We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive 4th Night Free!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and daughter accompanied me to Bermuda and we look forward to going back soon. Part of the reason was we stayed at a lovely, beautiful hotel with accommodating, friendly staff. Our room was pleasant, easy to get to, and not far from the beach or the main hotel. Chickens and cats wondered aimlessly past our door every day, but that added to the experience. The beach was beautiful, quiet, and well-kept. The motor bike store on the property was outstanding. We went in August when it was pretty hot, so perhaps sometime in May or June would be even better. The food on the beach was good, the breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mdesmond,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback on your stay!

We're so pleased to hear that our colleagues took such wonderful care of you during your stay. Our colleagues are very eager to please and will be grateful for your kind words. Thank you also for your kind words about our beach and guestrooms.

We're also glad that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Mickey’s Beach Bistro and that our breakfast service started your day off right. We'll be certain to pass your compliments along to the chef and service staff.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent service you received from our on-property cycle shop, we’ll be certain to let them know that you had a wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Elbow Beach very soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    173
    89
    75
    31
See reviews for
144
242
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very conflicted about our stay at Elbow Beach and have struggled to really come up with how we felt as there were so many ups and downs and good and bad.

Before we chose Elbow Beach we spent a lot of time trying to find a property to stay at on Bermuda. This was our first trip to Bermuda and wanted to choose a really nice property near or on the beach. We narrowed it down to two properties, Elbow Beach and Tuckers Point. We read tripadvisor and other sites and spent time trying to figure out what would be the better choice. We picked the wrong one.

First the good:

1. Staff was friendly and for the most part helpful. Though they didn't show up with the property shuttle on depature day to help with luggage.
2. Great Beach. If you LOVE the beach and that's the most important factor, hands down choose this place. Cleaned and "swept" every day, and great chairs, umbrella's and chair towels. We never had a hard time getting a spot and the chairs and umbrella's are all ready set up, no waiting for someone other then to grab a towel.
3. Good restaurants.
4. Room was clean . (We noted that others didn't like the rooms. As long as the room is clean and functional we generally are okay. However, we had other issues with room, see bad.

The BAD:
1. we paid a lot for a King Superior Ocean View. By no means was it really an ocean view. It was on the very top of the hill and we looked out more of the property then the ocean. BEWARE of this when booking a room, there really is no great ocean view as the hotel sits on a big hill. I complained enough and got a rate change. This was disappointing as we really enjoy sitting out, having some wine, and enjoying the view and sounds and smells of the ocean.
2. Don't pay for hotel transport. It's 2X the price of a taxi, but it is a taxi. You just don't have to wait for one! SCAM!
3. A 5 Star resort shouldn't run out of hot water during heavy shower times. We did every day.
4. Pool is to far from beach and isolated and very UPHILL from beach. We usually enjoy splitting time during the day between beach and pool. Not here.

Our overall opinion is that the hotel is not a 5 Star property. 3 stars at best. Over priced.
Bermuda as a hotel is over priced and not that great. A lot of what has been good and bad have been said in other recent reviews, but overall there are much better places to visit for better value.

Room Tip: Don't base it on the hotel site. There are very few true great ocean view rooms. Save money an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear smcptravels,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We appreciate your kind words on the beauty of our beach. We take great pride in the maintenance of this gem, and we’re glad that you enjoyed it during your stay. Thank you also for your compliments on our friendly colleagues and restaurants.

We’re sorry that the view from your guestroom did not meet your expectations. Our Premier Ocean and Garden View Rooms are located in a variety of cottages spread amongst the resorts 50 acres, and have either ocean views or garden views. For those wanting to be as close to the beachfront and ocean as possible, we recommend our Beachfront Lanai rooms. These are set directly above the beach.

We take your feedback on your experience very seriously and are currently meeting with our team to discuss ways to make improvements. We are sorry about the issue you had with the hot water and have spoken to our Engineering Department regarding this matter. The situation should have been resolved swiftly for you and we apologise that it wasn't.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with extremely detailed and useful feedback that we can use in our quest for continual improvement.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We paid a lot for this stay and overall we had a blast. We had a short window of just 2 nights to enjoy ourselves and so we splurged on Elbow beach at over $600/night. The food and drinks were very expensive as expected. The food on the beach was very good though. We had excellent service at breakfast and dinner but just ok service at lunch and when getting our towels and beach chairs. Nothing terrible but not as 5 star as the doorman, the bellman, and the friendly groundskeepers. the beach bathrooms were not as spotless as they could have been but our guest room was very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was luxurious and tv watching was pleasant for something outside the US with lots of channels (for the grand total of 45 minutes that we watched tv).

The automated systems could use a little work as they asked us before our stay what kind of amenities to stock the mini bar with. But, the form was not an online form, they wanted you to print it out and fill it in by hand. i got some of the stuff i asked for but not all of it. Once again, good service but not really 5 star on that one. i did receive a survey online. The GM responded personally to my comments and that was an excellent sign.


THE BOTTOM LINE: beautiful, beautiful, beautiful beach. i would definitely go back. a $14 Corona is worth it when you are basking in the sun and someone delivers it on a tray with a big smile. the food was unexpectedly good and the vibe was relaxed but upscale. the setting is spectacular and the rooms are comfortable, clean and upscale although not remarkable. Many of the staff are friendly and provide outstanding service while some provide good if unremarkable service. The management seems to care so the small dead spots in service and amenity will probably get taken care of in short order.

