We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its the little things that let it down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Save Saved
You added Elbow Beach, Bermuda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$200 Resort Credit!
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“its the little things that let it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in a premier garden view room. Reception was excellent on check in, if a little slow and we were taken to our room in a buggy by one of the bellboys, who also told us where the amenities (restaurants, pool etc) were as we travelled to the room.
The room was lovely, very spacious with a sitting area and desk and a beautiful terrace with sunbeds, looking out over the gardens with the ocean in view too.
The bathroom is large with plenty of lovely toiletries, the shower, toilet and bath are in a separate area to the sinks which share their space with wardrobes and safe.
The bed was lovely, very comfortable, - 2 singles made into a king.
The room is equipped with a tv and an ipod dock which also has a clock on it also.
The room is supplied with tea and coffee making facilities however when we used specific tea bags and coffee we were disappointed that these were not replenished and had to visit reception 3 times during our stay to ask for more. In the end one of the staff brought us a box of the tea bags and said would that do which we found a little facetious. For a 5 star hotel we felt that these sorts of things should have automatically been replenished daily by housekeeping.
We added on the breakfast and dinner plan but did wonder if this was good value or not as the prices seemed to pretty much even out. Service in all 3 restaurants was superb in the evenings, we liked the Lido the best and I will put on separate reviews of all 3 of the restaurants. Breakfast was also served in the Lido and on occasion we found this a little hit and miss depending on the staff too. we asked for toast one morning and never received it, another day we asked for juice and this didn’t come and we had to ask again. It’s the little things that let this lovely hotel down and if rectified would make a great deal of difference, especially as the room rate isn’t cheap!
3 evenings the heavens opened and the rain poured down. It was difficult to get transfers back to the room after dinner each evening and we ended up walking back and getting very wet. We felt that the hotel should be aware of this and have drivers available with the buggies when this happened to help the guests stay dry.
Also turndown in the evening was a little too early as we were generally in the shower getting ready for the evening, it would be around 6.30-6.45pm. on one evening I felt told off by housekeeping for not answering the door to her – I was in the shower and did come out to her when I was decent!
The hotel is on a beautiful beach and really is in an idyllic location. I may be being a little picky with some of my comments above but when you are paying 5 star prices you do expect the 5 star service and I will take this into consideration when I am recommending the property to others.
All in all we had a lovely relaxing stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear claire55,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback! We're so glad to hear that you found your room to be lovely and spacious and that you enjoyed the beach and idyllic location of the resort.

Attention to detail is a hallmark of luxury service, and we're very sorry to hear that our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage service missed the mark on this on several occassions. The issues you highlighted are currently being addressed with our team to ensure that they are rectified moving forward. We also appreciate your feedback on the need for a more readily available buggy service on rainy days. Solutions to this issue are currently being discussed by our management team.

Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such useful feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    169
    87
    74
    30
See reviews for
137
229
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a wonderful second visit to Elbow beach, this time with our six-month old. The resort was incredibly accommodating and family friendly. The beaches were gorgeous and just a short walk from our room and the best meals we had on the island were all at the resort. All the staff were so attentive and helpful and the rooms were so comfortable and clean. We live in NYC and it is a short two hour flight and then a quick 20 minute cab ride to the resort. Much easier than fighting all the traffic to the Hamptons!

We will definitely be back for a third visit to Elbow Beach!! LOVE this resort!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear NYC13,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your vacation at Elbow Beach! We always love welcoming our repeat guest's back to the hotel, particularly on this occassion when you brought along the newest addition to your family.

We truly appreciate your kind words about our colleagues and beach, and are glad that the short flight was so easy for you.

Hopefully family vacations to Elbow Beach will become a tradition for your family...and we'll look forward to welcoming you back every single time.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel, fab location, wonderful heritage. Staff couldn't be more pleasant. Very nice vibe. White silky sand, turquoise warm water ! And tasty mojitos although the Food and beverage was a bit pricey

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Tina E,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your recent stay at Elbow Beach! We're so glad that you enjoyed yourself and we have to agree, the mojitos are delicious.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Mom3bellas wrote the exact words that I had about the resort. As my wife and I had the pleasure of honeymooning there 49 years ago we were somewhat disappointed that the "Hotel" was no longer in use. I guess we were waxing nostalgic about our first vacation as newlyweds, and would have enjoyed staying in the main dwelling as we did when it wasn't quite as old. The beach was still great as ever and we'd really like to know when the current owners are going to renovate the hotel!

Room Tip: Stay near the corners of the villas so you can get to the shuttles faster. If your an elderly person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear PapaC_6,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent return visit!

We are always so thrilled to have those who honeymooned with us return, and we're glad the beach was just as wonderful as you remembered it.

We understand and appreciate your comments regarding the main building. At this time, a variety of plans for the renovation are being investigated, but there is currently no fixed timetable for when those renovations will take place.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had booked a Premier Ocean View room at Elbow Beach this August. The description of the room is as follows: "This newly renovated room has spectacular ocean views, with a private patio." To say that this is false advertising is an understatement. Upon arrival, our view was that of a parking lot, the back of a building, and a large evergreen tree. I'd say maybe 1/5 of the view was of water.

Before I go on I will say this - the service for the hour we spent at Elbow Beach and that leading up to our experience was outstanding. The personal email from the concierge was extremely helpful and kind. And the manager on duty the night we checked in and out was superb - both professional, accommodating, and understanding. I would rate these two people 5 stars. The lobby and grounds were beautiful and I'm sure the beach was outstanding.

