We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptively charming and central.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coco Reef Resort Bermuda to your Saves list
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deceptively charming and central.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel at first glance does not necessarily grab your attention as a "sought after destination". But then you walk the grounds and find you can lounge on the lawn, on the beach, on a hill, or even a cliff. The sounds of the ocean permeate the entire grounds, and a view of the ocean is afforded to the guest in every public venue on the property. Additionally, the location is central, and the opposite ends of the island can be reached within an hour by bus. The bus route goes past the hotel, and is simply a short walk from the the front door of the hotel down to the bus stop. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. The prices for the food and spirits were a bit pricey. The guest may not necessarily want to schedule every meal at the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor, ocean front-absolutely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken W, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are all so grateful for your kind comments.

We have had many other guests who have visited us also express the same views, that they are "presently surprised" and find Coco Reef to be utterly charming. This may be one of the reasons we have so many of our good friends returning to visit us year after year.

We hope that you also return to visit us again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    265
    65
    27
    21
See reviews for
88
370
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Hyde Park, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Gorgeous grounds...beautiful, comfortable, clean room with amazing ocean view. Restaurant is fantastic altho menu did not change with the exception of a special Thanksgiving selection. Beach is beautiful even tho they lost a lot of beachfront with the storm. Friendly and helpful staff. Market and bus is a short walk from hotel. Taxis readily available. Bermuda is expensive but beautiful. Weather was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and we are all delighted that you found your time with us to be "Relaxing and Quiet".

We strive to offer a stress free vacation to all our guests, and we are always pleased when people really appreciate us for what we are all about. Peace & Relaxation.

We hope that you return to visit us again in our own corner of Paradise.

Ken Watson,
Coco Reef - "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Easy to get to, VERY friendly and helpful staff. Beach was phenomenal, I kicked myself for deciding to leave the snorkel gear at home, the beach right in front of the resort was perfect. Watch out for lots of broken glass on Elbow beach. This isn't Coco's problem, of course, but we saw lots of washed up bits on the sand. The A/C unit in our room was a bit noisy, and had a strange cycle of 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off all night long. Too bad we didn't have a screen on the sliding glass door, we could have just slept with that open all night. That's the only reason I'm giving it 4 out of 5 stars. We would love to come back again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Greetings from Bermuda.

The entire team at Coco Reef Bermuda joins with me to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and for your kind review of our resort.

We are dlighted that you appreciated the simplicity of Coco Reef, which is the reason why most of our guests return to us year after year.

I sincerely apologize for the issues you had in your room with the A/C unit, I assure you that we have met with the maintenance company and we are working on implementing a new system to ensure that the experience of all our guests is a memorable one.

The sea glass you discovered on the beach are all crafted naturally by the sea from man-made glass. Their origins are most often glasses like bottles, jars and pottery that were discarded and tossed into the sea. They could have been thrown from the boats or even from the shore, but nature is an expert creating good from the bad.

Under the wave actions, these glass pieces go through continuous tumbling and friction for years. The glasses are dragged through the sand, underwater rocks and sea shells. As a result of this they are broken up in small pieces, get worn, edges get naturally smoothened and the bodies get polished until they look like natural gems.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back Bermuda’s Best Beach Resort.

With regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel was well appointed but deserted, as indeed was the whole island which was also very expensive.

Although the food was good it was disappointing that the menu, with the exception of a Thanksgiving Special, didn't change for ten days.

Actually left two days early and will not be returning. However, look forward to revisiting the sister hotel, Coco Reef in Tobago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and taking the opportunity to address your concerns. While there are elements of our resort you enjoyed and appreciated, we are disappointed that your overall experience wasn’t to your satisfaction.

I wish to reassure you that we strive to delight each and every guest, and we take all negative comments very seriously. We try to offer seasonal menus, which we do change often, so that we can incorporate the many fresh products that are available to us. We are sorry that we were not able to satisfy you personally on this occasion.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back some day, to allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in Coco Reef Bermuda.

