We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Weeks in January 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Coco Reef Resort Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“2 Weeks in January 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 13 night stay at Coco Reef. Had room 115 right on the beach front with what had to be the best hotel location on Bermuda. If its a 18-30 resort your looking for this isn't it. But if you are looking for peace and quiet (it was out of season) and an idyllic setting with Elbow Beach virtually to yourself then this is the place to go. Ken and his team made us most welcome and strived to be as helpful as possible during our stay. Recommend the unlimited bus/ferry pass for getting around the island. Also walking the railway trail gives you an insight into life in Bermuda. Only criticisms would be Many of the local businesses were closed for the winter leaving a reduced choice in what to do where to eat etc....of Coco Reef as the learned taxi driver told us when we arrived, staying at the Coco Reef is like "visiting your old grandmother"....Climate was fair, mild 65-70 patchy sunshine and only rained one afternoon/evening. Would I go back to Bermuda, maybe? If I did I'd be more than happy to stay again at the Coco Reef.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments, we are all so pleased that you really enjoyed your holiday with us here at Coco Reef, "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

We hope that your return home to a totally different climate was not too shocking, and that you arrived home safely.

We are delighted that you mention you would stay with us again should you come back to Bermuda, and we hope that you return to "visit your old grandmother" again one day.

Best regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    259
    64
    27
    21
See reviews for
86
362
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

my wife and I just returned from spending 6 wonderful nights at Coco Reef resort,Bermuda.We were personally greeted by Ken Watson,the general manager,who wecomed us for our visit.Ken makes you feel at home and is genuinely interested in making your stay enjoyable.When we reached our room,we had a bottle of champagne,chilled waiting for us and a kind note welcoming us for the New Year!It is because of Ken and his terrific staff that we are repeat guests at Coco Reef!This was our first visit in the off season and the weather was wonderful,low 70's and sun for most of our stay.The quiet actually allows you to spend more time enjoying Bermuda.We had almost the entire length of Elbow Beach to ourselves for extended periods!For a great vacation in either the high or low season,I haighly recommend a stay at Coco Reef,with the best view on the island.All rooms have great ocean views and many are ocean front.Once you visit,you will want to come back.A relaxed,low key vacation;come listen to the sounds of the waves and the tree frogs!

Room Tip: The 100 or 200 block.Ask for the second floor.Views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Greetings from all your dear friends at Coco Reef Bermuda, and thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind comments.

It was a real pleasure seeing you both again, and as always a delight for us all having you stay with us. It is always special for us when we have old friends like you here with us, as it is just like having family visiting for the holidays.

Everyone here joins me in thanking you for returning once again, and they all said that I must say hello to you and wish you all the best for 2013. Steve is now on his annual vacation in Jamaica, but before he left he asked me to remind you that you must come back and see us in the summer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort" and I hope you both have a Wonderful New Year.

Fondest regards,

Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Coco Reef is a cozy, warm and friendly place where the workers treat you like old friends and the hospitality is sincere and comfortable. I can't say it enough how the people who work there do all they can to make the stay pleasant. We loved 'Steve' who was the first person we met (and took us and our luggage on the golf cart to our rooms) and the ladies in the dining room who could not have been nicer! The food was delicious, we went on the meal plan which was a good idea in my opinion. This is not a fancy resort, rather a small, charming place with a great pool, unbelievable view with direct access to the ocean, and clean rooms with little patios - one day while sitting out there I spotted some whales. It was fabulous. Ten minutes from Hamilton - loved the place, the people, the views, the visitors and the experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower level that faces the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings from all your new friends here at Coco Reef Bermuda.

It is so nice to recieve such wonderful comments and we all thank you sincerely. I am especially delighted that you mention my team for being so nice, thank you so much. My "right hand man" Steve, said to say thanks for being so nice.

We strive to offer all our guests a quiet relaxing vacation, and I am so happy that once again my team managed to succeed in doing a wonderful job.

Please return to visit us again, we promise not to change a thing.

Fondest regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Coco Reef was a very well rounded small resort with a cool, intimate private beach and a heated pool. It is close to the bus stop which is a quick 10 minute ride to Hamilton. You should purchase the included breakfast with the reservation. There aren't any good breakfast spots nearby and the food at the Coco Reef is solid. Also, get a beach view room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and found us to be "Calm & Comfy". You have truly captured the essence of Coco Reef in just two small words. Thank you also for recommending our restaurant.

We hope that you return to visit us again one day soon.

Regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my 5th stay at Coco Reef and once again I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.We live in DC so its a short 2 hour flight and we can be there for lunch ,go swimming and have a great time on the first day rather than being wiped out by an all day airport.flight experience.
The rooms are nice ,we do not go to Coco Reef to watch TV.Great views,great beach and peaceful ,,not the big hotel humdrum.You don't even notice that there are 67 rooms.The beach in front of the hotel is very private and relaxing.
Great service,,ask for anything and everyone,from the manager to the bellhop will help you.
Staff super nice and friendly ,its almost like visiting relatives for us repeat customers.
Get an ocean front room and the walk to the beach is 1 minute!
We love it and try to get there 2-3 times a year for a quick break from the city.

Room Tip: Ocean front room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Greetings from all your good friends here at Coco Reef Bermuda.

It was wonderful to have you here with us again, and thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are all extremely grateful for your kind comments and delighted that you came back to visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and hope that you have a Wonderful New Year.

Best regards.

Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wife and I spent a week over Christmas at the Coco. The hotel was in a great location next to the wonderful elbow beach, various food options, market, bus stop, and the railroad trail. The grounds are beautiful with a variety of palms and tropical plants. It seems to be a cat island…cats and chickens roam freely. The staff was friendly and helpful..cleaning staff did a great job. We had room 118 which was a corner 2nd floor beachfront room. The room has a great view of the ocean and steps from the beach. The room was ok…the wicker furniture was not so comfortable and it would be nice to have a sliding screen door to enjoy the ocean breeze and not worry about the birds joining you. Breakfast tip: if you want a delicious breakfast at a good price go to the Parakeet Restaurant which is on the main road and about a block away. Great time walking on the beach but a little cold at this time of year to get in the water..but we did see a few people swimming...water supposedly 68 degrees. Also experienced the annual Christmas beach party on Elbow beach...DJ playing music and lots of people watching...fun times. Overall we had a wonderful time at the Coco Reef.

Room Tip: 118 great beachfront corner room right next to the beach with also beautiful ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Season’s Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda, and thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us. I especially appreciate that you acknowledged that my staff was friendly and helpful.

It was our pleasure having you as a guest of Coco Reef Bermuda. We are thrilled you had an “Excellent Christmas Holiday” and also had the opportunity to enjoy all that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to “Bermuda’s Best Beach Resort”.

With regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel during our short "holiday getaway". We looked for a quiet comfortable time and we got exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is right on the beach and every room has a beautiful ocean view. Good restaurant. Everything is close by: the bus stop, the local market and the entrance to the Railroad Trail. But what made our stay truly comfortable is the hotel's staff: attentive, polite, and friendly. The manager, Ken, made us feel truly welcomed. We will stay at the Coco Reef again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Coco Reef Bermuda.

We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay with us, and so happy to hear that you had a quiet comfortable time with us on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

I would also like to thank you personally for mentioning my staff, for being so polite and attentive. They really are the best team on the island, and it is a pleasure for me to work with every one of them.

We look forward to welcoming you to "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort" again one day.

Regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.