We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like you're right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Coco Reef Resort Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feels like you're right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Amazing location. Our room looked out over one of the nicest beaches on the island, and you can hear the waves crashing right from your room. Ken introduced himself to us and everyone was very nice. Did not see any maintenance issues others identified, and the room was clean. Late October/Early November very nice time to visit Bermuda as the tourist season is over but the ocean is still lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are all delighted that you really enjoyed your time with us here in our own little corner of Paradise, on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

We are fortunate in being located on a spectacular beach, with magnificent views of the ocean, and I am pleased to say that even today (November 7th) the water is a very comfortable 73 degrees.

We look forward to seeing you again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    251
    61
    26
    21
See reviews for
82
338
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although Hurricaine Sandy shortened our already brief stay at Coco Reef, we wanted to say a big thank you to Ken Watson and crew for making our stay a very enjoyable one. We loved the beach area and the great ocean view from our room. Although our room was a bit tired looking, the service was great. When one of our nightside bulb lights suddently burnt out, they immediately replaced it. When we requested 4 wine glasses, it took less that two minutes for 4 glasses to appear at our door. The location of the hotel is splendid., right next to the Elbow Beach hotel/restaurants and just a short taxi/moped ride to Hamilton.
We also thank Ken and staff for understanding our situation when we had to depart early due to "Sandy". They did not charge us at all for the extra night room fee. A class act!!
We would definitely stay at Coco Reef again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

I am delighted to hear that you arrived home safely, I hope everything at home was secure and you were not badly affected by Hurricane Sandy.

It was a pleasure having you here with us, and thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are all so happy that you really enjoyed your vacation here on the beautiful island of Bermuda, and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Fondest regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days toward the end of September 2012 and loved it. We were looking for a place that was near the water but it didn't break the bank and CR did just that. The hotel was a little old styled (old fashioned beach garb in the rooms) but clean and nice and on top of it...our room (which was so gratefully upgraded by Ken) was 100 feet from the pink sands. We were a 12$ cab ride and a 10 minute bus ride (2.50$ each way) from Hamilton and about a 200 yards walk from the restaurant next door at Elbow Beach Resort. We took the bus just about everywhere during the days and would take a cab home at night. The food is a little pricey throughout Bermuda so to say CR's food was pricey would be accurate, but everyone's food was pricey (remember, they are an island and have a import a lot of product). The staff was very responsive, polite and helpful whenever we had questions and we even returned to a bottle of chilled champagne on the first night. If you are looking for a top end beach resort with marble floors, this is not your place...however, if you want to be on the beach, conveniently located to everything, and a well priced place to sleep, then CR is your place. Thank you from the both of us to ALL the folks at Coco Reef! We will be returning here for our next trip! Thank Matt and Jess C.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to the ocean-front, or pay the extra for it. All rooms have great views, but being c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Greetings from all your friends at Coco Reef Bermuda.

The entire team joins with me to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and your kind review of our resort.

It was our pleasure having you as guests of Coco Reef Bermuda. We are thrilled you had a wonderful vacation and you had the opportunity to enjoy all that the beautiful island of Bermuda has to offer.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments, and we hope to see you again one day soon at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

With warm regards,

Ken Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The facility is very old and dated. Maintenance is non existant. Paint peeling, serious power washing needed. The wooden steps down to the beach were very dangerous, rotted and loose, the lighting on the handrail was dangerous. Wires out of the fixtures, fountain in the lobbly with the cord on the outside. None of the fountains were even working. Roof leaking in the lobby after rain storm. Restaurant was filthy, the yellow ceiling is covered in dust dirt and grease from the vents. Outdoor patio furniture was dirty, the bottom of the legs was rusty and discolored. The yellow lounge chairs on the patios and the beach, old saggy and filthy. Our room was decorated from the mid 80's. Sheets and towels very thin and scratchy. Our KING size bed was two seperate beds pushed together. The mattresses were ancient and filthy. We were hoping to have a nice romantic week and couldn't even sleep next to one another because of the gap between the mattresses. We had ants spiders and some other bug in our bathroom from day one. The housekeeping staff left a can of bug spray on the bathroom shelf for us to use during out stay. Had to rinse the spiders out of the tub everytime we wanted to shower. The entire place needs a good scrubbing and painting. The artwork in the lobby was very odd, but the picture in our room was a 3 foot by 5 foot picture of 2 womans faces staring at you, very creepy.
We have visited Bermuda 28 times over the years and have stayed in just about every resort and hotel, ranging in price from expensive to affordable and have never had such a bad experience with this so called RESORT.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Responding to extremely negative reviews such as this is always very difficult for us, especially when our previous reviews were always highly complimentary.

Our previous success in ensuring that our valued guests always have a wonderful experience with us is obviously proven with these fantastic reviews, and as such we are distraught when suddenly faced with comments such as yours, which are totally opposite to what most of our guests say about us.

Given that we had recently weathered our 2nd hurricane during a one month period it is understandable that you may not have seen us in perfect condition, however, we did our best to correct everything, despite the storm lingering for many days, and we apologise for anything we could not correct. You state that there is paint peeling, but a thorough inspection of the property shows this not to be true, other than some damage caused by the hurricane.

