We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$200 Resort Credit!
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful clean room with an amazing view and great beach.

We stayed in one of the cottages below the main hotel, we had a good location with uninterrupted views of the ocean, Our room was very clean with a fridge, coffee maker, good quality linens etc. The room was spacious with its own terrace and sun loungers. I would recommend you stay in the upper level of cottages below the hotel as the ones below us looked onto the path to the beach and restaurants. The beach is lovely there are plenty of loungers and parasols and the beach is long enough if you wish to go for a walk or a run! depending on how energetic you feel. We tried all the restaurants which vary from formal to beach-side, the menus varied and all the staff were friendly and accommodating.

The hotel had a happy friendly feel to it and lots of amenities which is good because as you know Bermuda is not that easy to get around if you are use to doing you own thing, unless you wish to risk hiring a scooter. You have to use the buses which waste a lot of your time and are very crowded at certain times so you have to take taxi's to maximize your time. Also be aware that if a cruise ship has docked the attractions are very busy and you are unlikely to get on the horse & carriage rides because they are pre-booked. This hotel is a good base for visiting all parts of Bermuda and I would definitely stay there again. The crystal caves are approx 9 miles away and St. George , a short taxi ride a way has some good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear BeachyWaves30,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback on your recent stay.

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your guestroom and view were wonderful. We appreciate your kind compliments about our beautiful beach and the variety of dining options we have available. We're also glad to hear that our colleagues were friendly and accommodating. They will be pleased to have been recognized for their efforts.

Thank you so much again for taking the time to provide such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    171
    87
    74
    30
See reviews for
138
230
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We had never stayed in a Mandarin Oriental hotel before so we were really looking forward to our stay at the Elbow Beach Resort. We stayed there for a family wedding.

The room was very nice. It was spacious and had nice amenities. Our room was a "garden view" so it had no view of the ocean. The rooms are in low-lying bungalows stretched out on a hillside throughout the property. Be prepared to walk a lot. That wasn't a problem except for when we were dressing up for functions associated with the wedding and had to negotiate the steep hill and many steps in dressy shoes.

The staff was very pleasant throughout our stay. The grounds are just so-so. They definitely didn't have the "Wow" factor.

Overall, it's a very nice hotel but I'm not convinced that it's worth the price. Several wedding guests stayed at the hotel next door where every room had a view of the ocean and the rate was much lower than what Elbow Beach charged.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear MermaidFlorida_U,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Elbow Beach. We truly appreciate your clear and concise feedback.

Thank you for your kind compliments about the hotel in general and our colleagues. We're glad that you found your guestroom to be spacious and well-equipped. We do have a 24-hour shuttle service available for transportation around the property if guests prefer not to walk.

I thank you again for your feedback. Such constructive comments are excellent ways for us to either reward our team for a job well done or to use as tools in our quest for continual improvement.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had a beautiful room (814) closer to the water which felt like my own private villa. The room also had a nice outdoor space. The cable TV was great as it had a lot more channels than I would have expected for Bermuda. Was in town for a conference so didn't get to spend to much time at the hotel. I think it is a really nice place for a couple looking to getaway from it all. Short taxi ride to town. No rental cars on island. Food was good. I would suggest going during the summer months as it is much warmer then it is in April. Beach was nice and quiet and the sand looked pink in the sun. Just FYI everything in Bermuda is expensive.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms in the 800's down near the restaurant and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear nytaz66,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Elbow Beach.

We appreciate the kind compliments about your guestroom and our beach. The proximity to the beach does allow for incredible views from our guestrooms private terraces. Elbow Beach is proud to provide over 200 channels of high-definition cable television, the most of any hotel on the island.

Our central location, just 7 minutes from the main city of Hamilton, does make us a convenient location for both business visitors and vacationers.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of spending 4 nights at Elbow Beach in Bermuda. The hotel staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the beaches are truly everything you read. Pink Sand and Sunshine. The food, although pricey, was excellent and the service outstanding. If your looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place!!! I recommend an ocean view room in the Alamanda Section........

Room Tip: Request the Alamanda Section - Ocean vIew
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Yvonne M,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing comment about our resort!

We truly appreciate your kind compliments about the hotel and our colleagues. We are proud of our hotel services and take great care in the selection and training of our employees. Your favourable comments will certainly be shared with them and I know that they will be very pleased to have been recognised.

We're so happy that our beach lived up to your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and beverage options on the property.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another tranquil getaway in our Alamanda Cottage block.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort is an enigma. It's got an awful lot going for it but lacks a few things that would make it truly outstanding.

Pros:

The location is several miles removed from the hustle and bustle of Hamiton.
It has as good a beach as you are going to find anywhere.
The views from the rooms are gorgeous.
The rooms are large, modern and clean.
The staff is top notch. Very friendly and accommodating,

Cons:

The location is several miles from the hustle and bustle of Hamilton.
Restaruant selection is limited and very expensive (like everything else in Bermuda).
There is no gift shop for picking up incidentals or gifts.
The main hotel is closed for rennovation so the only rooms available are cottages on the hillside which could be a problem for some.

All things considered I would certainly return to this beautiful property and would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Any room should be delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Fullimit,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Elbow Beach.

