We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Let Down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Botanical Gardens

Bermuda Botanical Gardens
Point Finger Road, at South Shore Road | Left off Middle Road onto Tee St., Bermuda
441-236-4201
Improve this listing
Activities: Getting married, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirty-six acres of beautifully landscaped flowers, trees, paths, and ponds.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Let Down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A big let down. Unkempt, and sparse selection of plants and trees. You would surely be better off taking a walk in Bermuda's beautiful countryside. The only positive thing I can think to say is it was free to get in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    33
    11
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Extensive gardens with plenty to see and explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We enjoyed our visit here. There are so many little places and habitats to see and poke around in. They have a nice little snack bar too. If you like botanical gardens, you shouldn't miss this one.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We were not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Looked unkept. Grass needed mowed, weeds pulled. Everything looked like it was dying. We left in about 10 minutes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peace in the midst of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We walked from Hamilton to the gardens - not far, less than half a mile, but uphill, strong sun, and not always with sidewalks....The gardens were lovely to walk around in. Very quiet, peaceful. We saw a few other tourists, a group of children in some kind of day camp, some hospital workers on their lunch break, some chickens, two peacocks, and a cat. Not a whole lot was in bloom, but what was was beautiful. In the formal gardens, a Tudor-style maze was under construction, and the water features in the Japanese garden were filled in with sand. Coming off of an over-stimulating cruise ship,however, it was nice to just relax on the grass, catch some shade under the trees, and see some of the native flora, all for free. There are guided tours a couple of days a week.
Tip: for an air conditioned break, grab a sandwich at Homers Cafe in the art museum, which is on the grounds (you don't have to pay admission to get into the cafe).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Need to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went to the gardens last week. It was extremely hot that day so we did not get a chance to see the whole place. We really liked what we did see though. We want to go back some day and see the whole place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Botanical Gardens also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bermuda Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.