We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service, Accommodating, Great Food!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Service, Accommodating, Great Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We originally checked into the Reefs & in less than an hr. we checked out and headed to Elbow Beach - Mandarin Oriental. It just wasn't our cup of tea, despite the raving reviews on T.A. Brian was super accommodating and got us right in, he even went the extra mile and contacted the previous hotel to get us 100% credited. The rooms were much more to our liking; spacious, clean, separate tub, coffee/tea maker, fridge etc. The service was exceptional. From the front desk, pool service, bartenders, restaurants, to the beach service. They really went above and beyond to make my bday vacay extra special, I even got a cake waiting for me in our room. They were very accommodating by even making custom drinks according to the type of alcohol we like. The facilities were all clean. They have 24 hrs room service, which was quick and accommodating. The restaurants were all good here, especially Lido's - which has an amazing view and tasty food. The spa was very relaxing (try the only male therapist, he's amazing), then head over to the pool and get friendly Reid to set you up followed by an array of cocktails mixed by the one and only Pickles. The beach at the resort is absolutely beautiful! It's breathtaking!!! The location is hands down post card gorgeous (see my pics)! Best direct private beach access. The resort is centrally located, near all the best restaurants recommended by T.A. On another note, after going to all the top rated restaurants that were all so yummy, it turns out that the majority of them are all owned/operated by the same restaurants as in the resort - we went to Lido's (in the resort), Mickey's (in the resort), Sea Breeze (in the resorts), L'Oriental, Blu, Four Ways Inn. Everyone here is super friendly! We really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you for making my bday vacay as memorable as it was..... Especially, after my fiancé proposed to me there the night before we left. Our stay at Elbow Beach will always be remembered. We will be back again, thanks Brian for making it all happen!!! <3

Room Tip: Honeysuckle building (great view, next to pool/spa and just a short walk to the beach & restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear tangchareon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback!

We're so pleased to hear that we were able to make your birthday vacation a special one and that all of our colleagues went out of their way to deliver exceptional service to you during your stay.

Thank you for the lovely feedback about our guestrooms, beachfront and restaurants. We're so happy we were able to wow you during your time with us.

Congratulations on your engagement and hopefully we'll be welcoming you back soon for a Bermuda Destination Wedding or Honeymoon :)

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    188
    93
    76
    31
See reviews for
152
278
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in a Premium Suite at Elbow Beach for a long weekend. The suite inside was beautiful and updated, although none of them appear to have views since you are ground level. The outside of the rooms definitely require updating as the door to the room and the area around it is very dingy and run down. One thing I was surprised about that no one mentioned are the tree frogs. They are incessant all through the night. Even with a sound machine I brought with me to sleep I was unable to drown them out. Not for one night did I sleep well with the chirping. (Think this is seasonal though)

We went to the main hotel a few times to grab a cup of coffee in the lounge and wait out a torrential rain shower one afternoon. It is really is in need of renovation and simply smells musty in the corridors.

Otherwise the beach was beautiful, every staff member extremely friendly and helpful and we thought the food was fine. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the french toast was incredible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear tinytee 13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback!

We're so pleased to hear that you loved the beach and that our colleagues took excellent care of you while you were with us. Sounds like I need to run down the hill to try the french toast :)

We take your comments regarding the condition of the outside our your guestroom very seriously and will be addressing them with our Engineering Department. Although we do preventative maintenance throughout the year, the humidity and salt, can sometimes get the better of us. In regards to your comments regarding the main building, we are actually in the midst of replacing all the carpeting with beautiful dark hardwood floors, which will hopefully address some of your concerns.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just checked in for three nights....Based on their website, this place looked amazing and it seemed to be one of the best hotels on the island. I didn't even mind the high rate, especially during off season, as I prefer to stay at nice places. Well, this hotel is a dump, in need of a major renovation. Cannot believe this place is associated with The Mandarin Hotel chain Everything - from rooms to restaurants - is falling apart. It is run-down and ugly. The receptionist told me we had a great room but he wasn't even convinced himself when he said that. Rooms are scattred around the resort, which was not clear to us - not good for someone who can't walk. You need to rely on shuttle service. Our first room was at the edge of the resort - very scary - far away from the restaurants, beach, gym, spa,...Plus the room smelled like bad sewage. I asked to change our room. We were moved to another room also away from the main areas. And the rooms are set up like shacks - and are painted blue, green, etc. Not classy! You need a shuttle to get around...which we didn't know. They offered to show us another room tomorrow, but in all honesty, I rather move out. The service is defensive at best, trying to blame our "wholesale" (?) booker. I am curious how they will make this better...as I feel my vacation is ruined.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. This place is in need of a major renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear May M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We were very sorry to read about your less than satisfactory experience at the hotel. We are deeply concerned that you were disappointed with the overall look and feel of the resort and with your guestroom, as we strive to make our property warm and inviting. The cottage blocks in which our guestrooms are located are in keeping with Bermuda's architectural history of small, bright coloured stone cottages with white washed stepping stone roofs.

