We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place to stay for a relaxing Bermuda vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watercolours

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Watercolours
Save Saved
You added Watercolours to your Saves list
Harbour Road, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Pottstown, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is THE place to stay for a relaxing Bermuda vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

After visiting Bermuda many times, my wife and I stumbled across Watercolours. What a find! The location is midway between big city (Hamilton) and beaches (the South Shore), and is picture perfect. Situated on Hamilton Harbour, the scenery is beautiful. Our hosts, Carol and Joe are there if you need advice on where to dine and how to get to any particular destination on the island. We can't say enough about this delightful bed and breakfast. This is spot we will return to often.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Watercolours this past September (2009) and have nothing but glowing things to say about this B&B. The house itself is stunning and we felt like super stars kicking back by the pool (overlooking Hamilton Bay) and watching yachts slow down to take a look at the gorgeous house we were staying at! Our bedroom was clean, well lit and a generous size. Bathroom was great as well. The continental breakfast was much more than I expected. There was an assortment of cold cereals, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juice and as well as a freshly baked good. The location of Watercolours is fabulous. It's just a ten minute taxi from Hamilton and is a five minute walk from the Belmont ferry that takes you to Hamilton. In keepers Carol and Joe were friendly and made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. In my opinion, Watercolours is the only way to do Bermuda.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

A delightful and tastefully decorated home with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The pre-visit information was extremely helpul, right down to arranging a taxi to colletc us from the airport and set the scene for a most enjoyable stay. Carole and her family welcomed us into their home and provided the right mix of leaving us free to relax while at the same time ensuring we felt welcome.

The breakfasts were first class, well presented with excellent home made pastries, fruit and a choice of cereals along with a variety of teas or coffee.

An example of the thoughtfulness of Carole in making you feel welcome is the provision of a pair of ferry tickets. A ferry ride is needed to get to most places, the perfect way to start a day in Bermuda. Once in Hamilton we were able to purchase a Ferry-bus pass (essential as well as being excellent value) which gave us unlimited travel on all buses and ferries - they serve virtually every location throughout the islands.

The view across the harbour is magnificent and can be enjoyed in the early evening, relaxing by the pool with a complimentary beverage (Bermuda Rum of course) . The sunsets are the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We loved our four night stay at Watercolours. We stayed for our 20th anniversary, and had a great time. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The setting, right on the harbour, is gorgeous and convenient. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the deck watching the boats go by and enjoying the small but refreshing pool. The breakfasts were tasty and elegant. We did not rent mopeds but got around easily using the ferries and taxis. We appreciated Carole's help with taxi reservations and restaurant recommendations before we arrived.

We agree with a comment made by a previous reviewer, who mentioned that the hosts, Carole and Joe, are mostly hands off. You can usually find them if you have a question or problem and they make a point to greet you and to say good-bye, but most of the time we were there we enjoyed a great deal of privacy.

We did miss a couple of things that we would have had at a larger hotel, mostly having access to a telephone we could use to make a call to the U.S. with a calling card, and having ice available all day long, but overall we loved the convenience, location, privacy, and beauty of Watercolours. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I have been to Bermuda 6-7 times over the past 20-years staying at hotels (Elbow Beach, Newstead), B&B's and efficiency apartments - so we have seen the gamut. of available accommodations in Bermuda.

My wife and I just returned from Bermuda where we spent five (5) nights at Watercolours.

Watercolours is run by Carole Holding, a local and well known Bermudian artist with a shop in Hamilton and a cottage industry into every possible use of watercolor images of Bermuda. Carole is charming, thoughtful and very helpful. Carole made restaurant recommendations, actually made several before we arrived, arranged for taxi pick-up and drop off at the airport, plus she provided other helpful services.

