We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to give 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
atlanta, ga.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I wanted to give 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Elbow Beach Hotel is an absolutely delightful property! Kudos to Sandy at the front desk and Gary the bellman in particular for their HIGH level of service!!! They could not have been more accommodating. And in general, service is the name of the game at the Elbow Beach Hotel. We arrived on Sunday, March 3, the day the hotel opened back up after a 2 month hiatus for refurbishment. The staff was clearly refreshed and eager to be back to work. I really hate to stay anything negative, but due to being in start up mode after being off for a couple of months, the hotel was not at full service capacity considering that it is a 5 star hotel. No matter, it was still really good and they were working hard to accommodate. What was absolutely top notch at the hotel from the very first meal on reopening day was the Lido Restaurant. The food quite frankly was AMAZING and the service exemplary!!! Our family ate most of our meals at the Lido during our week long stay at the hotel. The food was to die for and I cannot say enough good things about the wonderful wait staff in the restaurant. My compliments to the chef, I wish we could have regarded him personally. We went into Hamilton for a couple of dinners at the highly rated tripadvisor restaurants that week, but we were not impressed by comparison. Cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear sladeatlanta,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback on your stay!

We're so pleased to hear that our colleagues took such wonderful care of you and that you felt the level of service was very high throughout your stay. Our colleagues are very eager to please and will be grateful for your kind words.

We're also glad that you enjoyed your dining experiences at our Lido Restaurant. We'll be certain to pass your compliments along to the chef and service staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Elbow Beach very soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    180
    92
    76
    31
See reviews for
145
262
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful beach. Recommend ocean view cottages. Garden cottages can be a bit far from
beach.
Excellent bus services throughout island. Came in march ned weather was very patchy
So best to come later in the year. Lido restaurant very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Margaret R,

Thank you for your kind words about our property!

Our beach is a gem and our ocean view cottages put it right at your fingertips. We're also glad that you enjoyed dining at our Lido Restaurant. They just finished refurbishing it, so we're pleased to hear that you had a great experience there.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Bermuda on Elbow Beach. Evidently, this property has been closed for several months for renovations. These renovations aren't finished and they have no business charging these prices for what they're offering unsuspecting guests. We've been lucky enough to visit other Mandarin hotels and are willing to pay the higher premium prices for the luxury of the fine accommodations. This felt lika a scam. We understood it wasn't "high season," but honestly, I've stayed in nicer Holiday Inns. Our room stunk like wet paint, to the point that we had to open the sliders to get some fresh air because we were getting nauseous. Approximately ½ of the rooms are finished, there were no cabanas, no covered areas at the pool, it was very understaffed, the sand was everywhere as well as sand bags to trip over while walking to the beach. The lounge was fine with televisions and polite bartenders, and good snacks, but the restaurant was outrageous. Toast and coffee for breakfast for over $60, late night pizza and a glass of wine over $100. We were looking forward to our spa day, on the website and the information sent to us showed a lovely spa with soaking tubs, all kinds of treatments available, Jacuzzi, sauna, and generally all the amenities that we expect from a Mandarin, guess what -- NO SPA!! That's right, it won't be finished for a couple more months and they didn't feel it important enough to inform us when we booked. So, we still decided to have a massage, they couldn't do a couples massage, so we took individual massages. They actually opened a guest room up next to the pool and set up a table in the room and sent in a massage therapist. She did a nice massage, but still charged us Mandarin prices. $185 each for a massage in what basically resembled a changing room, next to the pool. One night we called up to the front desk for a taxi, 25 minutes later we walked up the hill to find several taxis waiting for a fare, just another mistake I guess. We’re seasoned travelers, splurge occasionally, but aren’t stupid with our time and money. All of this being said, the ocean view from our room was gorgeous, the Islanders are friendly, the staff was helpful, but in my opinion they are not ready to be open for business until they get their act together, and they have no business charging that kind of money for what they're selling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear flyingfingers1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. We're pleased to hear that you loved your view and that our colleagues were friendly and helpful.

