We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quick quiet getaway after a very hectic year. It was indeed the perfect place for us.
At check in, Vladimere kindly told us about the grocery store down the street. We had already known from reading reviews. But it was nice that it was offered. This meant that we would not feel as if we were "sneaking" stuff in. We were golf carted to our room on the second floor of the 200 building.
The room was very clean and had a new white fluffy comforter. Yes, the floral motif is a little dated. But the room was very comfortable and open to a large balcony overlooking the beach. The bed was Very comfortable- Simmoms Beautyrest pillowtop- I checked.
We liked the fact that it was a small hotel. No worries about finding a beach chair or seat by the pool. Which was lovely.
Dean the bartender was great. We enjoyed conversation with him and his knowledge of the island.
This is a quiet resort. There is no "scene" here. It was exactly what we were looking for. Elbow beach resort is steps away if you are looking for a little more action and Hamilton was only about a 10 min taxi ride ($10). Which is the main city with many restaurants, bars and shopping.
We loved Bermuda and its people. We can't wait to return. An when we do we will stay at Coco Reef!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    262
    64
    27
    21
See reviews for
87
365
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, NH
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I have visited Bermuda 7 times and have always seemed to stay in a different hotel/resort each trip. Never again will we go anywhere else but Coco Reef. The resort is a smaller more intimate escape, which we love. If you want big and huge go next door to Elbow Beach. At Coco Reef we felt at home and never really saw many other guests. At the beach or the pool side it was usually only us and maybe another couple and that was it!! We joked it was our own private resort. Our first day we arrived 3 hours early before check in and had a wonderful lunch on the Terrrace. Fabulous way to start our mini vacation. We then walked down the beach to Elbow Cycles to rent our moped and zipped over to the nearby market for some supplies. By the time we got back to Coco Reef our room was ready and our bags were in our room. We had bought some cheese and grapes and I knew there was a mini fridge but couldn't find it! I called the front desk and the girl pointed me to the bureau below the flat screen TV!! It was hidden and we had a good laugh. Granted the odd wall painting threw me for a loop, didn't really go with the decor, but the view of the ocean just outside our slider was priceless. We promptly shut off the AC and kept the slider open most of the time we were in the room. To hear the ocean and the birds was so relaxing and just what we needed for a perfect romantic getaway.
The only draw back to our stay was minimal, the bathroom could really use a vent. After our showers the steam would fog up the large mirror and the bathroom would stay warm, but really that was the only item not perfect. Maybe if we had left the AC on it would have been better, either way it was a minimal problem. I read the "bad "reviews and they seem to be from years ago. Yes there is wicker furniture in the room, it is an island. We had WIFI in our room, 215. It was fast and connected promptly. There was a ice machine just steps from our door. It was great to get out of the shower and have a robe to wear. The staff was so very helpful, from recommending restaurants to booking a sunset cruise for us, top notch. Nice thick pool towels, all little touches that add up to a wonderful stay at Coco Reef.
Each morning we had coffee on the deck and watched the beauitful blue water roll in and out. I have told all my friends of this trip and posted many photos on FB. I think I might have some new arrivals for your resort :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in early May and next time would come in late May as it was a little too cool for swimming for us. But we loved the view of the beach and ocean from our balcony---hard to beat! The accommodations are quite funky. This resort has definitely seen it's better days. Run down BUT the bed was comfortable and everything worked fine. Just not the cleanest in the world with some mold on the bathroom grout and some hair still in the corners of the rooms. We're zealous about cleanliness. But the main thing was the beach, the view, and the proximity to the buses, groceries, and Hamilton. And it was really nice to be a 5 minute walk from the Bermuda College cafeteria run by Buzz (which also has a place on Front St. In Hamilton) as they served Starbucks coffee and decent food for the best prices on the Island. Nice to mingle a bit with the local College kids too. Great to be next to the Elbow Beach Resort since their Cafe Lido restaurant was superb and just a 2 minute walk down the beach. You can't be resort snobs if you're going to stay here as it, again, is a little funky but if you want a great beach and location at a great price for Bermuda then we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This resort is perfect especially for first time visitors due to its location. Centrally located between major tourist attractions nothing is too far away. A bus stop is at the entrance to the resort and hotel staff will gladly arrange taxi's or pick up and delivery if you want to rent a scooter. Service was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, with a fridge, and most have excellent views of the ocean. The beach is quiet with a couple of small reefs to explore off shore so take your snorkeling gear. Free internet is available in the lobby. There is also a grocery store within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I visited Coco Reef April 10-17, 2012. We got a great deal via Hotwire due to going in the off season. The main lobby, restaurant, and bar are in a large, beautiful building. They have a lovely pool with a fountain right outside of this building with a great view of the ocean. There is a computer room in the main building with brochures, two computers, books, and games for guests to use. In the lobby, there is a very small shop with a few essentials available for sale during limited hours. However, a short walk or scooter ride down the road is a grocery store that will have every thing you need. NOTE: There is a discount for using cash (US or Bermuda money) at grocery stores and they are open until 10pm. Make sure to tip your bagger with your change or a dollar or more if you have several bags.

