We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive 4th Night Free!
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just checked in for three nights....Based on their website, this place looked amazing and it seemed to be one of the best hotels on the island. I didn't even mind the high rate, especially during off season, as I prefer to stay at nice places. Well, this hotel is a dump, in need of a major renovation. Cannot believe this place is associated with The Mandarin Hotel chain Everything - from rooms to restaurants - is falling apart. It is run-down and ugly. The receptionist told me we had a great room but he wasn't even convinced himself when he said that. Rooms are scattred around the resort, which was not clear to us - not good for someone who can't walk. You need to rely on shuttle service. Our first room was at the edge of the resort - very scary - far away from the restaurants, beach, gym, spa,...Plus the room smelled like bad sewage. I asked to change our room. We were moved to another room also away from the main areas. And the rooms are set up like shacks - and are painted blue, green, etc. Not classy! You need a shuttle to get around...which we didn't know. They offered to show us another room tomorrow, but in all honesty, I rather move out. The service is defensive at best, trying to blame our "wholesale" (?) booker. I am curious how they will make this better...as I feel my vacation is ruined.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. This place is in need of a major renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear May M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.

We were very sorry to read about your less than satisfactory experience at the hotel. We are deeply concerned that you were disappointed with the overall look and feel of the resort and with your guestroom, as we strive to make our property warm and inviting. The cottage blocks in which our guestrooms are located are in keeping with Bermuda's architectural history of small, bright coloured stone cottages with white washed stepping stone roofs.

We take each of your comments very seriously and will be addressing your issues with the amenities and service with our management team.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    173
    89
    75
    31
See reviews for
144
240
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Elbow Beach might be the most beautiful beach in the world (certainly in the top ranks!)--soft pink sand that never gets hot on your feet, magnificent blue water with soft rolling waves and moderate temperature, no shells, stones or seaweed, couldn't be better! But the Elbow Beach Hotel, which has recently been purchased by Mandarin Oriental, seems to have fallen on hard times and does not live up to the luxury of either the Elbow Beach or Mandarin Oriental names. The entire main building (a classic of luxury for over 100 years) is closed and might be torn down. Rooms are all in smaller cottages scattered along the hillside above the beach. Staff are pleasant and helpful, and you can phone for a shuttle at any time to drive you down the hill (to beach and restaurants) or up the hill (to the main building to catch a cab). Beware that it is a long hike on a combination of roads, paths , and steps, down to the beach, and some of the shuttles are vans while others are just open golf carts (so we noticed many couples with babies having difficulty manipulating large strollers and bags of baby paraphernalia back and forth in the shuttles or over the pathways with steps--definitely not wheelchair accessible as far as I could see). The hotel has two restaurants, both at the beach, with lovely views and OK food, nothing bad but also not spectacular. The town of Hamilton is also not what it used to be--mediocre shopping at VERY high prices. I might go back someday, for the beach, but would definitely wait until this hotel is updated. P.S.: There is a spa that definitely needs updating--no pedicure chairs (I sat on a small club chair with the pedicurist kneeling at my feet, which was uncomfortable for both of us)--definitely not the luxury I expected.

Room Tip: Insist on ocean view. Our room on the top (second) floor in the Jasmine building halfway up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear LibraryLiz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback!

We're so pleased that you rate our beach to be one of the most beautiful in the world...we couldn't agree more. Thank you for your kind words about our colleagues.

Elbow Beach has been managed by Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group since 2000 and is privately owned. We were very sorry to hear that the resort did not measure up to your expectations as a Mandarin Oriental property, and we take your comments very seriously. Management will be discussing your feedback regarding mobility around the property as comfort and convenience for our guests is of the upmost importance. We will also pass along your comments regarding the food to our Executive Chef.

We have recently added a Finishing Touches Suite, specifically for pedicures and foot treatments, to our spa, which will hopefully make the experience more luxurious.

Thank you again for taking the time.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

At first arrival to our Garden View room, we were skeptical of the age of the exterior of the unit. However once the door was opened, we were pleasantly surprised. Obviously recent renovations were done in nice fashion. Comfy bed, contemporary shower, flat screen, dual vanity. Most of the property is a cluster of "garden view" units , with about 6 rooms in each. Some have better views of the ocean, with others having a peek as ours did. It's about a two minute walk to the beach. I thought we would be much closer. About a 3 minute walk back up the hills to the unit. However it does put you closer to the lobby and taxis if you need something. The beach is beautiful with bars and restaurant right on it. Very accommodating staff all around.
The hotel looked nice but too much $, it's not much closer to the beach. Nice pool.
Great food , lunch and dinner, at Mickeys on the beach. All in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear boatguy1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback!

We're so glad to hear that you were pleased with our refurbished guestrooms and that our colleagues accomodated your needs. We want our rooms to have every modern comfort and amenity, while still maintaining a beachy, island feel.

We couldn't agree more about the beauty of our beach and we're so happy that you enjoyed the food at Mickey's Beach Bistro. We'll be certain to pass your compliments along to the chef.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in The Sea Grape building, which was as "ocean front"
as you can get at this property.
The room claims to have a "private" lanai, while it does have a fabulous
lanai, with views of the ocean, it is not terribly private.
No complaints here, but if you have expectations of total privacy, this
may be disappointing.
The main building is currently closed, which for us
was great because there were not many people on property.
The staff at this hotel are amazing! We ordered room service twice, once for dinner
and breakfast on our last day. They were there exactly at the time stated.
The food is fabulous!!!
Our room was cleaned daily by Fredrina; she paid attention
to all details and was very accommodating.
The grounds of this property and the beach on which it sits are beautiful.
We were planning out return before we left

Room Tip: When booking a "premier ocean view" room, you will want to check direct with the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear 4pamalama,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback!

