is just down the road; the Modern Mart grocery store, the bus stop, scooter rental, the Paraquet restaurant “diner type” or resort dinning at the beach, and even the railroad trail. We even walked to Hamilton from Dawkins Manor (maybe not the best idea). If you are looking for the Marriott or Hilton experience, you will not find that here. Although, Celia will do everything to meet your expectations, right down to the white bath robes in each room. We enjoyed a wonderful family experience here and send out a very big thank you to Celia for making us feel like her only guest. We left Bermuda really knowing the people and the way of life there. We should all learn to appreciate the culture of others in this way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
18
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This secluded property exceeded our expectations ( then again were easy to please ). The hotel/ motel has no ocean view but it's around the corner from the beaches of elbow and coco that you can walk to. Our room was clean and provided us a stove to cook with and full refridgerator. This is the way to economically afford Bermuda. Bring host treats she loves them. She's super nice and we liked her from the get go!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgeo nl
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

the place was very clean and quiet, room were cleaned every day, the hospitality was at the most up beat and had alot of charm. Celia Dawkins was there to help in anyway you needed it. the room had coffie filters which we did not use , paper towels, lots of dishes and tea and sugar what more can one ask for at this low prices. the side tables and chairs were a nice place for us to have our morning tea in my pj. what more can i ask for. just a great place to stay and we will be returning to here place. and o yes celia was very kind to take us back to the airport thank you again for doing this for us

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was our first trip to Bermuda, and it was a very pleasant experience. Dawkin's Manor was the perfect place for our needs. We were not looking for a plush resort setting, but rather an affordable quiet place with an "island feel". The efficiency room was comfortable, clean, and well equipped. The property is in a very convenient location, just minutes from the grocery store and bus stop, and a short walk to Elbow Beach. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed interacting with her, and she was generous with suggestions on places to go and things to do on the island. She even went out of her way to help us get into Hamilton on a Sunday when we missed the bus.
We would definitely stay at Dawkin's Manor again, and recommend it to anyone interested in this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Our one week stay at Dawkin’s Manor in December was very pleasant and relaxing. We were always made to feel at home. Dawkins Manor is close to the beach, market, bus and motor bike rentals. This combination along with the kitchenette made it extremely cost effective and attractive to my teenage children. The rooms were large, spacious and clean. Four of my children, ages 16 – 23, all indicated that they will be returning. My wife and I will recommend Dawkin’s Manor to our friends, coworkers and relatives. Ms Dawkins, thanks for the superb accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was our third visit to Bermuda, staying at Dawkin's Manor once before. It was chosen because of the price, proximity to the market, bus, cycle rentals, and beach. I had also exchanged e-mails with the owner and found her to be friendly and someone of good character in my opinion.

On this second visit we were greeted by a friendly Celia Dawkins, who presented us with a boquet of flowers and a welcoming smile. She lives on the property and maintains a safe and secure environment for her guests. Her ways are simply Bermudian. She is not rushed and as with most Bermudians, will exchange pleasantries before attending to "business". If you are in a hurry, seeking a brisk come and go experience, this is not for you. If you want to stay with someone you could call a friend, this is the place.

The guest house sits on a parcel of land that is well kept with flowers and nicely trimmed vegitation. The front drive has a gate which is closed at night and we are expected to lock doors behind us in the evening, simple precautions we also take at home. The side yard is comfortable yet not spacious but it is well lit at night, offering good security. The pool is not large but it is adequate for a manor of this size. Tables, chairs and pool loungers were also available.

The suite was spacious and clean with basic housekeeping supplies. Paper towels, dish soap, coffee sweetners, salt and pepper were some of which you would not find in a typical rental. Yes, there were no coffee filters but we also have to bring them where we vacation in Mexico. No big deal. The beds were comfortable, with plenty of drawer and closet space in the bedrooms. The bathrooms were clean with no shortage of hot water and the linens were changed regularily.

We would surely stay again as this accommodation suits our lifestyle and the owner is now our good friend.

Room Tip: Exchange e-mails
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

As a participant in the Marion Bermuda Race, we were looking for an economical place to rest up and have the family join us for a few days on wonderful Bermuda. Dawkins Manor is simplistic and quiet, if you're looking for grand luxury you should seek a major hotel or very expensive lodging. Ms. Dawkins is always available so if you need something you just need to ask and she'll gladly help out. This is the perfect place to get a scooter and tour the island or if you want a taxi all you need to do is walk to the end of the street, we got a taxi everytime within five minutes. The grocery store is very close and there is a very good "local" restaurant just up the hill. If you wish to take a short walk to the beach, its really not that far and the beach ...Elbow....is awesome. Enjoy.....

Room Tip: Go for the two bedroom apartment on the second floor ...two separate rooms and a separate great room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dawkin's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawkin's Manor

Address: 29 St Michaels's Rd, PG BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawkin's Manor 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawkins Manor provides visitors a "Home away from Home." Each suite has a fully operational kitchen, there is barbeque on pool deck as well as portable ones in store should several guest need to cook out at the same time. We pride ourselves in keeping our guest "SAFE" with modern Security devices, plenty of lights around the property, an electronic gate and a watch dog. Our state-of-the-art generator powers the entire property during power outages so our guests are never without electricity. Chauffeuring our guest on a rainy day or getting them to their appointments on time when taxis are not available or late or taking them to the airport is one of the owner's greatest pleasures; anything to keep her guest happy. Quiet, serene, peaceful, safe, hospitable and homely is Dawkins Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Dawkin's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawkins Manor Paget
Dawkins Manor Hotel Paget
Dawkin's Manor Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawkin's Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.