Yours.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I'm a bit late with this review; my husband and I spent a week here at this resort at the end of October/beginning of November--Just as Hurricane Sandy was supposed to hit. We lucked out weather-wise, and in every other way as well. The hotel was quiet, as it seemed to be off-season, so we ended up with a great room overlooking the lovely, shell-sand beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable, as was the bed. We were on a walking tour with Breakaway Adventures and felt that this hotel was an excellent choice as a base of operations. The food was diverse and delicious and the hotel is well-located; but the staff are what truly make this hotel memorable. My husband and I enjoyed our conversations with Susie in the dining room in the morning; and Darnell, at the bar, prior to dinner each evening. Darnell offered a wealth of information about Bermuda in general, and the history and people of the island in particular. We took this holiday as a way to celebrate our 20th Wedding anniversary. It was a great decision. I would recommend this hotel highly for both families with children and couples looking for a romantic getaway. I've read some of the negative reviews and feel they were unfair. The feral cats, that were mentioned in one review, are actually harmless and exist all over the island, as do feral chickens--which we found to be quite charming. Bermuda is a lovely place-everywhere you go; and the people are incredibly friendly. Thank you Ken, and everyone else at Coco Reef for making our anniversary so memorable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you from all of us here at Coco Reef Bermuda for your wonderful review, we are all most grateful, and delighted that you had such a fantastic time with us.

I would also like to thank you personally for your kind comments about my team, they really are the best, and I am lucky to have them here with me.

We are so glad that you chose us to celebrate your 20th anniversary, and we hope that you return to visit us agin one day soon. Darnell and Susie said to say hello, and they send their best wishes and thanks for remembering them.

Best regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from Bermuda. Had a relaxing, lazy holiday in one of the nicest places I've stayed in. We were upgraded to an ocean front room, so had the sound of the surf while lying in bed and then walked straight out onto the grass right above the beach. The room was comfortable and clean with somewhere to sit but we spent all our time outside on the terrace looking at the beautiful view.
Food and service in the restaurant were excellent. I really can't fault the chef- beautifully presented and perfectly cooked food. Steaks were cooked exactly as asked for and the seafood was delicious and very fresh. We stayed on a half board package which was well worth paying for, food in Bermuda is very expensive. Hotel is 10 minutes walk from a little supermarket and bus stops.The bus service is great on the island and you can buy day and 2 or 3 day passes which mean you have unlimited use of buses and the ferries, good value. Only criticism- menu could do with a change each week, perhaps just 2 different menus rotating. As we were there for 2 weeks we had worked our way through the menu completely, so a different choice the second week would have been nice. But, the food was consistently excellent, my husband is now on a diet! And I should be!
The island is very pretty with a beautiful coastline. Everywhere, people were unfailingly polite. The first place I've been to where loads of people said good morning to ALL the passengeres on the bus when getting on!
Everyone at the hotel was lovely and Ken the manager was always attentive and charming. Would recommend it!
The weather was still nice when we left but getting cooler . Check the climate details when you are going, it is not tropical so can get quite cool and damp in the winter months.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the fantastic view but having the beachfront rooms mean you can walk straight ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

On behalf of the entire team at Coco Reef Bermuda, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and your kind review of our resort. Thank you also for recognizing and mentioning our service and staff at Coco Reef. It is most appreciated.

It was our pleasure having you as our guests and we are thrilled you had a wonderful holiday, and you had the opportunity to enjoy all that we have to offer.

I will pass on the compliments and comments to our chef regarding the quality of our food, he will be delighted that you enjoyed everything so much.

Thank you also for your excellent recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to “Bermuda’s Best Beach Resort”.

With warm regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Amazing location. Our room looked out over one of the nicest beaches on the island, and you can hear the waves crashing right from your room. Ken introduced himself to us and everyone was very nice. Did not see any maintenance issues others identified, and the room was clean. Late October/Early November very nice time to visit Bermuda as the tourist season is over but the ocean is still lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are all delighted that you really enjoyed your time with us here in our own little corner of Paradise, on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

We are fortunate in being located on a spectacular beach, with magnificent views of the ocean, and I am pleased to say that even today (November 7th) the water is a very comfortable 73 degrees.

We look forward to seeing you again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.