We are very sorry to hear that in other ways your recent stay did not meet your expectations and we want you to know that we take all of your comments and concerns to heart.

We apologise that your room still smelled of paint, and will be sure that this does not happen going forward. All of the rooms have been completely refreshed this winter, so we will be sure to place ozone machines in the rooms to remove the fresh paint smell. We have also alerted our beach and pool team to your feedback regarding the lack of covered areas and will be getting this addressed as soon as possible.

We're very sorry that you did not have the opportunity to experience our spa while you were here, and that you were not informed in advance that the spa would be closed. The Spa at Elbow Beach will reopen on March 23, 2013. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your massage, but have informed our Spa Director of your concerns regarding the price and ambience of the room.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback.

We hope to welcome you back for a stay that will be more in-keeping with your expectations.

Kind regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For a first time visit to Bermuda the Elbow Beach is a wonderful option. The private beach, excellent food,lovely rooms and very helpful staff make it a wonderful stay. Marvin will always remember what you want at the bar and is a true credit to the hotel. Great location and would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jestersusa,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay with us!

Elbow Beach is a wonderful option for a first time visit...but as you say, once you've stayed with us you want to stay again and again : )

We're so pleased that you loved the beach and guestrooms and that your dining experiences at the hotel were top notch. Marvin is the best...his Rum Swizzles are a favourite!

Thank you again for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alas, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I visited Elbow Beach with my husband and some family members and was impressed by the quiet, secluded atmosphere. The beach is large enough to accommodate the guests, but small enough to feel intimate. I probably don't have to mention the crystal clear water or pink sand- but I didn't believe it until I saw it. The food was good but not great, and the rooms were attractive and neatly kept. The spa had a very nice array of treatments. One warning: there are a lot of stairs, and I didn't see another route to the beach. Activities and games are available for rental, but I didn't see any water sports. Overall, a great long weekend, or longer if you enjoy just lying on the beach.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear PrefersWindowSeat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We're so pleased to hear that you liked the intimate feeling of our resort and beach. We also can't believe our eyes when we see the turquoise waters and pink sand, and we see it every day :) We're glad you were able to experience our spa and dining options and have passed your kind words and feedback along to our Spa and Food & Beverage Teams.

Our Dive Shop is open from April to October and provides a variety of rental equipment for water fun. They have dive gear, snorkel equipment, underwater scooters, kayaks and paddle boards. Hopefully on your next visit you'll get to take advantage of these amenities.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It was an absolutely wonderful experience, the staff at the hotel could not do enough to make our trip any more enjoyable.The people on the island were very friendly and would give you tips on where to go and what to see.The facitlities at the hotel complex was above and beyond what we expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mandyasm,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Elbow Beach, Bermuda!

We have passed your kind words along to our colleagues and we're so pleased that they went out of their way to make your trip enjoyable. They'll be ready and waiting to assist you when you return :) Meeting locals is the best way to get to know Bermuda...they always have wonderful stories to tell.

We're so happy that the resort and our amenities surpassed your expectations. We really appreciate the lovely feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle to just relax. The private beach here is beautiful and serene. The service for all staff is outstanding and most will greet you by name. Even the director of housekeeping is visible and will ask if there is anything they can do to make your stay even more comfortable. I can't wait to go back!!
Get the bus pass from Rochelle, the concierge, to get around the island. There is a bus stop directly across from the hotel. Rochelle can tell you which routes to take to get to what you want to see. It was easy to do and a great opportunity to meet locals, all of whom we found very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The main building is set to be demolished (or so we were told), but any of the bungalow style buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear KipF,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

Thank you for your kind words about our colleagues. We know they take great pride in what they do, and we're so happy they were able to make your stay so special. Our beach is the jewel in our crown and we're pleased that you found it so relaxing.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with such lovely feedback.

We definitely hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.