We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but depends on which room you stay in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice enough but depends on which room you stay in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here on business with my husband.
We stayed in one of the cottages and we loved our room.
It was large and spacious, the bathroom was wonderful and it was a short walk from the beach although we only had a garden view.
The swimming pool is too small for a hotel of this size.
We used the gym and it was an alrite size and they give free apples and water which was nice but expected from a 5 star hotel.

One morning we ordered room service breakfast and it never arrived and we had to call them again. I was running late for work and needless to say I complained and did not pay for it!

On our last night, the cottages we were staying in was fully booked so we had to move to another room right besides the swimming pool area.
What a disappoint this room was. I can see why there are many negative rooms as these rooms were nasty and not the sort you associate with mandarin oriental! On top of it, the room lock didn't work so could open from the outside! We checked out after being told no rooms were available and stayed at the fairmont Southampton instead.

The main building is eerily quiet and dark in the evenings although looks very elegant and beautiful, it's a shame they have closed off the main area for some years now.

Overall, nice enough but totally depends on where you stay, whether it's a cottage/villa or a room besides the swimming pool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    200
    99
    78
    33
See reviews for
171
298
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from staying with three friends at this lovely place. After reading some previous reviews, I was somewhat concerned but we had a wonderful experience. We had two beautiful rooms in the bougainvillea cottages with a wonderful view of the beach. The rooms were very clean and the beds were super comfortable which is a big plus and the rooms had a very nice tropical feel to them, tile floors with no dirty carpet as you find in some hotels! Our rooms were near the restaurants but noise was not a problem. However, we were not there in the height of the season! The hotel is not a large convention hotel now but that was favorable to us without all of that hustle and bustle! The grounds are pretty and lush. We used the restaurant for breakfast, the food was very good. The staff all over the hotel property could not have been more pleasant and accommodating! Our experience there was excellent. The only negative was that we could not stay longer!! Would recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4tonyg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is an old world hotel with that great level of service and care you expect from an elegant setting. Yes the main hotel is empty but the near beach cabanas are excellent. Try to book down near the water and in the morning the views are amazing. Lovely restaurants on site (try the Parakeet Diner just next door for a local breakfast of fish cake). Talk to the hotel guest services before your stay and they will get you all squared away for dinners and a nice welcome setting. Just grab your goggles and swim 50 feet to a spectacular reef filled with fish and wildlife.

Room Tip: As close to the water as you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First of all, upon us booking the hotel, we were frankly scared at all of the negative reviews. I dont know what we were expecting, but after we arrived at the hotel and spent 10 days there, we think all of the reviewers on here are either expecting super high class royalty service or have nothing better to do than give this wonderful property a poor review. Granted, I do not know what a "Mandarin" experience is, since this is our first stay at a property managed by Mandarin (not owned, just managed), but we are well traveled and have stayed at many upscale resorts and hotels. We were simply floored at how incredible our stay was.

The main building has a beautiful remodeled lobby, with gorgeous fresh flowers and tasteful decor, there is a room with a pool table and many places to quietly lounge. The main building is closed for the most part but we didnt get the feeling of abandonment or anything of the sort. Instead we felt it was quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Perfect for what we were looking for. If you want the constant buzz and traffic of a busy hotel, go elsewhere. But if you want the perfect relaxing, quiet and pampering location, look no further. The amenities were a large in ground pool (no hot tub which seemed weird to us), tennis courts, fitness center, cycle shop, private beach, restaurants, etc. No gift shop except a couple of items to buy at the beach counter.

The staff is amazing. From the front desk to the back office, to the bell man, concierge, housekeeping, in room dining, on site restaurants, etc etc, everyone was so friendly, very attentive, extremely efficient and remembered our names for the duration of our stay. Complimentary shuttle service was fast and easy since the property is large with lots of hills, to walk around was fine, but if you didnt want to, a shuttle was at your beck and call.

The rooms we stayed in were premier ocean view cottages, and the views were GORGEOUS. Grounds were beautifully manicured, clean, fresh and well attended to. A couple of coats of paint on the buildings would have brightened up the exterior just a bit, but it certainly was not an eyesore and didnt impact our trip in any way like some of the reviewers here say (really, a building needing a fresh coat of paint really ruins your trip? please, its still a beautiful place). If I didnt read the reviews on here, I honestly wouldnt have noticed.

The cottages were beautifully decorated, modern amenities and the rooms felt spacious, airy, fresh and modern. The floors were clean and marble-like. The bathrooms were marble tiled with a jacuzzi soaking tub, a separate walk in shower, kohler sinks/toilets, beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, flat screen tv's, Nespresso machine, mini-bar/refrigerator, work desk, couches, adequate cabinet/drawer space and closets, and impeccable deck/patio views. The building is VERY well constructed as well (which is a HUGE deal to us), as you barely heard the neighbors except when they slammed their door shut. The insulation is wonderful, we are sticklers for those multi story hotels where you hear footsteps and housekeeping and walls are paper thin - we hate that. Not here. We all slept soundly and slept in every day we were there.

