We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While a the Botanical Gardens...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art

The Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art
Botanical Gardens | 183 South Road, DV02, Bermuda
441 299 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Paget Parish
Type: Art Museums
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bermuda's first purpose built museum houses a collection of Bermuda inspired art of over 1,200 works by artists such as Georgia O'Keeffe, Winslow Homer and Albert Gleizes. A continuously evolving show of local artists is also on display. To learn about Bermuda’s culture and history, there is no better stop on your vacation itinerary! Open Monday - Saturday, 10am - 4pm and Sunday from 11 am - 4 pm CLOSED on Public Holidays and Exhibit Changeovers. Admission $5, free for members and children under 12.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“While a the Botanical Gardens...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

While sight-seeing at the Botanical Gardens, we paid the small fee to see the Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art, which was exhibiting photography and photographs of Bermuda. They have a small, but very pleasant space that is well curated.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
154 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Make sure you visit here when visiting the Botanical Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am not one who is usually attracted to Art galleries, but tend to make an exception when abroad as you can usually get a different prospective of where you are visiting by how the locals paint it.
And we really struck lucky with this one, especially as we did not even know it was here
The Masterworks Museum was Bermuda's first purpose-built art museum when it opened early in 2008, and is housed within a former arrowroot processing plant in Bermuda's Botanical Gardens.
It is a relatively small museum with a couple of rooms displaying art work from local artists that as the previous reviewer has commented does offer a unique perspective on Bermuda.
But the real big plus was the current exhibit, “Drawing with Light Photography in Bermuda”, which will be resident for a few more months.
This was a truly excellent collection of mainly old B&W photos of stages of Bermuda history since the days of photography. As well as how locations on Bermuda looked several years ago, one of the most poignant for us was the picture of the Bermudan armed forces on the dockside waiting to board the ships to go to the fields of France for WW I. I wonder if they had any inkling that they would be travelling from heaven to hell.
There is a nice café on site for refreshments. I’m not sure I would rave about it as much as others but it was a good location for a tea and cake stop and probably for the locals its big plus is that it is a food location that doesn’t focus of deep fried food that Bermudan’s seem to live on. For the tourist if you eat here you get a couple of dollar discount on the $5 cost to view the exhibition in the gallery.
Definitely a recommended visit…
And even though not Canadian, I had to have a photo next to the Moose as well, instead of the John Lennon Double Fantasy permanent installation, which shows how much of an art luddite I am..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Gem within the Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Masterworks meets its objective to "release the power of the art to better understand Bermuda’s history and culture." Situated in Bermuda's Botanical Gardens, this small museum offers a unique perspective on Bermuda in the recent exhibit, Drawing with Light Photography in Bermuda.

Having only a few days on a first visit to Bermuda, I was expecting to tour the gardens after a light lunch at Homer's Cafe, another gem within the garden. Eating at the cafe gave us a discount at the Museum (bringing the already reasonable admission price down from $5 to $3) so we decided to check it out. As well as the historical photography exhibit that broadened my understanding of the island's history with memorable photographs, we toured the smaller gallery currently showing paintings by local artists, providing another perspective on the island.

The museum volunteers were helpful as was the Founder and Creative Director who we met on our way out and who offered us a lift back to our hotel after a surprise shower prematurely ended our tour of the gardens. Thanks and keep up the great work.

Oh and Canadians will enjoy the moose that greets you as you enter...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I went here a few years back and was delighted!! What a find!!! The artwork is top-notch and the museum itself is very well maintained. The staff is super friendly, at the time they were giving out free books showcasing the permanent collection. They have many activities and programs for kids, so I would recommend checking out what is on schedule for the day before visiting. I believe the fee was $5 for non-members when I went - but worth every penny.

The museum coupled with a stroll through the Botanical Gardens and you have yourself a fantastic afternoon!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ever changing and always interesting exhibits. Not your average art gallery. Free and informative. Kids welcomed. Set in the middle of the Botanical Gardens so they can run around afterwards. Good public transport links (hop off at the hospital). Funded by donations so if you love it drop a dollar in the tin.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art also viewed

 

Been to The Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Masterworks Museum of Bermuda Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.