Maintenance is in fact ongoing, and at this time we are currently repairing damage to the roof which we sustained during the last hurricane.

Fountains were not working because they were partially dismantled as a safety factor for the hurricane, and also disconected from the electricity supply. Water and electricity is not a good combination when a hurricane arrives.

You also state that the restaurant was filthy, which given that is cleaned every day I found hard to believe, and subsequently performed a thorough inspection, which proved to be positive. The upper celing is in fact painted a slightly darker colour than the remainder, and once again I found it to be clean and not covered in grime as you stated.

Coco Reef opened less than 10 years ago, so I find it difficult to understand how you can state that we are "old and dated", especially when almost all exterior areas have been given a facelift this year. In fact, as I previously stated, the only problems were because of the hurricane, and in fact the terrace and surrounding areas were all completely repainted in September after the passing of hurricane Leslie. Most bedrooms have also had a complete facelift with all problems being addressed.

The interior decor was all specially made for us, and we purposely chose a "Classical Caribbean" style as opposed to the typical boring decor of a town center chain hotel. The artwork is also all original art as opposed to the normal prints which are seen in most hotels. The fact that is was not to your taste is not something that we can not control, and we do in fact recieve many compliments for the artwork and also sell many pieces.

The steps down to the beach are completely safe, and they look the way they do because we want them to blend in with the environment. We do not feel that painting them in gloss white paint would be pleasing to the eye. Unfortunately we do not know what you mean when you state that the lighting is dangerous, as we have checked it thouroughly and see no threat whatsoever.

Although we do have some rooms which have 2 single beds together, this as never been an issue in the past, and once again after a thorough inspection we found that none of the mattresses were "ancient & filthy" as you stated.

You also state that you had ants and other insects in your room for your entire stay, which is contrary to our records, which show that after the intial complaint, follow up visits to the room were clear on subsequent days.

When living on a tropical island surrouded by lush foliage, it is inevitable that occasionally bugs will be a nuisance, especially after sustained heavy rainfall, and we do all that we can to alleviate the problem. We cannot always control nature, however, and the can of bug spray that was left for you was simply in the event that ants did return. No other rooms reported a serious problem with bugs during this time.

Despite your obvious dissatisfaction with your stay at Coco Reef, we hope that this does not deter you from visiting the beautiful island of Bermuda once again.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I would very much recommend Coco Reef to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation. It's not a resort with activities like some of the all-inclusives I've been to in the Caribbean, but if you're looking to spend some quality time at the beach, I can't imagine a better place. It is located on one of the best beaches on the Island. Gorgeous sand, no shells or rocks to step on. And the hotel rooms are located very close to the beach, so it's easy to get to, and I believe every room has a view of the water. The hotel restaurant was top notch if a little pricy (all food is expensive in Bermuda). And the hotel is just a five minute walk to the bus stop when you're ready to leave the hotel and see the sights. The bus system in Bermuda is terrific. Definitely the way to get around the island. The staff is very pleasant and had all the answers to my questions. My wife and I were sad to leave but will be excited to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent comments, and for your recommendation for others to visit us here at Coco Reef Bermuda.

We are all delighted that you had a wonderful vacation, and also that you appreciated all that we have to offer here on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

Please return to visit us again one day soon at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Coco Reef from Oct. 6th thru Oct. 10th to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We just loved it there. Ken and everyone on the staff were the friendliest and most helpful people. We were always greeted with a smile and felt so comfortable while here. Loved having our own private beach and being able to see the beautiful water from our room. We thought the resort itself to be quite beautiful. We definitely will stay here again if we ever go back to Bermuda and we definitely recommend Coco Reef to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Greetings for Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you so much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and for choosing Coco Reef to celebrate your 30th anniversary.

It was our pleasure having you as guests of Coco Reef Bermuda and we are thrilled that you had a wonderful vacation, and had the opportunity to really enjoy all that we have to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again one day soon at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Best regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel. We just returned from our 40th wedding anniversary trip. The staff at Coco Reef made us feel very special, in particular, the General Manager, Ken Watson. I mentioned in my reservation notes that it was our 40th anniversary. We were given a beautiful room with balcony, overlooking that clear, Bermuda blue water, and pink beach. What a fabulous view! On our first night, we returned to our room to find a chilled bottle of champagne and a tray of fresh fruit, accompanied by a personal note congratulating us on our anniversary. I don't think you can get a bad room there. All rooms face the water. The beach is so inviting, and just steps away. Unfortunately for us, we were sad to leave the island two days early because of a hurricane. That's the problem when traveling in the fall.

Room Tip: Make sure to advise the hotel if you are celebrating a special occasion. Rooms located in buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from all your friends at Coco Reef Bermuda.

We are delighted that you chose us to celebrate this special occasion in your lives, and we are so happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.

On behalf of the entire team at Coco Reef Bermuda, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and your kind review of our resort. Thank you from me personally for recognizing and mentioning our service and staff at Coco Reef.

Thank you also for your excellent recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to “Bermuda’s Best Beach Resort”.

Best regards,

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.