We had the luxury of trying every restaurant on site, including in-room dining. We tried Mickey's for both lunch and dinner, tried Seabreeze for tapas, sushi and breakfast, tried Lido for dinner and dessert, even tried beach, private room dining and in room dining. The 4-course dinner on the beach was good, in-room dining was fine, Mickey's lunch and dinner was great, but Seabreeze and Lido and private dining was AMAZING. Sushi? OUT OF THIS WORLD. I dont know if I got the Elbow roll or the Bermuda roll, but I have been craving it ever since we ate there. The rib-eye from Lido was the best I've ever had. The cocktails were excellent, and yes of course, everything is expensive, but we indulged and loved every minute of it. The restaurant staff is amazing, we couldnt have been happier. We spent so much money tipping everyone extra because of how incredible they were.

The beach was perfect. The on-site activities provide snorkeling flippers and masks, chair covers, towels, sand toys for kids, kayaks, etc, etc. Outdoor showers, dining/drink service, umbrellas, we LOVED that the main building was closed actually as we truly felt like the beach was all ours. It would have felt like a totally different chaotic resort if 100-200+ more people were running around there.

The spa was beautiful and the Mandarin signature massage was the best we've had in our lives. We are members of a local massage chain in the states and get massages every month. After our massage at the resort, we are now debating cancelling our membership and saving our $ to get the same massage at the Mandarin near us instead.

The fitness center is small, and the pool is large, and open 24 hours a day. We tried both and were happy with them. We didnt try the snack bar by the pool though, and not sure if it was open either, as we spent most of our time at the beach instead. Beach during the day, pool at night :)

We rented scooters and bicycles at the cycle shop on site. Every person there was very friendly and a great scooter teacher to make our stay safe and convenient transporting ourselves around the island.

The cons: The price. Why is the room so much money? We paid $600-700/night, and really it would be more appropriate to be $300-500. I think more guests would visit and not be so swayed at the quality/price or whatever if it wasn't so much money? Maybe they were expecting much more? For example, there isnt a golf course like Tuckers Point and it was the end of the season, the price should have been much lower. Perhaps it would be more popular if it were more affordable. Other cons are so petty and hardly a cause for complaint. For example: there should be more than two little waste baskets in the guest rooms, there should be a larger place to set aside toiletries near the shower, and there probably should be some kind of continental breakfast every morning for the price you pay for the rooms. There should also be a whirlpool hot tub at the pool area. Such little complaints, but hey... figured I'd list our cons.

I am raving about this place because I want to stress that the negative reviews on here must be from certain "types" of people. Perhaps from people who are very well versed in Mandarin properties, or people who expected royal service, or I'm not sure... but as two well-off people from Boston who wanted the ultimate luxury vacation getaway with a high quality resort, pampering service, outstanding food, clean, luxurious, modern and fresh accommodations and a gorgeous, quiet and relaxing beach, we got everything we wanted and more. We are coming back next year and every year after that for sure - as long as we can afford it!

Thank you to everyone at Elbow Beach Resort for making our stay worth it! See you next year!

Room Tip: The Caprice, Bougainvillea, Alamanda, Bird of Paradise and Poiciana are the cottages closest to and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you are looking for the 'Old British Bermudian experience' you will be sadly disappointed.This once glorious establishment is now a wasteland due to the gross mismanagement of Mandarin Oriental.
This was our 5th stay at Elbow Beach and each and every time the hotel, service and amenities were exemplary.The once elegant and thriving lobby with the beautiful wood paneled bar, High tea on the terraces, the cedar paneled gift shop and clothing stores are all gone. The 3 restaurants (none of which are staffed by the previously gracious and professional Bermudians) are absurdly priced and service is overbearing.
My husband, when inquiring about high tea was curtly rebuked by a surly desk clerk who exclaimed "you must have been here 10 years ago!"
The toiletries were far less than luxurious and of the standard one would expect when paying $750. night.
Except for the gracious and friendly Bermudian bell staff and the location, we would never recommend Elbow Beach and will be looking for another hotel for our future visits to Bermuda.
Cristina A

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Cristina A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Elbow Beach.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our Bellman. We are proud of our hotel services and take great care in the selection and training of our employees. Your favourable comments will certainly be shared with them and I know that they will be very pleased to have been recognised.

Our sincere apologies that you experienced several areas where we fell short on delivery of amenities. There have been a variety of changes around the resort, many of which have been made to enhance our guest’s experience, and we are very sorry to hear that this was not the case for you. We are currently reviewing all areas with our senior management team and will hopefully be able to rectify some of the items you have highlighted.