Room Tip: the main building is mostly if not all closed up. the small buildings going down the hill each have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear kahunacarp,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We appreciate your kind compliments about our beautiful beach and the resort setting! It is gorgeous and the pink sands do beckon to you. We’re glad that you found your guestroom to be well-appointed and that you enjoyed the resorts food and beverage options. Thank you also for your kind words about our colleagues. We’re so happy that their friendly smiles and attentiveness enhanced your stay.

We have discussed your comments regarding the mini bar order form with the relevant department head and will be looking to make some changes to improve the process. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such constructive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We rented a cabana for the day at the Elbow Beach Resort. This allowed us to enjoy the pool and take a shower after an incredible day at the beach. The cabana was great; it provided everything that we needed. The beach was absolutely stunning. Pristine water and sand, no rocks, and clear blue water. The resort provided the perfect day for us, although I'm not sure that I would actually stay here. The hotel itself is vacant, and the rooms for guests are villas dotted along the property. We never actually saw one, although people we spoke to staying there seemed to enjoy them. The restaurant on the beach was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear kmiller123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review on your recent visit to Elbow Beach.

We’re so pleased to hear that you thought the beach was “stunning” and that your Poolside Spa Cabana was furnished with everything you required to enjoy your day. Thank you also for your kind words about our restaurant Mickey’s, Bermuda’s only restaurant located directly on the beach. We’re so happy that you had a delicious meal there.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited Elbow Beach Hotel this past July and just like other reviewers was disappointed to learn the main building was closed. Staff told us that many guests were turned off by the eary feeling of an abandoned hotel. We were no exception. The pool was very nice and private but the hotel has a deal with the cruise ships that permit non hotel guests use of the area. Not exactly exclusive which is what we paid for. Our room was nice but we asked to be moved because it was not what was described on the hotel website. Our 2nd room was much better. Service was mediocre at best as the hotel staff was invisible. Their main job is getting you ice since there are no ice makers. Yes, every time you need ice you have to call the main desk and someone would show up with a bag. The beach was nice and convenient and part of the reason we didn't always mind the abandoned hotel at the top of the hill. My wife pointed out that the beach would have been much more crowded if it was full. The hotel has three restaurants right on the beach which was very nice if you can afford them. We had dinner two nights at the tapas/sushi restaurant that overlooks the beach which was good. Drinks are ridiculously expensive (cheapest was $18) but we bough a pitcher of Sangria for $44 which yielded 3 glasses for each of us. If you want a souvenir of Elbow Beach, there are none except for a few poor choices down by the beach where you get your towels. The enitre trip was relaxing as Bermuda is beautiful but the hotel was a letdown. We stayed at the Fairmont Hamilton Princess last year in the Bermudian House which was half the cost and actually had a main hotel. The bottom Line is I would not pay to stay at Elbow Beach again. It was too expensive and too run down to demand more than $300 per night.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that faces the ocean but not right on it unless you want to hear the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Foodfanny,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Elbow Beach.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our beach and Sea Breeze Terrace restaurant. We’re so glad that you enjoyed them during your stay.

In regards to the main hotel building, a variety of design scenarios are being explored for the future, but there is no fixed time table for when they will begin. The main hotel building still houses a number of wonderful amenities for our guests including the Lobby, temperature-controlled swimming pool, The Camp at Elbow Beach, The Spa at Elbow Beach, Poolside Spa Cabanas, The Library Recreation Lounge, fitness room, business centre and a variety of meeting space. So although we are not currently selling the guest room inventory in the main building, we are still taking extremely good care of it as it is home to so many of our amenities and holds such historical value for us.

Our hotel amenities, such as the pool, are for the exclusive use of Elbow Beach guests and for those that rent our Poolside Spa Cabanas. We have five poolside cabanas that are available for rent from 10am to 5pm daily for a price of $495 per day for up to six people.

Our sincere apologies that there were several areas where we fell short on delivery of service. We would love to speak with you to get more detailed and specific feedback on your experience so that we can make improvements in the areas mentioned.

We hope that you will contact us at ebbda-socialmedia@mohg.com so that we can further discuss the problem areas you encountered during your stay.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have stayed here twice and would still go back. Great restaurants and beach location. The desserts are incredible. Beautiful rooms. Would recommend highly. Bermuda is a great place to visit and Elbow Beach is the way to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Karen B,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing comment about our resort!

We truly appreciate your kind compliments about our beach, guestrooms and restaurants. Don’t worry…we can never resist the desserts either.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach very soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Elbow Beach is a hotel with pedigree, even though the main hotel building is closed the 94 cottages in the grounds are open and are nicely fitted out and there is a good choice of food and room service that beats most of the Caribbean; it is a shame that the restaurants are franchised out and not run by the hotel. Mandarin Oriental do a good job in management and the staff are excellent but the hotel is not at a standard normally associated with the brand and it requires refurbishment. The beach is the best on the island as its location some 20 mins from the airport and 10 mins from the capital Hamilton. The hotel kids club was very restricted this year but the on site tennis club runs a great summer kids program. In all you will not be disappointed staying here as long as you do not expect Mandarin service and finish and I would recommend it to couples and families.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great but you can save by staying in a garden room, all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear SRB07,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We appreciate your kind words on the beauty of our beach and are so pleased to hear that you found our resorts central location to be so convenient. Thank you also for your compliments on our 98 guestrooms. Each guestroom was completely refreshed in January and February 2013 and added amenities like iHome Docking Stations and personal espresso machines have been well received by our guests.

Thank you also for your kind compliments about our colleagues. They are eager to please, and will be happy to hear your praise.

Thank you again for your feedback. Such constructive comments are excellent ways for us to either reward our team for a job well done or to use as tools in our quest for continual improvement.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.