We appreciate your kind compliments about our location and beach! We were also pleased to hear that you found our guestrooms spacious and comfortable and that you loved your view. We feel very lucky that that is our view on a daily basis.

We take your feedback regarding the restaurant options and gift shop very seriously and are currently meeting with the relevant departments to discuss ways to improve upon these areas. All of our guestrooms are now located in cottages sloping down to our signature pink sand beach, and we've found that guests enjoy the easy walk and close proximity to the beach.

Thank you again for taking the time to send us such valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you and your family and friends back to Elbow Beach soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel and was given a very nice room with a partial ocean view that they considered ocean view. Unfortunately both the toilet and air condition were not working in the room. After calling for service we went for a nice walk on the beach only to return to the room to find out the needed repairs could not be made until the next day and we would need to move for the night. It was 5:00. We were told that the room we were to be moved to was smaller but had an ocean view and we could move back to the original room the next day. When arriving at the room it had a very strong mildew/water smell. We were told it had not been aired out that day and were offered a dehumidifier. When we said we wanted to be moved we were taken to a room with absolutely no view also having this mildew/water smell but not as strong and were offered a dehumidifier again. We were told they did have a suite available if we wanted to pay an additional $500 per night. We declined. We stayed in the 3rd room for our 3 nights because we lacked confidence that the ac was fixed . Housekeeping never emptied the humidifier. We emptied it twice during our stay and were only running it when we weren't in the room due to how noisy it was.

Webster and the rest of the drivers were a joy to deal with when riding the shuttle. Always pleasant and courteous. Was with a group and we had a private dinner in the St George's room which was delicious. The beach and water are gorgeous in this location.

When leaving I went to use the bathrooms in the hotel lobby. I had been there 2 days earlier for a seminar and knew where they were. I wandered around the first floor only to discover that they had removed the signs for the men and ladies rooms and had locked the door. They had left the one co-ed bathroom that was a one person bathroom . At the time I was looking for the bathroom there were 4 other guest also looking.
Had heard great things about MO hotels and was really looking forward to this stay. It did not measure up.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear marshallspicebush,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent service experience you received from Webster and our bellmen. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your private dinner and the beauty of our beach.

We apologize that our Premier Ocean View Rooms did not meet your expectations in regards to the view and that other rooms you were shown had a damp smell. Although we do preventative maintenance throughout the year, the humidity, salt and our proximity to the ocean, can sometimes get the better of us. We are working with our Engineering Team to try to find solutions to this issue.

We were also sorry to hear that our Housekeeping service did not meet your expectations. We have reviewed all of your comments carefully with our Housekeeping Team to make sure that these items are addressed and corrected.

Thank you so much again for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we just got back after 3 nights and feel a bit cheated! it's one of those hotels that look and sound great especially given the Mandarin Oriental branding but when we arrived we found that it was only MANAGED by MO....So all the front of house hotel stuff was fine but all the food and beverage (which is very important to us) was managed by a completely different company which was light years away from MO standard. There were virtually no local people working in the bars and restaurants - instead there's a large Romanian contingent and I'm afraid they are just not trained to provide the service that you'd expect from thus type of property. Adding 17% service to everything frankly felt like a complete rip off given the service levels (we had 4 incidents that would have put Basil Fawlty to shame....). Also set up is a little strange as the main hotel is all closed (I assume the rooms are not up to MO standard?) so the only rooms are the stand alone 'villas' which are loctaed in very nice grounds
The good:
1) The beach - it's stunning. There's a reef out there though so very limited watersports (It was too windy to sail anyway but pretty sure you couldn't sail from the hotel given the reef)
2) The rooms - in themselves nothing very special / pretty basic but I loved the fact that virtually all were single story - no noisy people coming in to the room above at 2am with high heels on and waking us up!
3) Wifi - free and excellent coverage everywhere on site (I guess I'm running out of positives when I've got internet coverage in there!)
The bad:
Terrible / confrontational / rude / inflexible service. I was really shocked by this. The waiting staff kept reminding us that they were a separate entity to the hotel (I don't want to hear that - I thought I was staying at a MO hotel) and kept explaining in detail how cashflows were processed between the restaurants and hotel (I definitely don't pay $600+ a night to hear that!). To say that the service was charmless was a massive understatement - and it's unfortunately the reason that we wouldn't go back. I'm sure you can do much better on the island.

Room Tip: choose a single story room. The Lanai suites were all sold out and we had wanted to stay in one but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear richard I,

Thank you for taking to the time to provide us with such valuable feedback on your stay.

Thank you for your kind compliments on our beach and guestrooms. We're glad that you enjoyed the beauty and tranquility afforded by your single story guestroom and proximity to the beach.

Elbow Beach has been managed by Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group since 2000 and is privately owned. We were very sorry to hear that the resort did not measure up to your expectations as a Mandarin Oriental property, and we take your comments very seriously.

Attention to detail is a hallmark of luxury service, and we're very sorry to hear that our Food and Beverage service missed the mark on this throughout your stay. The service issues you have highlighted are currently being addressed with our team so that they can be recified moving forward.

We take each of your comments to heart and appreciate you taking the time to provide such detailed feedback.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.