Watercolours is a beautiful 10 year old large and charming home with just two B&B bedrooms (makes for privacy and serenity) located directly on Hamilton Harbour - within a 2 minute walk to the Belmont Ferry into Hamilton (great when you want to go into Hamilton for dinner and don't want to drive home with a motor bike after a bottle of wine). Beautiful views of the harbour. (Same view as the Newstead Hotel but at 1/2 the price). Small but very adequate salt water pool. Plenty of chaise lounges and outdoor tables where you can relax by the pool or enjoy coffee or breakfast in the morning sitting by the pool and the harbour views (and the ferries going back and forth) or a nightcap in the evening. Breakfast promptly at 8:00 AM served by Annie. Breakfast is fresh baked breads, cereals, yogurt, fresh orange juice, fresh coffee - great but essentially the same each morning. Good "press" coffee. The best orange marmalade I have every eaten - made with Scotch .I think the brand is Dewar’s...but I digress.

The two B&B rooms are modern, large, and well furnished with a comfortable bed, lots of closet space, and they open directly to the harbour views and pool. Quiet and off the road. Very nice.

Watercolours has a convenient location just into Warwick Parish on Harbour Road. You do need to rent a motor bike (Elbow Beach Cycles - they pick you up and let you leave the bike at Watercolours when you leave, so you don't have to return it - very convenient) or plan on using the water ferry ($2.50 per ride) and taxis ($12-15 from Hamilton). You can walk easily to the very nice Blu Restaurant at the Belmont Hotel and Golf Club next door.

As a special insight try the Elbow Beach public beach down a small "Indian Tribe Lane" next to the Coral Beach resort (there are no umbrella or chair rentals - you need to bring your own) and skip the public Horseshoe beach which is inundated with cruise ship tourists (hundreds of the great unwashed) and which has no charm at all ...or try one of the other smaller side beaches which are much less visited (no rentals) (need a motor bike to get to them) but much more charming and beautiful! If you stay several days you can buy inexpensive chairs and an umbrella rather than paying a $30/day rental for two-cheap chairs and a cheap umbrella that won’t stay up in the wind. I don’t think
Watercolours supplies them.

Carole: Would be a good idea though.

I strongly think that Watercolours, even at it’s somewhat premium price is a great value and I will return!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

It was our 30th anniversary and we had originally honeymooned in Bermuda so I was looking for high quality accomendations as this was a special vacation. We had friends that have stayed at Carol's Watercolours before and said we would be not find a better B&B and they were right. The place was elegant, romantic, and charming. Carol goes out of her way to make your stay so easy and special from her elegant continental breakfast to her help with restuarant and transportation accommedations. The room was spacious and Anna always had it spotless. The view was so beautiful and I felt like I was in my own private villa (if I owned one). Lastly the location was great as it was centrally located from the beaches and towns.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington,NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We loved this place and can see why it got such high marks. Unfortunately, Bermuda is a mixed bag when it comes to service as we found out even in the higher end restaurants. Carol's B&B was the best decision we made the whole vacation. We enjoyed our stay tremendously! As a 9/11 survivor, I find that crowded resorts far from relaxing, this place was "the perfect location" and ideal for being both romantic and quiet. Carol was helpful, pleasant and informative. She set us up with a taxi to pick us up from the airport. Everything was spotless and ready when we arrived. We had beautiful weather and swam in the salt water pool that was both relaxing and invigorating. Floating on your back and staring up at the blue sky with a palm tree swinging in the breeze can not be underrated! As well as watching the ferry boat go by while sitting out and drying in the sun or taking a shower and looking out the window. It was such a unique experience one that will be very hard to ever beat. The water off the back was so clean and clear you could see very large fish swim by. I can highly recommend a visit here without any reservations. Also, Carol introduced us to a new cocktail. It consisted of Raspberry rum and sprite and tasted delicious. Truly, we haven't had a vacation that can touch this one and we only stayed for three days. It was relaxing, romantic and worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Watercolours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watercolours

Address: Harbour Road, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Watercolours Hotel Warwick
Watercolours Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watercolours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.