Thank you again for your feedback. Such constructive comments are excellent ways for us to either reward our team for a job well done or to use as tools in our quest for continual improvement.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I do not typically write reviews when we travel, however I felt compelled to do so after returning from our stay in Bermuda.
We had researched out several places to stay, and as experienced travelers, we are usually pretty satisfied with our selections. When deciding to celebrate out anniversary in Bermuda we had narrowed our selections to Rosewood Tucker' Point, and Elbow Beach Resort. Our first choice was the Rosewood property however they were booked for the weekend, so we went with option two, Elbow Beach Resort. Feeling confident as it is advertised as a Mandarin Oriental property, we thought it would be amazing as we have become used to their fabulous properties and excellent service. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to see the condition of the property. Seemed kind of run down, and there were no shops or even a store to pick up incidentals. We stayed in one of the Bourgonveillia (sp?) suites. The location was amazing as it was right across from beach and restaurants, but that is about all I can say that is positive. In the room we were greeted with a bottle of wine and some chocolate covered strawberries, a nice touch for sure. We drank the wine and at the strawberries, however housekeeping never removed the dirty dishes until the third day, and the wine bottle until the fourth day. The drapes had holes in them, the bathrobes had holes in them and there were spots on the floor that looked liked something had been spilled but not cleaned. We also experienced a rather rude server in the Sea Breeze restaurant when we went for breakfast the first morning. We had ordered a fruit plate and two orders of eggs benedict, asking for the fruit plate first. He brought the fruit plate and one order of eggs benedict, and when the fruit was gone, we waited for 20 minutes before anyone came to the table. We called another server over to ask for our egg order and still nothing. At this point my husband had already finished his and I was done waiting, so we called our server over and explained we did not want the order at this point and he said "I've already put it in", then basically argued with us and told us the kitchen was busy etc. We asked for the manager and explained that we wanted the fruit first, then both egg orders, and that we did not appreciate being talked to like that. He apologized and actually comped the entire breakfast, which was nice. The food is decent, and the bar staff at the Sea Breeze was great. The beach is beautiful, but without taking a taxi or bus into town, there is nothing here. Paying over $700/night, I expect more. I would consider this place if it were in the $300/night range, but I would not stay here again at those prices. The Mandarin Oriental name is much better than this place. We visited our friends who were staying at the Rosewood Tucker's Point and were so disappointed that we were not able to book there. The whole property was beautiful, clean and cheaper!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear jackie603,

Thank you for taking to the time to provide us with such valuable feedback on your stay.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our beach, location and bar colleagues at Sea Breeze Terrace. Our cottage guestrooms do allow for easy access to our beautiful beachfront and restaurants.

Elbow Beach has been managed by Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group since 2000 and is privately owned. We were very sorry to hear that the resort did not measure up to your expectations as a Mandarin Oriental property, and we take your comments very seriously.

Attention to detail is a hallmark of luxury service, and we're very sorry to hear that our Housekeeping service and amenities missed the mark on this throughout your stay. The service issues you have highlighted are currently being addressed with our team so that they can be resolved moving forward.

We were also sorry to hear about your breakfast service experience. We have reviewed all of your comments carefully with our Food and Beverage Team to make sure that these issues are rectified.

We take each of your comments to heart and appreciate you taking the time to provide such detailed feedback.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Do not be fooled into staying at this property because of the affiliation with Mandarin Oriental! It does NOT (in any way) live up to the standards of the name & we love Mandarin properties - that's why we choose this location. There was rotting wood, frayed & torn towels, mold in shower & no top sheet on bed!, in our room. The hotel lacks (even reasonable) service. We waited 2 hours for a shuttle from our room to the restaurant because of the pouring rain, then to have the restaurant personnel very rude - although the hotel then comp'd our dinner to make up for the inconvenience. Called the front desk & asked for ice to be delivered, waited an hour! Pool closed along with the main building is closed as well, no boutiques, etc! The list of problems we experienced goes on all the while paying $750.00 a night for this experience!!!!! This property is definitely not worth the price you'll pay!.... We moved to another hotel (1st time ever in our 27 year marriage & traveling of doing that) and the other property was incredible & we actually paid less $$$$, Traveler beware!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valerie M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Elbow Beach.

Our sincere apologies that there were many areas where we fell short on delivery of service and amenities. We would love to speak with you to get more detailed and specific feedback on your experience so that we can make improvements in the areas mentioned.

Having worked for Mandarin Oriental for close to 10 years I am aware of the standards you are expecting and we are training and working hard to bring up the consistency of delivery of our standards so that they are not just the best on the island – but meet the lofty standards of our sister hotels around the world.

We hope that you will contact us at ebbda-socialmedia@mohg.com so that we can further discuss the problem areas you encountered during your stay.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paget Parish
1.7 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,622 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.