The rooms are in 4 separate buildings; all with ocean views. On Thursday, we spoke to the gentleman running the front desk and asked when the hotel gets busy. He laughed and responded, "We are are 92% today and tomorrow we will be at 100% full." We couldn't believe it! Occassionally, we would pass by other guests, but we felt so alone.

Each room has a sliding glass door that leads right outside to a patio on the ground floor, and a balcony if on the second floor. We had a first floor room in the 100 building and loved being able to walk right out onto the beach. We both enjoy the sound of the ocean so we left our door open the first night. No one bothered us except for the cats. I don't think any of them came into the room, but after hearing them yowling, we kept the door closed the following nights. Each building has an ice machine and soda machine at the end.

The decor is a bit dated, but the room was very comfortable. King-size bed, ample closet and drawer space, mini fridge, coffee pot, safe, shower-tub, sofa, coffee table, and TV. We had trouble with our tub drain running very slowly. One call to the front desk and someone arrived within the hour and fixed it. Housekeeping did a fine job with daily service.

My husband and I each rented a scooter for the duration of our stay. I would highly recommend this way to see the island. It's less expensive then taxi rides, and more convienent than the bus. We went to the front desk to inquire about scooters and found out they have a relationship with Oleander Rentals. After a phone call and literally only a 5-minute wait, we climbed into the Oleander pick up van and were on our way to the their shop.

We decided to have lunch one day at the hotel restaurant. Since it was off-season, they had closed a bit early. However, one of the staff told us about the cafeteria at the college of Bermuda which is a short walk from the hotel. She escorted us all the way to the door of the cafeteria. What a wonderfully helpful woman and a great find! The cafeteria's hours are 8am- 8pm and serve a good variety of foods to everyone, not just students. What's even better, there's no 15-17% gratuity added on. We both had lunch for a little over $20 and could have done with less. The chicken strips and fries meal is enough for 2.

The grounds of the entire complex are beautiful. Hibiscus hedges and palm trees are everywhere and are well kept. The buildings are well maintained and clean. We ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant once. It was good, but nothing really special. The view was wonderful, service was great, but the food was just ok. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Whenever we needed a restaurant recommendation or any other information, they had many suggestions and are very knowledgable.

We came home from this vacation in better shape then we left. There is a very steep hill from the lower rooms up to the main lobby. It is walkable, but not with luggage. No problem there -- the staff was always willing to take us up or down in their golf carts with luggage, packages, and even when we were just too tired.

Coco Reef has a nice beach and a great central location to start your Bermuda vacation. I would definitely stay here again. They are starting to become known as the discount hotel, which is not a bad thing in my opinion. They have everything you need, but are mostly focused on just a being a comfortable room. There are plenty of good restaurants and other points of interest on the island. Seabreezes at Elbow Beach serves good tapas at reasonable prices and easy to get to from our room -- just a short walk down the beach. Go for dinner and watch the kite surfers while you eat.

NOTES:
Upper Crust's pizza is horrible! Minimum pizza order is $15. Anything else, the minimum is $100. Pizza House has good pizza, but doesn't deliver to Coco Reef.

Sunday Brunch at the Fairmont Hamilton Princess was delicious! There offer 3 different tiers. We did the top tier - $75 for 2 people, tip included. Well worth it. High quality and huge variety of foods with a beautiful view of The Great Sound.

Get your 10% off coupon to Onion Jack's from the hotel computer room and visit their shop in Hamilton. Great t-shirt and souvenir shopping.

Room Tip: We had room 104 which is further away from the main hotel. I liked this room as we had very few peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is slightly south/southwest of Hamilton, near the middle of the island. Very convenient location. We scootered around the island from there. I paid $179/night in mid April. A very good price for Bermuda! I asked for building 100 or 200 as it was 50 yards from the beach. Got a second floor room. Able to sleep with the sliding glass door opened, listening to the waves at night. Great beachfront view. Front desk was extremely friendly. Arranged whale watching trip and scooter rental for us. Room was very clean. Mattress was as good as any Ritz Carlton! Other reviewers mentioned outdated decor. I thought decor was just fine. Floral pattern. Pastel. Would definitely stay there again on my next trip back to Bermuda.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderful. Beach front room was wonderful. Staff was very helpful and wonderful. They went out of the way to make sure we had everything we needed. Food in the restaurant was tasty and pleasing. Its also right next to a local restaurant that is wonderful. Someone on staff even gave us a lift when they saw us walking in the rain back to the resort. Its next to a bus stop which will take you into town.

Room Tip: ROOM 108 Beach Front View of Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Reef Resort Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Reef Resort Bermuda

Address: 3 Stonington Circle, South Shore Road, PG 04, Bermuda (Formerly Stonington Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Reef Resort Bermuda 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Beachfront Hotel located on Bermuda's magnificent South Shore, just steps from the beautiful pink sand beach and only 10 minutes from Hamilton.Coco Reef "Bermuda's Best Beach Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coco Reef Resort Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Hotel Paget
Coco Reef Hotel Bermuda
Coco Reef Paget
Coco Reef Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Reef Resort Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.