As far as the room situation, after being shown 2 more rooms with similar views, we looked elsewhere and ended up checking out of the resort. For the rates that Elbow Beach charges, the descriptions of the rooms should be more appropriate.

I understand that different travelers have different sticking points when it comes to their accommodations. For some people it's food, service, location... for us it happens to be having a balcony with a beautiful view since we do not have that every day. We are willing to pay a premium for this. Elbow Beach unfortunately did not deliver.

Room Tip: Call before you travel and ensure you have the view you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear TheSFamily,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience.

We apologize that our Premier Ocean View Rooms did not meet your expectations in regards to the view. We are taking this feedback very seriously and will be discussing ways to make improvements.

We also appreciate you taking the time to highlight the excellent service experience you did have while with us, even if that was only for a short time. We hope to welcome you back on another occasion so that you can enjoy the beach and the grounds.

Kind regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Bermuda is beautiful. The beaches gorgeous and there is no better beach than Elbow beach. Blue crystal waters and soft pink sand are just steps away from your room. This hotel could have been the perfect island getaway if it just received some TLC and an a little more attention by the staff. The main part of this hotel is not in use... It feels a little eerie to see the majestic hotel empty. I believe it is scheduled for renovations but am not sure when. The rooms you stay in are located throughout the properties in little Villas. The rooms are spacious and clean. We have 3 small children and the ability to join rooms with an outside door that could be locked was an added bonus. The service fell short in many areas. The concierge was hit and miss. They slip a daily info sheet under your door listing activities. However sometimes this info was wrong resulting in wasted time and taxi $$. There was never any info on kids club or special kids activities so my children did not participate. There where times where there was music at the beach but it was never publicized. And then there would be music during the day for 5 min and then none. The laundry service was awful, don't use it. For a Mandarin, the service was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Mom3bellasorella,

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your recent stay at Elbow Beach, Bermuda.

We appreciate your kind words about the beauty of Bermuda and our beach, as well as the convenience of the connecting rooms with children.

We are very sorry however that our service did not meet your standards, or those that we endeavor to provide. We also apologize that you were not made aware of the amenities offered by The Camp at Elbow Beach for your children and the live entertainment on Friday evenings. We are taking this feedback very seriously, and will be discussing ways to better communicate with our guests on all the services and amenities the hotel has to offer.

Again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Kind regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The resort is beautiful. We stayed in the Bouganvillea (something like that) which is right across from the restaurants and beach (2 minute walk to the beach). Loved the hotel room/ammenities and the turndown service - your room was basically cleaned twice a day (good cause of the sand). Nesperesso machines in the rooms and a mini bar. The restaurants have really good seafood. Mickey's was by far our favorite for lunch and dinner. The seafood salad was amazing (had it every day for lunch) and so is the spicy grilled prawns (these suckers are HUGE). Dinner at Mickeys - the seafood risotto and the mussels and clams were really good as well.

The beach - the nicest beach in Bermuda. Everyone knows it well, and it's PRIVATE. The staff will ask intruders to leave! We had no problem finding lounge chairs in the front row every day and staff walk around the beach (you have to flag them down, because they don't want to bother everyone) so you can order drinks from Mickey's and they are delivered to you at your lounge chair. The beach was not crowded at all (again, PRIVATE beach). I would go back here in a heart beat!

The spa - there was confusion regarding the spa. They claimed I made a reservation early than I did, which was actually not the case. The spa receptionist screwed it up. However when we called an hour before our appointment time regarding this, I don't know why they couldn't see us. I'm thinking the double booked. Anyways, I was quite annoyed. This is a Mandarin Oriental after all. They tried to say "I'm sorry" with a fruit plate. Come on, a red delicious apple served with a cut up orange? That was just insulting. I frequent the Mandarin Oriental in Washington D.C., and it is a much nicer spa than Elbow Beach. I wouldn't do a spa treatment at Elbow Beach again. The Washington D.C. spa is just bigger and has more ammenities to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdier, Public Relations Manager at Elbow Beach, Bermuda, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Wendy0331,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay at Elbow Beach.

We're so pleased to hear that you loved your room, the beach and all the delicious seafood at Mickey's. I must admit, the Spicy Grilled Prawns are a favourite of mine as well!

Our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory service you received from our spa. We take your feedback very seriously and will be discussing the service issues you have highlighted. The spa coordinator extends her apologies to you as well.

We hope to welcome you back to Elbow Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Elbow Beach, Bermuda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elbow Beach, Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elbow Beach, Bermuda

Address: 60 South Shore Rd, PG 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Paget Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Paget Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elbow Beach, Bermuda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elbow Beach is Bermuda's only luxury beachfront resort. Lanai-style patios are featured with each of our 98 guestrooms and suites, spread amongst 50 acres of tropical gardens sloping down to the longest private pink sand beach on the island. Each of our elegantly appointed rooms and suites have been enhanced with modern in-room entertainment systems, luxurious soft furnishings, iPod docking stations, personal espresso machines and upgraded bathroom facilities. Facilities include a holistic spa, swimming pool, fitness room, recreation lounge, tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsClick, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Elbow Beach, Bermuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Hotel Paget
Mandarin Oriental Paget
Elbow Beach, Bermuda Paget Parish
Elbow Beach Hotel Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Beach, Bermuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.