We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious anniversary vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Coco Reef Resort Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Glorious anniversary vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

From our arrival at Coco Reef on Sept 24.until our last day Oct 3, we had unparalleled service. The general manager Ken Watson made sure that we were taken care of in every way. His smile and positive attitude definitely made our stay pleasant. The people who worked at the hotel were also fabulous. From our favorite bartenders, Ronnie, who was charming and interesting, and Darnell, who taught us a lot about Bermuda! ( and Dean, the very kind weekend bartender), to the very sweet, friendly front desk clerks, Kandyce and Ashley,and Vladimir who was always quick to help with any requests, and the wonderful woman who cleaned our room each day ( i'm sorry I did not get her name as she was so discreet and quick that we rarely saw her- but she also did an excellent job) everyone seemed happy to be there, and happy to help us with any questions. All of them gave us excellent recommendations of things to do and see, and the easiest way to get places. It is really nice to have someone who lives there let you know what is good and what might not be so great!
The hotel was lovely with fantastic views of beautiful Elbow Beach. It was very quiet and the rooms were very clean. I especially liked the fact that you could get beach towels at any time and that there was no requirement to turn in your used towels in order to get new ones. It was just one of the many small things that made a big difference.
We so enjoyed Bermuda this time. We had cruised there twice before, but found this vacation infinitely more restful ( two hour plane flight!) and enjoyable. We would love to go back and we would choose the Coco Reef in a heartbeat. Oh, and i forget to mention, as it was our 30th anniversary, we were sent champagne and a fruit plate as an anniversary surprise by Ken and his staff. How sweet and unexpected was that?
Our opinion of our trip and this hotel was A++. We would highly recommend Coco Reef to anyone travelling to Bermuda!
ps Ken.. thank you for providing us with the best weather ever!!! ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello from all your friends at Coco Reef Bermuda, and thank you so much for your fantastic review of your stay with us.

We are so glad that you chose us to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary, and delighted that you had such a wonderful time in Bermuda.

Thank you from me personally for your praise of my team, and for mentioning so many of them by name. They really are the best. They all said that I must say Hi to you, and they send you their best wishes.

All of us here are so happy that you said you would return to visit us again, and also recommend Coco Reef to future guests. Thank you so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Best regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    254
    62
    26
    21
See reviews for
82
343
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful week at the Coco Reef Resort in Paget in June 2012 when we came to Bermuda to attend a friend's wedding. The hotel is located on the most amazing sandy beach, which is the best beach on the island. We got a great deal for the hotel and couldn't believe our luck. My advice would be to definitely stay in a hotel like this one as Bermuda is frightfully expensive!

Upon arrival we were greeted by the wonderful hotel manager Ken and for him nothing was ever too much trouble. Every day he greeted us with a fabulous smile and asked if he could do anything for us. The staff at this hotel are all great! They helped us with advice on travel, excursions and indeed nothing was out of the question. They were always really cheerful and helpful. I put all of this down to the wonderful manager Ken as I have never experienced such attention to detail. We were made to feel so welcome that we can't wait to go back (a first for me as I always like to try new places!).

Our room was extremely spacious and the decor was lovely. The hotel is decked out in wonderfully colourful Cuban paintings and the restaurant itself has a lovely sea view. The maids were super friendly and did a great job cleaning the rooms every day.

We had a great time seeing the island and would advise using the buses and ferries for this as they are just so easy and very inexpensive. Be careful of the scooters as they are dangerous and I would not advise them having experienced Bermudian driving first hand (the roads are very narrow).

The hotel has free wifi and access to a computer in a central area - in fact it's the only hotel on the island to offer free wifi (I don't know about you but it really 'gets my goat' that hotels charge extortionate prices for wifi these days!). There is also a nice little library of books in the lobby.

The gardens around the hotel are all really lovely and we enjoyed feeding the birds daily from our balcony. This is definitely a fabulous place to come and to forget your worries!

Well done Ken and the team - you made our holiday and we will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms with a direct sea view at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Greetings from everyone at Coco Reef Bermuda, and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are all so grateful.

We are all delighted that you really enjoyed your holiday here with us, and especially glad to hear that you will return to visit us again. Bermuda really is a perfect hoilday destination which offers "So Much More", and Coco Reef is ideally situated to experience everything that the island has to offer.

I am extremely fortunate to be surrounded by the best team on the island, who are all dedicated in making sure that all our guests have a wonderful time here with us here on the beautiful island of Bermuda.

We look forward to welcoming you back to "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort", and thank you once again for your fabulous review.

Yours.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

From the moment of our arrival, Ken and his friendly staff greeted us warmly and made us feel extemely comfortable and excited we chose the same spot we stayed on our honeymoon 25 years earlier.
Whether day or evening staff, all were extrmely helpful with directions, recommendations for sites to visit, most affordable mode of travel (Thanks Vladimir!!) or best times to visit sites, we were extremely pleased with all accommadations. Breakfasts were great! Dinners were excellent, especially the B-B-Q on the terrace. The view of the ocean beach is breathtaking and the colors of ocean and resort flowers and plants are extremely vibrant (kudos to the gardener, always busy). The Resort has a perfect beach for both swimming and long walks.
My wife and I had an extremely memorable time and would highly recommend Coco Reef Resort to any couple wanting to create a memory for a lifetime.

Room Tip: We booked through AAA and room selection was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments, and for choosing Coco Reef Bermuda to celebrate your 25th anniversary.

It was a pleasure having you here with us on the beautiful island of Bermuda, and we are so glad that you had such a wonderful time on this special occasion in you lives. Thank you also for your recommendation for others to visit us.

