We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Coco Reef Resort Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Wells, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at Coco Reef. This is the place to stay if you enjoy being close to the beach. Our housekeeper, Tricia kept our room clean and always gave us
extra towels and whatever else we asked for. If you decide to give Coco Reef a try ask for a
beach front room. Yes, the rooms need to be updated and the pillows could be softer!
The pool area overlooking the beach was clean and very inviting. The restaurant could use
some new dishes on their menu. I think the staff at Coco Reef does a good job in keeping the
facility welcoming, but needs to take action on the suggestions that have been given.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    252
    62
    27
    21
See reviews for
83
353
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The ocean views were spectacular, the public areas were nice, but the rooms are "tired" and in need of an overall redo. Old TV's, dry-rotted curtains, old upholstery, non-washable bedspreads, leaky, outmoded bathroom fixtures all in need of replacement. The room sizes tend to be on the small side.
The heated pool immediately in back of the resort's main building is quite nice, looking down to the beach and the ocean.
The dining room and adjacent bar were quite nice with inside and outside seating, all looking out on the ocean. The food quality was average to very good.
With the exception of one front desk gentleman,the staff was polite and helpful.
The location is a short walk to a bus stop and a ten-minute ride into downtown Hamilton.
With a major total fix-up of the guest rooms, this could be a very nice property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are in our late 60's, celebrating our tenth wedding anniversary, and this hotel was perfect for our needs. It was a joy to open our patio door and look out over a very lovely and very private beach with pink sand, turqoise water and the sound of surf. We ate breakfast almost every day on our patio, buying our supplies at the nearby market. (The dining room serves good dinners but overpriced breakfasts, and you can also buy wine, rum, etc. at the market rather than always having to go to the bar.) I wish we had known that the Bermuda College cafeteria next door is available to the public for breakfast. Also, there is a diner/restaurant up the hill to the left called Paraquete...avoid it!!
I mostly agree with the reviews by Wanderlust and by Tomi_Philadelphia. For us the emphasis is on all the positives about this place that make it such a great value. Danita at the front desk is delightful and professional. The young man who brought us an extra patio chair, a new hair dryer and fixed the sticking lock on our door was prompt and friendly.
The new manager, Vince, seems dedicated to making improvements and is very responsive to constructive comments. Suggestions for other guests: the rooms have very little insulation and a noisy neighbor can be a problem...ask for an end unit. The ground floor rooms have a shaded
patio, the upstairs ones have no sun protection. Our room had two twin beds pushed together to form a "king". The ridge down the center was pretty uncomfortable.
The nearby bus and ferry system are an excellent value. We got a 4-day pass and used it daily.
There is a Wed. eve event in Hamilton called Harbour Front night with dancing, music and craft and food vendors that we enjoyed very much, along with many other places we went. (Tip: Dockyard is great but avoid it when a cruise ship is in!)
The bus/ferry pass is a great value we used our 4-day passes constantly. Bus stop is a 7-minute walk from the lobby and even after dark we had no fear walking back to the hotel. Bermudians are very gracious and polite and meeting several of them along the way was one of the best parts of our trip.
We hope Coco Reef will still be there when we return and that the price will continue to be so affordable.

Room Tip: End rooms are best. Second floor rooms don't have shade on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I surprised my husband with a 2-night trip to Bermuda and am so glad our hotel was at this spot- amazingly beautiful, clear ocean and soft sand. We visited a couple other beaches (including Horseshoe Bay) and they weren't as great.

Pros: Location, location!! Perfect escape if you're looking for relaxation, beauty and the ocean. Plus, there are 2 restaurants right on the beach a minute-walk away with good food/menu.

Cons: Not a 5-star resort (but you're not paying for that). The room is more like a glorified motel room, but happens to have gorgeous views. The duvet/sheets are good/new, but the pillows are hard and too big and the room is dated. I felt the need to wear socks when I was walking around the room- ie. it wasn't super cozy.

Nevertheless, I'd still rate it 4 stars because it's a perfect escape and we didn't spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very pretty place with great views and it was one of the more reasonably priced which is why we chose it. Grounds in excellent shape and the room and everything else was very clean. Since we spent practically zero time in the room other than for sleeping it was very satisfactory. I guess the furnishings were a little dated, but it is completely irrelevant as the view is always up to date. The staff ranges from super (Steve) to merely OK in the case of some of the front desk people, but none were a serious issue and all tried to help.

The rooms are all the same and all good. They are small, you are talking 60's era motel room here, not suite, but all beds face the glass doors which face the ocean, so it doesn't matter where they put you. there are no bad rooms. If walking up hills is an issue you may want one of the higher number buildings. They are closer to the lobby, but further from the ocean. If you want the right on the beach feel, the go low number (1XX, or 2XX) and just walk the hill to the lobby.

If you require two beds instead of one king, I do have to downgrade them a little for two very small twin beds that are way too soft. There really isn't room for them to put two larger beds in a room so it is understandable, but if you require accommodations with two doubles or two queens, you do need to look elsewhere.

We only ate dinner here one night and it was excellent. The breakfast we thought was not very good. You can't get a hot breakfast unless you first buy the cold buffet and frankly it is not that good. If you want to save a lot of money just walk out the front door and into the cafeteria of the Bermuda College that sits right in front and get a great breakfast for two for less than the price of one at the hotel. Food is expensive everywhere in Bermuda, but the breakfast at the hotel is probably the only time we felt really overcharged. Since it is not "mandatory" in any way , if you don't want it, don't buy it.

There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel so make sure you get a bus/ferry pass right away as cabs anywhere in Bermuda are pricey and the bus service is great once you figure out the cryptic bus schedule. They only give departure times for the ends of the route. Every stop in between is just your guess as to when to be there. Once you do it a few times it all seem perfectly logical, but to someone used to a real structured life style the more casual and enjoyable outlook about everything in Bermuda seem like a better way of life all around. On weekends be careful however as they stop running early and you could find yourself with a $30 cab ride home from just about anywhere. And don't

We would definitely not hesitate to stay here again, but if there was a large price difference, would consider others as well. Bermuda really isn't about where you stay, it is all about where you are and what you do.

Room Tip: Close to the beach means a long uphill walk to the lobby, so if that is a problem, just ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

we will be back soon and will be bringing the family. the location was great being that we walked to the beach ever morning and afternoon. also there was a local store walking distance from the hotel to purchase beer, rum, and fresh fruit, veg., and meat. the hotel staff was friendly and helpful in finding other things to do off the resort. the breakfast buffet was great as well as the lunch fish sandwich. we didn't go to any supper meals because 7pm was too late for us. we are already planning to return. the best part was the beach was quiet and beautiful. it was like walking into paradise. we felt very safe using the public transportation to venture off the resort, not like other places...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My partner and I recently spent a long weekend in Bermuda and decided to stay at The Coco Reef Hotel. We were looking to relax in a quiet and peaceful environment by the beach so this hotel ticked every box. Sure, its dated in terms of decor but the friendly and helpful staff more than made up for that. Special thanks go to Ken the manager who always made an effort to ensure that we had everything that we needed. The late check out on our last day was appreciated!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.