We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granaway Guest House & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Granaway Guest House & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Granaway Guest House & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me my husband,children and grandchildren stayed here we did take up all the rooms including the cottage WOW !,,, what a amazing time we had.. Mike and Carol could not have been kinder and very accommodating to our needs ... The house And cottage were always clean and the breakfasts were great 9 o'clock sharp... They helped us with any arrangements we wanted to make...Francisco is definitely their right hand man and will always have a smile on his face...we were invited by mike to go on his boat for a beautiful ride around the island and that was just one of the best days we had.... I recommend granaway completely
Laura Porter-Wyckoff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing time away to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, and that's exactly what we got here. Michael and Carol are gracious hosts, and Francisco's breakfasts and hard work (from the pool, which is beautiful and big, to the lawn to cleaning the rooms) were more than we could have asked for.

Unquestionably, I believe, the Granaway is the best value on what can be a pretty expensive island. Don't overlook the breakfasts. At other places, you pay A LOT more, and get nothing for it. In fact, they nickel and dime you. Not here.

We stayed in The Royals Room aka The Lavender Room. The bed was comfortable, the view of the harbor is serene, the bathroom was large, the shower water stayed warm (though you have to bring your own shampoo/conditioner). I only wish someone could pay me to stay in Bermuda!

We are already checking our calendar (and our budget) for when we'll be back, maybe this time with the kids.

The only thing that could get pricey here is the need for taxis, but that might be anywhere on the island. There is a ferry into Hamilton that is inexpensive that is about a third-of-a-mile walk, but it is along very busy Harbor Rd in front of the guest house. Though Bermudian drivers are aggressive, they are quite mindful of tourists. But you'll need a cab back at night when the ferry stops running. The bus is also an inexpensive way to get around, but it's also about four-tenths of a mile walk toward Middle Rd.

The BEST way to get around is on scooter. We took a double to fit both of us for about $180 for four days. It gave tremendous freedom to get around whenever you want. Francisco will set that up for you and call the company which will pick you up and drop you off. (Francisco will also - do the same for taxis, etc. So helpful.) The scooter takes some getting used to. You drive on the left. It can be a bit herky-jerky, you have to get a feel for how to smoothly make turns, and the island is very hilly and has lots of curves with drivers going twice as fast as you. The good news: The drivers are very good at avoiding you. They are aggressive, but not because of you (like the way they'd be in NY). They just pass you and keep going and don't seem to be annoyed.

Someone in an earlier post wrote about ants. There are ants, but they're everywhere in Bermuda - on cliffs overlooking the water or resorts (where you get nothing in addition) and cost twice, three times the price. What there weren't were mosquitoes. So ants vs. mosquitoes? I'll take the ants and a nice breeze. But go shopping at Lindo's and put your snacks in the fridge.

As a couple, I'd go back in a heartbeat and stay at Granaway - tomorrow if I were independently wealthy! We are considering bringing the kids, but then there goes the scooter option. With kids, it might be better to stay at the beach, but good luck with prices.

As for Bermuda more generally, Hamilton's not worth staying in. Go for a meal or two (at Hog Penny) or to bar hop, but the South shore and harbor are where it's at. And I wouldn't stay in Sandy's, the beaches just aren't nearly as nice as the South shore.

About Granaway, I just can't say enough about how great Carol and Michael were. They even took us out on their boat. A real bonus. It was like staying with family you actually like.

