We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandarin Oriental, it aint.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive 4th Night Free!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mandarin Oriental, it aint.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 9 days in September and not wishing to repeat what everyone else has said, it just isnt worth the money. The location (beach) is spectacular but the rest is overpriced and of average standard. To be honest I think the hotel reflects the general malaise on Bermuda. Prices are eye wateringly high and service not up to international standards, so it is not just the hotel. The staff all try hard, George at reception is a star but overall there are a lot of places in the world where you can achieve much better value for money and a much more enjoyable experience. We would not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear KillyQwertyuiop,

Thank you for taking to the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our beach and location. Thank you also for your kind words about our Bellman, George Jones. He is a star and works exceptionally hard to give our guests a great experience. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to him.

Elbow Beach has been managed by Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group since 2000 and is privately owned. We were very sorry to hear that the resort did not measure up to your expectations as a Mandarin Oriental property, and we take your comments very seriously.

Attention to detail is a hallmark of luxury service, and we're very sorry to hear that our service and facilities missed the mark on this throughout your stay.

We take each of your comments to heart and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback so that we can strive to make improvements.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    174
    89
    75
    31
See reviews for
144
244
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Last week we stayed 4 days at Elbow Beach hotel in the Bougainvillea. we enjoyed but the resort is not worth the cost. It is very very expensive for value it offers. The restaurants are costly and food was too heavy with butter, sauces and salt. The best experience was a pool, that has lovely swimming lanes and not crowded. the beach was good too but the surf was too heavy for any swimming. The main hotel, empty, gives a strange feeling. The staff was nice but not the tops for the prices. Would not repeat the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear K p,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Elbow Beach.

We appreciate your kind compliments about our beach and pool! We’re glad that our temperature-controlled pool provided a great option for swimming and relaxation.

We’re sorry to hear that overall the resort did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback on the food and beverage experience very seriously and are currently meeting with our team to discuss ways to make improvements.

The main hotel building still houses a number of wonderful amenities for our guests including the Lobby, temperature-controlled swimming pool, The Camp at Elbow Beach, The Spa at Elbow Beach, Poolside Spa Cabanas, The Library Recreation Lounge, fitness room, business centre and a variety of meeting space. So although we are not currently selling the guest room inventory in the main building, we are still taking extremely good care of it as it is home to so many of our amenities and holds such historical value for us.

Thank you again for taking the time to send us such valuable feedback.

Kind regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The reviews were so varied, and the negative reviews so disappointing that we almost changed hotels twice before coming to Bermuda. We are so glad that we didn't! The concierge reached out to us twice before our arival, and although he didnt provide the requested Diet Pepsi he did grant our room request

The staff is wonderful from the housekeepers to the bell men and bartenders. Everyone is so friendly and goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcomed. When I wore flip-flops to our scooter rental appointment, they had the bellman pick me up and take me to the room to change (and it wasn't along walk). We love our room in the Poinciana building where we are currently enjoying a glass of wine on the patio and listening to the band at the restaurant below us. I requested this building based on others reviews, it has a great ocean view and easy walk to the beach and restaurants.

We don't really understand all the complaints about the rooms in the main building. The lobby is lovely, And we might not have noticed that the main building is not fully used if everyone doing reviews hadn't made such a big deal of it. You can only take one room at the hotel, rght? Why do they all need to be available?

At this point we are only two nights into our trip, but had to write a quick review in case there are others struggling with a decision about Elbow Beach like we were. Our two cents, it's a lovely resort, gorgeous grounds, well appointed spacious oceanfront rooms and a stellar staff. Weare really enjoying our stay and would be thrilled to come again!

Room Tip: We followed the advice of other reviewers and asked for Poinciana or Alamanda, and our request was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sailsundown,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review about our resort!

We truly appreciate your kind compliments about our colleagues. We are proud of our hotel services and take great care in the selection and training of our employees. Your favourable comments will certainly be shared with them and we know that they will be very pleased to have been recognised.

We’re so pleased to hear that you loved your guestroom and that the view and proximity to the beach exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another tranquil getaway in our Poinciana Cottage block.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing! Room wasn't serviced day 2- bug in towel when I went to use it- generally not a 4 or 5 star experience especially for $750 per night. Room was tired - bathroom just ok. Restaurant and housekeeping staff were very nice but main desk hotel staff were very rude and unhelpful. Would not stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Kmjohanson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Elbow Beach.

We’re so pleased to hear that you loved the views at Elbow Beach and that our Restaurant and Housekeeping colleagues were friendly and kind.

Our apologies for the less than satisfactory service you received from our Housekeeping Department. We have taken up the issues with our Housekeeping Manager and he has assured me that he has debriefed his team to avoid any future recurrence and that extra resources are already being applied to the service levels. Such a lack of service is certainly not their usual standard and they extend their apologies to you as well.

We are also sorry to hear that you experienced some challenges with our Front Desk colleagues. We are discussing the standard of service you received with the department heads and will be certain to rectify these issues immediately.

We thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at Elbow beach resort and having read some of the reviews on here I am not sure if it's referring to the same place. Check in was simple and effective, staff very knowledgeable and friendly, our cases were whisked away to our room . The room is very spacious, modern and very clean. Large T.v. and plenty of Mandarins toiletries, lots of pillows to suit whatever your preference is, coffee maker and coffee creamer (if I'm being really picky theycould be quicker replenishing them ) Patio with table and seating, lots of fluffy towels. Food in the Lido is fine dining at it's best and the staff are friendly and attentive.Breakfasts are wide in choice and plentiful...The beach is fantastic as are the beach staff with towels and lounger covers water and sun shades ...The bar prices are what you would expect from a hotel expensive ..The shuttle service if you need it is on time ..the garden rooms are pretty and quiet ..people have said that as the main building is no longer letting out rooms it's too quiet ..it seems good business sense to me when hotels are closing down on the island ..I would recommend this resort and am very pleased to have chosen it. I am hoping to let a late check out from the room as our pick up is not till 5.15 pm but will update this review at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear SableMable,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing comment about our resort!

We truly appreciate your kind compliments about the hotel and our colleagues. We are proud of our hotel services and take great care in the selection and training of our employees. Your favourable comments will certainly be shared with them and I know that they will be very pleased to have been recognised.

We’re so happy that you found your guestroom to be spacious and well-appointed. Thank you also for your kind words about our restaurant cuisine and colleagues. We’ll be certain to pass your compliments along to them.

We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and that the beach colleagues took great care of you and provided you with everything you needed to enjoy your time on our pink sands.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and daughter accompanied me to Bermuda and we look forward to going back soon. Part of the reason was we stayed at a lovely, beautiful hotel with accommodating, friendly staff. Our room was pleasant, easy to get to, and not far from the beach or the main hotel. Chickens and cats wondered aimlessly past our door every day, but that added to the experience. The beach was beautiful, quiet, and well-kept. The motor bike store on the property was outstanding. We went in August when it was pretty hot, so perhaps sometime in May or June would be even better. The food on the beach was good, the breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mdesmond,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback on your stay!

We're so pleased to hear that our colleagues took such wonderful care of you during your stay. Our colleagues are very eager to please and will be grateful for your kind words. Thank you also for your kind words about our beach and guestrooms.

We're also glad that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Mickey’s Beach Bistro and that our breakfast service started your day off right. We'll be certain to pass your compliments along to the chef and service staff.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent service you received from our on-property cycle shop, we’ll be certain to let them know that you had a wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Elbow Beach very soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very conflicted about our stay at Elbow Beach and have struggled to really come up with how we felt as there were so many ups and downs and good and bad.

Before we chose Elbow Beach we spent a lot of time trying to find a property to stay at on Bermuda. This was our first trip to Bermuda and wanted to choose a really nice property near or on the beach. We narrowed it down to two properties, Elbow Beach and Tuckers Point. We read tripadvisor and other sites and spent time trying to figure out what would be the better choice. We picked the wrong one.

First the good:

1. Staff was friendly and for the most part helpful. Though they didn't show up with the property shuttle on depature day to help with luggage.
2. Great Beach. If you LOVE the beach and that's the most important factor, hands down choose this place. Cleaned and "swept" every day, and great chairs, umbrella's and chair towels. We never had a hard time getting a spot and the chairs and umbrella's are all ready set up, no waiting for someone other then to grab a towel.
3. Good restaurants.
4. Room was clean . (We noted that others didn't like the rooms. As long as the room is clean and functional we generally are okay. However, we had other issues with room, see bad.

The BAD:
1. we paid a lot for a King Superior Ocean View. By no means was it really an ocean view. It was on the very top of the hill and we looked out more of the property then the ocean. BEWARE of this when booking a room, there really is no great ocean view as the hotel sits on a big hill. I complained enough and got a rate change. This was disappointing as we really enjoy sitting out, having some wine, and enjoying the view and sounds and smells of the ocean.
2. Don't pay for hotel transport. It's 2X the price of a taxi, but it is a taxi. You just don't have to wait for one! SCAM!
3. A 5 Star resort shouldn't run out of hot water during heavy shower times. We did every day.
4. Pool is to far from beach and isolated and very UPHILL from beach. We usually enjoy splitting time during the day between beach and pool. Not here.

Our overall opinion is that the hotel is not a 5 Star property. 3 stars at best. Over priced.
Bermuda as a hotel is over priced and not that great. A lot of what has been good and bad have been said in other recent reviews, but overall there are much better places to visit for better value.

Room Tip: Don't base it on the hotel site. There are very few true great ocean view rooms. Save money an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear smcptravels,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We appreciate your kind words on the beauty of our beach. We take great pride in the maintenance of this gem, and we’re glad that you enjoyed it during your stay. Thank you also for your compliments on our friendly colleagues and restaurants.

We’re sorry that the view from your guestroom did not meet your expectations. Our Premier Ocean and Garden View Rooms are located in a variety of cottages spread amongst the resorts 50 acres, and have either ocean views or garden views. For those wanting to be as close to the beachfront and ocean as possible, we recommend our Beachfront Lanai rooms. These are set directly above the beach.

We take your feedback on your experience very seriously and are currently meeting with our team to discuss ways to make improvements. We are sorry about the issue you had with the hot water and have spoken to our Engineering Department regarding this matter. The situation should have been resolved swiftly for you and we apologise that it wasn't.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with extremely detailed and useful feedback that we can use in our quest for continual improvement.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.