Your kind words about our colleagues are greatly appreciated. Fredrina takes great pride in her work and will be so pleased to have been recognized for her attention to detail. We're so glad your In-Room Dining experiences were top-notch and that you loved the property and beach.

We definitely hope to welcome you back for that return visit you were planning soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This used to be THE hotel. Main building now closed and the rest a little dated. The service is good and the beach is good, but there are two restaurantes ( serving the same ) andd the bar on the beach is not that good. It is sad, since the staff are trying the best to make you feel that you are getting value for money. If you go, book a room close to the beach so you do not have to walk that fare.

Room Tip: Book a room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear kjell magne n,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

We're very pleased to hear that our team of colleagues made every effort to make your stay an enjoyable one and that you liked the beach.

We take your comments about our restaurants and bar very seriously, and will be discussing it with our Executive Chef to see what improvements can be made.

Thank you again for taking the time, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at the EB and we had the best week ever. Arrived on Sunday to find we had been upgraded from a room in the main building to a spacious oceanview room in the Honeysuckle building due to work going on in the main building. The room was terrific and the housekeeping staff was top notch. Good location to the pool, beach, restaurants, yet quiet and peaceful. On Wednesday we were offered the option to relocate to a Premier Ocean suite in the Easter Lily building due to scheduled work being started outside our room with possible noise problems impacting our stay. The suite was awesome and the staff could not have been more accomodating in seeing to our comfort.

The Lido Restaurant, Mickeys Beach Bistro and the Seabreeze Lounge offered a delicious variety of meals from a beach menu at Mickeys to the top of the line Lido selection. The lamb loin at the Lido was superb as was the wahoo special of the night. The service was top notch in spite of having what appeared to be a wedding party going on at the same time.
The Blue Point Restaurant and pool bar satisified all our thirsts and appetites while lounging poolside. "Pickles," the master mixologist at the pool bar was there to fill your glass with what ever you wanted, and also to enlighten you to the joys of life in Bermuda. His "Bermuda Triangles" are the best on the island and his outlook on life very unique.
We have never stayed anywhere else in Bermuda so I can not compare the EB to anywhere else. I feel that the EB, while a bit pricey at times, does give you good value for your dollar.
We could not have asked for a better week in Bermuda. When we think of a return trip we will think of the Elbow Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear LakeEustisSailor,

We're so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your second stay with us and felt well taken care of by our team of colleagues!

We aim to provide peace and tranqulity in our guestrooms, so I'm glad that is what you experienced. Thank you for your kind words about our restaurants and bartender, "Pickles". The lamb at Lido is a personal favourite of mine too and now I'm just going to have to head down to the pool to try a "Bermuda Triangle."

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach very soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in a premier garden view room. Reception was excellent on check in, if a little slow and we were taken to our room in a buggy by one of the bellboys, who also told us where the amenities (restaurants, pool etc) were as we travelled to the room.
The room was lovely, very spacious with a sitting area and desk and a beautiful terrace with sunbeds, looking out over the gardens with the ocean in view too.
The bathroom is large with plenty of lovely toiletries, the shower, toilet and bath are in a separate area to the sinks which share their space with wardrobes and safe.
The bed was lovely, very comfortable, - 2 singles made into a king.
The room is equipped with a tv and an ipod dock which also has a clock on it also.
The room is supplied with tea and coffee making facilities however when we used specific tea bags and coffee we were disappointed that these were not replenished and had to visit reception 3 times during our stay to ask for more. In the end one of the staff brought us a box of the tea bags and said would that do which we found a little facetious. For a 5 star hotel we felt that these sorts of things should have automatically been replenished daily by housekeeping.
We added on the breakfast and dinner plan but did wonder if this was good value or not as the prices seemed to pretty much even out. Service in all 3 restaurants was superb in the evenings, we liked the Lido the best and I will put on separate reviews of all 3 of the restaurants. Breakfast was also served in the Lido and on occasion we found this a little hit and miss depending on the staff too. we asked for toast one morning and never received it, another day we asked for juice and this didn’t come and we had to ask again. It’s the little things that let this lovely hotel down and if rectified would make a great deal of difference, especially as the room rate isn’t cheap!
3 evenings the heavens opened and the rain poured down. It was difficult to get transfers back to the room after dinner each evening and we ended up walking back and getting very wet. We felt that the hotel should be aware of this and have drivers available with the buggies when this happened to help the guests stay dry.
Also turndown in the evening was a little too early as we were generally in the shower getting ready for the evening, it would be around 6.30-6.45pm. on one evening I felt told off by housekeeping for not answering the door to her – I was in the shower and did come out to her when I was decent!
The hotel is on a beautiful beach and really is in an idyllic location. I may be being a little picky with some of my comments above but when you are paying 5 star prices you do expect the 5 star service and I will take this into consideration when I am recommending the property to others.
All in all we had a lovely relaxing stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear claire55,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback! We're so glad to hear that you found your room to be lovely and spacious and that you enjoyed the beach and idyllic location of the resort.

Attention to detail is a hallmark of luxury service, and we're very sorry to hear that our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage service missed the mark on this on several occassions. The issues you highlighted are currently being addressed with our team to ensure that they are rectified moving forward. We also appreciate your feedback on the need for a more readily available buggy service on rainy days. Solutions to this issue are currently being discussed by our management team.

Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such useful feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.