We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay. Charming.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Kettle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paget Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salt Kettle House
10 Salt Kettle Road, PG 01, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay. Charming.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We recently stayed here for a week. Hazel and her family are extremely hospitable! The staff is very nice. However, based on the previous reviews and Frommer's recommendations (Frommer highly recommended this guest house), I was expecting a beautiful boutique bed and breakfast (like the ones you find here in New York, out in the Hamptons or North Fork), which it was not. It's a quaint, family run bed and breakfast. Clean and charming. The property is right on the harbor - but it's not really a beach. Also, the included breakfast is very simple, consisting of eggs, toast, pancakes or cereal. The eggs and pancakes were often burnt. The poached eggs resembled more hard boiled eggs. I guess you get good value for your money, as the property is relatively inexpensive for Bermuda standards.

TRANSPORTATION/ACCESSIBILITY TO SOUTH SHORE BEACHES
The Salt Kettle ferry to Hamilton doesn't run as often anymore, especially during the weekends or holidays. The buses don't really stop nearby, and you would have to go back to Hamilton then take a bus from Hamilton to get to the South Shore beaches (or take a cab or scooter), even though Paget is just across from the South Shore beaches. Buses go from the east to west end of the island, not really north and south. Paget is also residential, which makes it great and quiet, but far from restuarants and a little out of the way from beaches. We cooked most nights, but during the nights we decided to eat out, we took a cab since we weren't comfortable driving the scooter at night.

OVERALL
It was a good experience. I felt safe and relaxed. Hazel, her family and staff were very accomodating and hospitable! I am glad I went, but I probably won't return - this is partly because of my general sentiment about Bermuda. I think Bermuda's a great place, but I won't return anytime soon. I feel like there are more beautiful islands/places to see and experience.

Room Tip: Get one of the ocean front cottages. Worth $10/person more, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coastal Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Salt Kettle House for eight nights the first week of July 2011. We booked our accommodations based on the recommendations we found here on Tripadvisor. As others have already written, I highly recommend the Salt Kettle House at the risk of never being able to book a room there in the future because of its increasing popularity. We were met at the airport and driven to Salt Kettle which enjoys harbor frontage across from Bermuda's capital Hamilton. The owner Hazel met us at registration and introduced us to her son John who was taking over the management of this family business. We had the use of a large air-conditioned double with private bath at the back of the house. We paid $85 per night per person. At our first Salt Kettle breakfast my wife and I were amazed at the large number of house guests we met with major multiple return visits here. One personable New Jersey couple have visited at this house for more than 25 consecutive years! This was more the rule than the exception with everyone we met at breakfast. We had no unfavorable experiences here and would book here again. We recommend the purchase of the Bermuda unlimited public transportation pass which you can purchase at the Hamilton ferry ticket office. Unlimited travel on all Bermuda public transportation (bus and ferry) for a week for about $45 per person. Bermuda motorbike rentals are somewhat pricey at about $60 per day. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Salt Kettle House and are counting the days until our return there next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeonian Springs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Salt Kettle House was recommended to us by an administrative assistant at the Bermuda Institute off Ocean Sciences where our daughter had a summer internship. From tripadvisor, we knew that it had a eccentric reputation, which we found well-founded. The first people we met were a couple that had been visiting for 25 years. The second were to be married the next day in the garden; for him the first trip to Bermuda; for her, the first in 23 years!

My daughter loved the Tower Room; and bonded with Hazel, who regaled us stories of living in Africa for 30 years before retiring to Bermuda and opening this bed & breakfast. Now her sons and daughters visit frequently to help out.

We traveled mostly by water ferry (stop is 3 minute's from Hazel's) and bus, but all the taxi drivers knew the way and told us who among their relatives had worked for Hazel. (The "regulars" all rented motor scooters.)

Bermuda is just an easy 1-1/2 flight from the east coast , and so an economic alternative to the east coast beaches with more moderate weather. My wife plans on returning for a relaxing weekend with girlfriends.

My daughter is thinking more in terms of destination weddings among the luxurious gardens.

Room Tip: Our daughter loved the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

First of all, Hazel, her family, and staff are worth the stay. They are extremely hospitable and kind hosts. Salt Kettle House had an amazing breakfast, nice guest accommodations, and the most relaxing hammock with a view of the harbor and Hamilton. We ended every night with a ferry ride back home, cooked dinner in our room, and ate on our porch. We would make dark n' stormys, turn on some jazz music, and enjoy the view.

When we make it back to Bermuda, we'll stay here. Hands down.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

10 days AT Salt Kettle was not enough for the people you meet both owners staff and guests. Hazel Lowe is the sweetest lady that when you meet her at introduction you just want to hug her and I did. I loved everything about the place the veiws both front and back the rooms stayed in starboard with my mom and sister plenty of room clean and bright. Great breakfast with great people every morning close to the ferry (2 min). I can tell you I will stay here many more times on my future vacations to Bermuda. Honestly we had the perfect time at the perfect place. Thank you hazel for everything it was great to meet you and i will see you next year.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I have had the great pleasure of staying at Hazel Lowe's Salt Kettle House for many years. It's in a beautiful part of the harbor side of the island facing an inlet in both back and front, and close to transportation to town, the beaches and beyond. Your stay will include a delicious home cooked breakfast. It's comfortable for the person who wants something more like home as opposed to a high maintenance luxury stay, for a more reasonable price. Truly like coming home. Over the years I have met many lovely people, and have seen how the homey ambiance, especially at the communal breakfast in the sitting room, creates a comfortable atmosphere for people from all walks of life. I always look forward to my stays at Salt Kettle, and will continue to do so!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My wife and l spent two wonderful weeks at Salt Kettle from March 19 to April 2. The weather was wonderful by Canadian Nova Scotia standards. ( 20-24 ) during the day and dipping down to 16c in the evening. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The kitchen/housekeeping staff were superb. We liked the fresh flowers in our Pinpoint A cottage. John Lowe rushing too and fro setting wood for a nice cheery fire to take the chill off in the evening. John and Hazel took us to the store to purchase our groceries. All the people we met were first class. We had many a laugh and an occasional Dark and Stormy. It was a very great and positive experience. Gordon and Jill Holstead. Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salt Kettle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Kettle House

Also Known As:
Salt Kettle House Hotel Paget
Salt Kettle House Hotel
Salt Kettle House Bermuda
Salt Kettle House Bermuda/Paget Parish
Address: 10 Salt Kettle Road, PG 01, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Kettle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Salt Kettle House to your Saves list