We take each of your comments very seriously and will be addressing your issues with the amenities and service with our management team.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Elbow Beach might be the most beautiful beach in the world (certainly in the top ranks!)--soft pink sand that never gets hot on your feet, magnificent blue water with soft rolling waves and moderate temperature, no shells, stones or seaweed, couldn't be better! But the Elbow Beach Hotel, which has recently been purchased by Mandarin Oriental, seems to have fallen on hard times and does not live up to the luxury of either the Elbow Beach or Mandarin Oriental names. The entire main building (a classic of luxury for over 100 years) is closed and might be torn down. Rooms are all in smaller cottages scattered along the hillside above the beach. Staff are pleasant and helpful, and you can phone for a shuttle at any time to drive you down the hill (to beach and restaurants) or up the hill (to the main building to catch a cab). Beware that it is a long hike on a combination of roads, paths , and steps, down to the beach, and some of the shuttles are vans while others are just open golf carts (so we noticed many couples with babies having difficulty manipulating large strollers and bags of baby paraphernalia back and forth in the shuttles or over the pathways with steps--definitely not wheelchair accessible as far as I could see). The hotel has two restaurants, both at the beach, with lovely views and OK food, nothing bad but also not spectacular. The town of Hamilton is also not what it used to be--mediocre shopping at VERY high prices. I might go back someday, for the beach, but would definitely wait until this hotel is updated. P.S.: There is a spa that definitely needs updating--no pedicure chairs (I sat on a small club chair with the pedicurist kneeling at my feet, which was uncomfortable for both of us)--definitely not the luxury I expected.

Room Tip: Insist on ocean view. Our room on the top (second) floor in the Jasmine building halfway up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear LibraryLiz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback!

We're so pleased that you rate our beach to be one of the most beautiful in the world...we couldn't agree more. Thank you for your kind words about our colleagues.

Elbow Beach has been managed by Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group since 2000 and is privately owned. We were very sorry to hear that the resort did not measure up to your expectations as a Mandarin Oriental property, and we take your comments very seriously. Management will be discussing your feedback regarding mobility around the property as comfort and convenience for our guests is of the upmost importance. We will also pass along your comments regarding the food to our Executive Chef.

We have recently added a Finishing Touches Suite, specifically for pedicures and foot treatments, to our spa, which will hopefully make the experience more luxurious.

Thank you again for taking the time.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

At first arrival to our Garden View room, we were skeptical of the age of the exterior of the unit. However once the door was opened, we were pleasantly surprised. Obviously recent renovations were done in nice fashion. Comfy bed, contemporary shower, flat screen, dual vanity. Most of the property is a cluster of "garden view" units , with about 6 rooms in each. Some have better views of the ocean, with others having a peek as ours did. It's about a two minute walk to the beach. I thought we would be much closer. About a 3 minute walk back up the hills to the unit. However it does put you closer to the lobby and taxis if you need something. The beach is beautiful with bars and restaurant right on it. Very accommodating staff all around.
The hotel looked nice but too much $, it's not much closer to the beach. Nice pool.
Great food , lunch and dinner, at Mickeys on the beach. All in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear boatguy1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback!

We're so glad to hear that you were pleased with our refurbished guestrooms and that our colleagues accomodated your needs. We want our rooms to have every modern comfort and amenity, while still maintaining a beachy, island feel.

We couldn't agree more about the beauty of our beach and we're so happy that you enjoyed the food at Mickey's Beach Bistro. We'll be certain to pass your compliments along to the chef.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in The Sea Grape building, which was as "ocean front"
as you can get at this property.
The room claims to have a "private" lanai, while it does have a fabulous
lanai, with views of the ocean, it is not terribly private.
No complaints here, but if you have expectations of total privacy, this
may be disappointing.
The main building is currently closed, which for us
was great because there were not many people on property.
The staff at this hotel are amazing! We ordered room service twice, once for dinner
and breakfast on our last day. They were there exactly at the time stated.
The food is fabulous!!!
Our room was cleaned daily by Fredrina; she paid attention
to all details and was very accommodating.
The grounds of this property and the beach on which it sits are beautiful.
We were planning out return before we left

Room Tip: When booking a "premier ocean view" room, you will want to check direct with the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear 4pamalama,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback!

Your kind words about our colleagues are greatly appreciated. Fredrina takes great pride in her work and will be so pleased to have been recognized for her attention to detail. We're so glad your In-Room Dining experiences were top-notch and that you loved the property and beach.

We definitely hope to welcome you back for that return visit you were planning soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This used to be THE hotel. Main building now closed and the rest a little dated. The service is good and the beach is good, but there are two restaurantes ( serving the same ) andd the bar on the beach is not that good. It is sad, since the staff are trying the best to make you feel that you are getting value for money. If you go, book a room close to the beach so you do not have to walk that fare.

Room Tip: Book a room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear kjell magne n,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

We're very pleased to hear that our team of colleagues made every effort to make your stay an enjoyable one and that you liked the beach.

We take your comments about our restaurants and bar very seriously, and will be discussing it with our Executive Chef to see what improvements can be made.

Thank you again for taking the time, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.