We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watercolours

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watercolours
Harbour Road, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

A perfect place for R&R. Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location, with every detail covered. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, as well as different each day. Carole is an attentive host, who made sure we had everything we needed and offered advice on things to see and do. Being only two minutes away from the Belmont ferry stop was very convenient and we usually went into Hamilton and decided where to head out to from there each day, making good use of our all inclusive pass. In ten days we covered all of the key sites and some less frequented ones, such as Spittal Pond. The island people are very friendly and it never seemed crowded anywhere. We were lucky enough to be there for the Good Friday festivities on Horseshoe Bay, kite flying, Gombey dancing, music and fun for all ages. We would highly recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Bermuda for many years and have stayed at Watercolours many times. It is absolutely lovely and Carole and Joe are exceptional hosts and have always made our stay special. We especially love the expanded continental breakfast in the mornings which is a perfect start to the day. The decor is lovely, the beds comfortable and the environment is quiet. A small pool and deck overlooks Hamilton Harbor and is very relaxing as you see the ferries and boats drifting by. It's perfect if you want to cool off or read a book. This is a FANTASTIC LOCATION. It is very easy to get into Hamilton by scooter or if you choose not to scooter the island -- the ferry is very close so you can get anywhere you wish easily. We feel absolutely so spoiled at Watercolours. It is a beautiful place to stay when in Bermuda. The only note that I would add is that I would not choose this location if you have children.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Watercolours in March 2012 for a week. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Annie, who takes care of the two guest rooms in this beautiful private residence. She also sets out the delicious continental breakfast that we enjoyed each morning in the library. The location is on Harbor Road, which does have some traffic, but you will experience only peace and quiet in your room and on the patio which you access through french doors. The view of the harbor and nearby Hinson Island is beautiful with the occasional ferry (Belmont ferry stop is a 5 minute walk) or small boat passing by.

The weather was beautiful the week we visited, with the temperatures in the 60s, a little cool to take advantage of the small pool located outside the library doors. You can also swim or snorkel from the dock, with the harbor mere feet from you room.

Carole and Joe Holding, the owners of this beautiful property, stopped by to chat and catch us up on the local goings on, numerous times during our stay. They are charming and do a great job to make you feel at home. We have enjoyed their hospitality at Watercolours numerous times and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The queen bedroom has an extra window and windows in the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Watercolours for an extended period in August. The transfer from the airport was efficient however upon arrival there was no one to greet us. We had to walk around the property knocking on doors before getting someone's attention. That someone ended up being Annie. We were shown our room in a very nonchalant way. The room was clean and spacious with a walkout to a great view of the harbour. We then noticed the rule sheets- an extensive list of what not to do during your stay. Now, I know a place needs to have rules but it all felt very restrictive. On our first day we were left to figure everything out for ourselves. After doing some reading in our guide and talking to the couple staying next door, we made our way to the ferry nearby. The ferry ride to Hamilton is pleasant but we soon realized that Watercolours wouldn't be the most convenient place for people like us who like to move around a lot. It is located on the middle road dissecting the island which means you have to always go into Hamilton to catch a bus or take expensive taxis. A week passed and we still didn't see the owner. Annie made a brief guest appearance to clean our room while we ate breakfast. Breakfast was not scrumptious as advertised but rather seemingly a ration to share between the guests of the two rooms. We had to make our own coffee. We felt very uncomfortable a few times when we heard an elderly voice ask "Is that you Annie?". From what we gathered, the owner's mother occupies a room across the breakfast area. Annie seemed a little overwhelmed as she seems to be responsible for the guests and "granma". This made breakfast a "eat quick and go" type of affair. Never were we ever asked if we needed anything or if everything was alright. We finally did see the owner for a few minutes at the end of our stay as we waited for our taxi on the street. Overall, the setting was beautiful, but we would not stay here again because the hospitality leaves much to be desired. The overall atmosphere of the place is impersonal and cold. After reading some of the glowing reviews here I wonder if we stayed at the same place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

The location just feet from the harbor was a sight to wake to, blue water, views of Hamilton, nearby ferry access, simply perfect. Breakfasts were wonderful, the host most gracious, her art work beautiful. Quiet and comfortable, top notch accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My life partner and I have stayed at Watercolours many times over the past eight years, and have NEVER had a bad experience. In fact, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Bermuda.

Watercolours' two gorgeous guest rooms front a small, but inviting, pool and Hamilton Harbor. And owners Carole (a much-admired and collected Bermuda watercolorist) and Joe Holding, along with Annie, do a terrific job keeping the home and landscaping gorgeous, and the overall environment warm and friendly.

We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Watercolours is a lovely & tasteful seafront property located on Harbour road , Warwick Parish. Its location is peaceful and quiet but is very handy for touring Bermuda. It has a prime and handy location for both ferry and bus transport to all parts of the Islands. Belmont & Darrell’s Wharf ferry services to the capital Hamilton are a very short walk from the accommodation (2 to 3 mines). If you want a slightly longer walk (10min s) you can walk to Middle Road for buses to Hamilton & Docklands Numbers 7 and 8.

Within walking distance, there are other amenities such as a Supermarket,
Pizza/Pastries shops, Golf course and Club.

Breakfast is continental & plentiful and has the special touch with Carole’s home made brands of preserves. If you need any assistance Annie is always helpful, also rooms are serviced daily by Annie.

Transfers to and from the airport can be arranged by Carole, however, you will have the responsibility to make payments to the driver personally.

We thank Carole and family for a lovely time in Bermuda, and we hope to visit Watercolours again sometime in the not too distance.

Room Tip: Tip. You can hire a scooter, which can be arranged through Carole, or if your prefer public transpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watercolours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watercolours

Address: Harbour Road, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Also Known As:
Watercolours Hotel Warwick
Watercolours Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watercolours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Watercolours to your Saves list