We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get oriented to Bermuda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Kettle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salt Kettle House
Save
You added Salt Kettle House to your Saves list
10 Salt Kettle Road, PG 01, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Paget Parish B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to get oriented to Bermuda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A really nice place with a lot of recurring guests, who, along with Hazel's friendly family and staff, give you lots of advice for things to see in Bermuda and how to get around. This is a perfect spot to begin your Bermuda holiday. They were all really incredibly helpful, we even got a lift to the supermarket and back shortly after our arrival.

A ferry stop is right nearby and the public transport system in Bermuda is excellent. We were very fortunate that departing guests gave us their un-used bus & ferry passes.

Breakfasts are very good.

Stayed at Pinpoint B, which does not have a fireplace (useful in Winter!) but DID have a small kitchenette, microwave, and a table outside under a cover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
36
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stow, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've been traveling to Bermuda for 35 years (once every 5 years) since our honeymoon there, and cannot conceive of staying anywhere other than Salt Kettle House. We try to book one of the freestanding cottages (Pinpont A or Pinpoint B), which have their own sitting area, fireplace, kitchenette (with fridge and microwave), bath, and sliding doors leading to a patio overlooking the water and with the lights of Hamilton harbor sparkling at night. There is also a lawn with chairs, hammock, and resident ducks. It's now run by Hazel's children, and the staff are friendly and accomodating. -- for instance, you will have plenty of help if you want to shop for groceries, buy a bottle of wine, of choose the perfect place for a special dinner. We always rent a two-person scooter, and love this way of getting around the island, but the House is just steps away from a ferry stop. They will arrange for you to be collected and returned to the airport by a taxi that will meet you, and you can stop off to rent your scooter while the taxi continues to Salt Kettle to drop off your luggage. You can have breakfast at your own table (again, overlooking the lawn and water), but we enjoy eating family-style and always like the other guests we meet there. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We like Pinpoint A and Pinpoint B, which are set apart from the main house and feel very private, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Salt Kettle House is a nice place with personal touch. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The rooms are cozy but a bit old. You have the possibility to use the kitchen to prepare a meal.Hazel, the owner, is very friendly. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We enjoyed pleasant accomodations and a helpful, attentive staff at Salt Kettle House. You can swim right off the property while enjoying views of Hamilton and the sunset accross the harbour. Flowers and relaxation abound. We will gladly visit again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Like everyone else says, the Salt Kettle House is wonderful. Hazel, her family, and everyone there is extremely friendly; an attitude that spills over to the other guests, all of whom were repeat visitors. I am very glad that we decided to start our trip at the Salt Kettle House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Although my wife had been to Bermuda 35 years ago I had never been despite bugging her to take me. When the opportunity came, we did the requisite research of the Island, its flavour(s) and places to stay. We DO NOT DO Hotels!!
No matter the number of times we looked on sites, including our fall back of Trip Advisor, we kept coming back to Salt Kettle House. We made arrangements, through Lisa, who is Dear Hazel's right hand in the office. We arranged 6 nights in the "Apartment" which is a separate accommodation with a 3 piece, a full kitchen with a real fridge, sitting room looking out to the City of Hamilton across the bay and comfy Queen Bed. The Apartment has its own tiled veranda over the Salt Kettle ( which is a small bay which the House backs on and was where privateers landed their booty to avoid the tax man in the 1800s!).
Hazel is a gem. Every morning she greets the guests, asks what you did the day before, your plans for today and offers recommendations. At 83, she knows, and is known, by everyone on the island!
Son, John, is the right hand to his mom, and cannot do enough to ensure all is to your liking.
We found the full breakfasts to be more than enough to carry us until time for a glass...and a snack mid afternoon. The kitchen was handy for preparing meals, or the wonderful takeaways available from the "Market Grocery' stores in Hamilton City.
The ferry (Salt Kettle ferry stop) is 3 minutes away and it goes directly to Hamilton,. Another 5 minutes gets you to the Bus Depot where any bus, to anywhere on the island can be found. Individual fares are pricey, but a must is to purchase the pass (at the Hamilton Ferry Terminal) which will get you all busses and ferries (BE SURE TO ASK FOR THE "ALL FERRY AND BUS" pass). We bought the week pass, senior rate, for $49...
You must STOP at the tourist information office right by the Ferry Terminal in Hamilton and speak to Alison Overbridge. We did, and she gave us everything we needed to know, to go to, and all were great!!
Busses and walking are the best option. The roads are SOO narrow and the traffic is a challenge..No one we met who lived there suggested an of-islander hire a scooter! Take the Bus!
Remember, stops are marked by a coloured post..Blue away and Pink back toward Hamilton.
Consider the Botanical Gardens, the Aquarium (if you go here, have lunch at "Rustico",( just across the bridge from the Aquarium in Flatt's Inlet Hazel recommended it, and it was right!) Busses both directions stop right near by. Somerset town and the Docklands with its Commissioner's house (and mural..a must) are but a few of what can be seen. Don't forget St. Davids/ St. Georges and Hamilton City with its parks, galleries and museum and Fort Hamilton.
Do fit in a Glass Bottom Boat tour with "Captain Tony on his Coral Reefer". (No other!) It's small size means everyone has a place, all the time, over the reef! Tony is a marine Biologist and life long Bermudian. His tours are extremely informative. A must. We had 10 guest join us from Salt Kettle and everyone said it was the highlight of their trip! And He picked us up from the Salt Kettle Ferry dock!

Over all, we stayed 6 nights, but could/should have added two more.
A wonderful stay, met some very nice folks, with whom we remain in contact, and had not one complaint. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We recently stayed here for a week. Hazel and her family are extremely hospitable! The staff is very nice. However, based on the previous reviews and Frommer's recommendations (Frommer highly recommended this guest house), I was expecting a beautiful boutique bed and breakfast (like the ones you find here in New York, out in the Hamptons or North Fork), which it was not. It's a quaint, family run bed and breakfast. Clean and charming. The property is right on the harbor - but it's not really a beach. Also, the included breakfast is very simple, consisting of eggs, toast, pancakes or cereal. The eggs and pancakes were often burnt. The poached eggs resembled more hard boiled eggs. I guess you get good value for your money, as the property is relatively inexpensive for Bermuda standards.

TRANSPORTATION/ACCESSIBILITY TO SOUTH SHORE BEACHES
The Salt Kettle ferry to Hamilton doesn't run as often anymore, especially during the weekends or holidays. The buses don't really stop nearby, and you would have to go back to Hamilton then take a bus from Hamilton to get to the South Shore beaches (or take a cab or scooter), even though Paget is just across from the South Shore beaches. Buses go from the east to west end of the island, not really north and south. Paget is also residential, which makes it great and quiet, but far from restuarants and a little out of the way from beaches. We cooked most nights, but during the nights we decided to eat out, we took a cab since we weren't comfortable driving the scooter at night.

OVERALL
It was a good experience. I felt safe and relaxed. Hazel, her family and staff were very accomodating and hospitable! I am glad I went, but I probably won't return - this is partly because of my general sentiment about Bermuda. I think Bermuda's a great place, but I won't return anytime soon. I feel like there are more beautiful islands/places to see and experience.

Room Tip: Get one of the ocean front cottages. Worth $10/person more, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salt Kettle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Kettle House

Address: 10 Salt Kettle Road, PG 01, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Salt Kettle House Hotel Paget
Salt Kettle House Bermuda/Paget Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Kettle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.