Room Tip: The Royals Room/Lavender Room, where we stayed, has a private patio and nice view of the harbor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was not just a guest house but an experience. It was recommended to us by local Bermudian friends and we had an exquisite week. This old Bermudian house exudes charm and has great views over Granaway Deep and the Great Sound. What Carol and Michael do really well is to bring all the guests together at breakfast which gives a really communal feel, We snorkelled with a couple from Baton Rouge and had a picnic supper on the waterside dock with a couple from New Jersey and watched the sun go down. We had met neither couple before. We unwound fully which was very important to us. Speaking to the other guests we decided that being in a hotel was just too formal. Being Brits we are used to Bed & Breakfast but this was another stage on. So we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Loved this place. Walk upstairs and see an incredible view. We were there with all family, taking up guest house and rooms in the home. My husband also has a sister and aunt on the island. We had 55 family members all over the island and our spot was VERY popular. The pool was perfect and the grounds very lush. The dock on the harbor was so fun, the kids swam and snorkeled there too. Breakfast was great, loved Carol and Mike the owners and Francisco was a wonderful help and great personality. A jack of all trades!! My only complaint was we had children with us and getting to the ferry was scary on Harbour road. Bus line is up a steep hill, and not easy to get to. Cabs are the best way to go. Our daughter, was married on the island, and Carol allowed the girls in the wedding party to use a drawing room to dress. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a business trip to steal a couple of nights together in Bermuda to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Granaway Guest House. The innkeepers, Carol and Michael Ashton, were warm and inviting, and Francisco, who helps run the place, was helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful and private, and we very much enjoyed lounging by the wonderful pool in the evening. Granaway is a short walk from the Belmont ferry stop, which makes getting to and from Hamilton a breeze, and the bus stop isn't too far either. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and we really enjoyed learning the history of the house and the island from the Ashtons. We were lucky enough to get the cottage -- thanks again, Carol! --and it was comfortable and charming. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Granaway at the end of May 2013 and we definitely loved it! The clean pool is gorgeous both during the day and at night. We loved the big yard and the vegetation and the old style of the house. The owners are very warm and welcoming and we enjoyed the delicious and lovely breakfast in the morning (thank you Francisco!). We also really enjoyed the fact that it was central on the island (not too far from Hamilton). We would definitely love to go back there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

On holiday, my husband and I take value for money quite seriously - especially in a place like Bermuda where there's a hefty duty on literally everything. Right from the beginning, we knew we were on to something special with the Granaway Guest House.
Upon arrival, expect to pay around $35 dollars to get from the airport to Warwick parish and the guest house. Non residents are not allowed to drive so you should plan to either hire a moped (~$55/day), bike, or get to know the public transportation network. We opted to walk, and take buses and ferries everywhere. To start off with when navigating the roadways, you may be worried about the lack of pavements, but if you keep close to the road walls and realize that local Bermudians are completely familiar with the narrow roads and walkers, you'll be just fine.
Granaway is a short walk from the Belmont ferry stop and about 10mins to the nearest bus stop going in to Hamilton (~15 mins) or out to the dockyards(~40 mins). The local beaches are beautiful and only around a mile away even though it feels longer due to the two manageable hills. Public transportation drivers don't give change so if you haven't purchased tokens (~$4) or a pass ahead of time, you should aim to have the correct amount or you'll be out of pocket.
The house - it's simply gorgeous. You'll be greeted by one of the warmest welcome's you could ask for by your hosts Michael and Carol, and their diligent house keeper Francisco. The house itself over looks a picturesque garden and a palm-adorned sparkling pool in the back, and the Granaway Deep bay in the front. Every window has a view and perfectly placed chairs inviting you to sit and enjoy it at every moment. There is a private patio/dock right on the water front perfect for taking in a sunset or two all to yourself. The rooms are very well appointed, comfortable, and tastefully theme-decorated. A healthy fresh breakfast of great coffee, tea, fresh fruit salad, homemade muffins, toast, eggs etc, is served at 9am. This can be taken either 'family style' around the dining table sharing the company and stories of the other guests, or more privately in the garden or your own room. Your hosts effortlessly make you feel completely comfortable in their home and can offer as much or as little local advise and information as you need.
The nearest restaurant is a short walk through their private gate across the golf course to the club house (Blu bar and grill). The view from the dining patio is breathtaking, perfect for enjoying some excellent cocktails and incredible sushi rolls.
We would jump at the chance to stay at the Granaway next time we treat ourselves to a getaway in Bermuda. The Granaway offers excellent value for money in a beautifully idealistic setting. It's near enough to everything you need, and yet far enough away to make you feel like you're in your own little paradise. It's the icing AND the cake!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granaway Guest House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granaway Guest House & Cottages

Address: Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granaway Guest House & Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granaway is a Bermudian bed and breakfast. The manor house was built in 1734 and is a registered historic property. There is a water front patio excellent for relaxing and watching the sunset or for swimming and snorkeling in the summer. The pool is set in a lush walled in garden area. There is a gate onto the Belmont Hills Golf Course. Breakfast is served in the dining room, in the garden or in your room if you prefer. Granaway has a central location in Warwick Parish and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to either the ferry or the bus. All rooms have a water view, cable TV and wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Granaway Guest House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granaway Guest House And Cottages
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Hotel Warwick
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granaway Guest House & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.