We hope that you return to visit Coco Reef again, but please don't wait another 25 years. I'm not too sure if I will still be here...

Best regards from "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were recent guests at Coco Reef (Sept. 20 - 24) and had a wonderful time. One of the main reasons I chose this resort (after visiting Bermuda many times), was for the fact that Ken Watson, the General Manager of the hotel, takes the time to pay attention to what is being posted about his resort and replies -- whether the post was glowing or critical. I thought this was a bit unusual and honestly, I liked it. I want great customer service, it's important, and for me, it says a lot about a business/ establishment. Low and behold, upon entering the hotel, Ken was there and provided a warm welcome, along with Ashley at the front desk. Mr. Watson was also visible at the restaurant during various meals throughout our stay (the food was excellent, and our conversations with Ken were always fun/interesting), he took the time to chat with the guests on a regular/frequent basis, answered any questions, and literally cared. It was a fantastic experience. The resort is lovely & comfortable (this is not an over-the-top hotel, it is quaint, quiet, simple, and all in a good way), it has the best location, awesome beach and the staff is outstanding. Ken, Ashley, Suzie, Stevie and the rest of the team made every guest feel welcomed and invited. We will be visiting again and can't wait, since we'll be back with some good friends and know they'll take great care of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Greetings from everyone at Coco reef Bermuda.

We are all delighted that you had such a "Wonderful Time" here with us on the beautiful island of Bermuda, and thank you sincerely for your extremely kind comments, it is really most appreciated.

I am very fortunate in having the absolutely best team on the island here with me at Coco Reef, and they all deserve the real credit for making all our guests so happy. Thank you for mentioning them, and for naming so many of them personally.

I am so happy to hear that will come back and visit us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Best regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here 10-20 September and were delighted with our choice. We wanted a good hotel, with direct access to the beach in a beautiful location and that's what we got! Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean, with stunning ocean views, and only a minute's walk from the beach. We found the staff, led by General Manager Ken Watson to be efficient, helpful friendly and attentive. We mostly ate at the hotel restaurant and found the food to be of a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Coco Reef.

We are so happy that you really enjoyed your holiday with us here in Bermuda, and that you also found our location to be so beautiful.

We are fortunate in being located on the most fabulous beach in Bermuda, with spectacular views of the ocean from every room, and also close to everything else that the island has to offer.

Thank you also for your recommendation, and we hope that you return to visit us again.

Regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Coco Reef from Sept 18-24 and we were not disappointed with our choice. The location is perfect for us for what we wanted to do, which was go to the various beaches and do some snorkeling and jet skiing. The resort is about 20 minutes (by bus) to Horseshoe Bay and 25 minutes to Church Bay. If you want to go into Hamilton, it's about 15 minutes. The resort itself was great. The staff was extremely helpful. Marley recommended a great place for us to go on a jet ski tour. The General Manager, Dr. Ken Watson went out of his way to make our stay really enjoyable. The room was VERY clean. If you want to stay at a place right on the beach and at an affordable price, I HIGHLY recommend Coco Reef. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Greetings from Bermuda.

All of us here at Coco Reef are delighted that you had such a "Great Vacation" here with us on the beautiful island of Bermuda, and thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

Thank you also for your recommendation for others to visit us, and we hope that you also come back to see us again one day at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort".

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed Sept. 18-22 for our honeymoon and were extremely happy with Coco Reef. We wanted a luxurious feeling but still affordable, and it was. It's on a beautiful beach, very clean and well maintained, staff are attentive, and the food at the restaurant is superb. On past trips to Bermuda I have stayed at Valley Cottages and an Inn, and Coco Reef is now my favourite. This was my husband's first time in Bermuda and he also would go back to Coco Reef. The Manager Ken and staff (Steve) were friendly and helpful. The taxi ride from the airport is $30 (with tip), and takes about 20 minutes. Hotel is also a 15 minute bus ride into Hamilton.
We had a room on the top level which had a private balcony and view of the ocean. They did provide us with beach towels, and there is an iron and hairdryer in the room.
The bed was comfortable and there was a bathtub, TV, small fridge, and air conditioning.
We saw two cockroaches and a few ants in the room (very normal in Bermuda - even at high end places).

Tips to make your trip more affordable (Bermuda is expensive):
Bring sunscreen (sunscreen in Bermuda costs about $15).
The grocery store is a 5 minute walk from Coco Reef (there is a slight hill to go down). We bought breakfast and lunch food we could keep in our fridge (juice, bread, peanut butter, fruit, cheese, crackers, sandwich meat, snacks, soda, etc.). Don’t leave food out in the room (bugs). We ate a meal in a restaurant only once a day. We also bought alcohol from the grocery store to save money. But make sure you do eat a meal at the restaurant in Coco Reef – the food is really good with a view of the beach you can’t beat. The wine list is good and make sure you try a ‘Dark and Stormy.’
The bus is very easy to take and you can buy bus tickets at the hotel. The bus runs every 15 minutes during the day (every hour at night).
Bermuda is a wonderful place with lot’s to do. We felt safe (do exercise precaution as crime exists everywhere), but we had a wonderful time and the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoreef, General Manager at Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Greetings from Coco Reef Bermuda.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, and for choosing Coco Reef for such a special occasion as your honeymoon.

We are all so glad that you really enjoyed your time with us on the Island Paradise of Bermuda, and also that you really appreciated everything that we have to offer.

Thank you especially for mentioning my team, and also how much you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We hope that you return to visit us again at "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort" on your anniversary.

Regards.

Ken Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.