We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Home Away From Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granaway Guest House & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granaway Guest House & Cottages
Save
You added Granaway Guest House & Cottages to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
405 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Comfortable Home Away From Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A charming, comfortable old Bermuda home nestled amongst beautiful gardens, I stayed during the week between Christmas and New Year's 2012. While I never met the owners as they were on their holidays, the caretaker Francisco attended to my every need. The house sits on busy Harbour Road, and while there is road traffic noise, it settles down about 9-10pm. The grounds include several areas to sit and read or chat, an area for croquet, and a pool with seating. Across Harbour Road, Granaway has a wee gate that leads down to the water. Other guests swam in this area.There were several bookshelves loaded with books for guests to read.

My room was quite large, king-sized bed, washroom with shower (no shampoo or conditioner - bring your own), microwave, fridge, dishes, glassware, silverware, coffee pot, fairly large closet complete with two towels for the pool, small-sized older television, alarm clock radio with iPOD docking station, desk & chair, sofa & coffee table and another chair with sidetable. The bed was comfortable for me and the room clean. As it was in the lower part of the house, it did have a cooler feel to it. Two windows faced the water, and a couple of other windows faced the side of the property. All windows had shades or shutters to open or close for sunlight and two of the windows opened for fresh air. During my stay I did not need to use air conditioning or heat. My room was positioned under the main living room of the house which was not in use during my stay as the owners were not in residence. So I'm not able to speak to what it might have been like to have footsteps overhead. I will say that I did not hear noise from any of the other rooms in the house.

Breakfast was served promptly at 9am every morning in the dining area, or you could have it brought to your room. OJ, fresh made muffins, fresh fruit cocktails, eggs cooked various ways, toasts, coffee or tea - it was all lovingly prepared by Francisco and sometimes his girlfriend Annabelle would help. Maverick, the dog, monitors all of the comings & goings, and would often sit at my feet while I read in the gardens. Olive, the cat, will find your lap. Francisco made it clear that the animals are not allowed in the guest rooms.

The property is about a 10 minute walk to the closest ferry. I purchased a ferry/bus pass good for 7 days which helped save on always having to have exact change. The ferry will allow you to ride for free over to Hamilton to then buy your fare/pass. The one negative aspect about the ferry drop off is that you must walk on Harbour Road to get to & from the ferry dock, and this is a very busy narrow two lane road. While drivers are careful, and mirrors are plentiful to help with knowing what's coming around the corner, hug the walls as much as you can, especially during rush hours. I did not rent a scooter or bike during my stay, and relied completely on public transportation (so easy) and a taxi when I brought groceries back to my room. (and of course, taxis to & from the airport)

You can also walk about 10 minute up the hill behind the guest house to find the closest bus stop (at a school) that will take you either toward Hamilton or toward the Dockyards.

I enjoyed my stay at the Granaway - it was quiet & relaxing, and Francisco was a great help in terms of things to do and transportation needs. The house was comfortable and a pleasant home away from home. I would definately consider staying there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for this kind of stay.

Room Tip: Remember, this house is around 300 years old. I did get a sneak peak at the other rooms while they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    23
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
65
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On a business trip for few nights and a regular business visitor of Bermuda, I decided to try something different from the corporate hotels to appreciate more the Bermuda experience. The place was recommended by colleagues who live on the island and it definetely exceeded my expectations. The house is simply stunning, nearly 300 years old and all is about details: the room decor (with modern wifi and TV), the breakfast set and food served in the master living room of the house with a view on the ocean, homemade muffins, the cute cat and dog, the beautiful house grounds. I traveled into Hamilton to go to work by ferry (Belmont ferry stop is not far away and the walk in the morning just sets you in a good mood and a USD3.25 ride by ferry make the travel as cost efficient as it can be - make sure you have exact cash). The owners and their staff are very attentive, though descreet. A real "home" feel, class and quiet for those not wanting to stay with the crowds. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can choose to stay in the separate cottage (beautiful with own garden and view of the ocena) or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Bermuda but the fist time we stayed on land. What a great vacation!! Bermuda remains safe, clean and utterly relaxing. The weather was fabulous, the water was refreshing and the beauty of the land and sea scapes never ends.

We searched the internet to find places to stay and became enchanted by the Granaway Guest House. We liked the central location. We were intrigued by the age of the home. There were lots and lots of positive reviews. So, we booked it.

If you are looking for a modern, luxurious resort with lots of amenities and constant activities then you are not suited for Granaway. However, if you are looking for a reasonable getaway location with unique ambiance, delightful conversation, open and caring attention and don't mind doing a bit of walking then nothing can beat Michael and Carol Ashton's wonderful home.

Each succesive Breakfast topped the one from the day before. The location has a beautiful view of the sound. The back yard garden and the pool are excellent. The harbor-side dock offers the best sunsets and a great place to swim and float. The bus and the ferry stop very nearby. Your hosts are exceedingly accomodating often offering a ride to the beach in the morning, allowing occassional use of the main kitchen and the back yard grill. Their right-hand-man, Francisco, is extremely attentive, making me an early press of coffee each morning as I sat on the balcony and read before the other guests arrived for breakfast.

Did I mention Olive and Maverick? As with most domesticated cats, if you don't want her near you Olive will find your lap. Maverick is always on the job making sure all is well. He's a great companion and loves getting his pets.

Some reviews mention road noise and mustiness in the downstairs rooms. I cannot argue, indeed this can be the case. The road noise begins to recede in ones mind after the first day of relaxing and the mustiness is a nartural by-product of a home of this age in this sub-tropical setting. I've experienced worse in modern hotels in places like Puerto Vallarta and even on Oahu. Pump up the air conditioning a bit to mitigate the problem..

We would definitely call Granaway our home-away-from-home when we return to Bermuda again.

Room Tip: The Cottage is great, and more private if you want to be more self sustaining. Of the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I traveled solo to visite my friendsin bermuda i stayed at granaway in harbor road for 7 days i loved it so much i enjoyed breakfast in bed with the view of hamilton in my window , swiming in the pool and sitting in the garden , i dont like pets but their doggie is so adorable i miss him so much oxoxox, my favoriate part is the sound of little frogs night time :) u dont hear that in new york ;)

i recommend granaway .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I recently had a wonderful stay at this fantastic guest house (we stayed in the cottage where we could use the kitchen to make local treats such as Bermuda Rum Cake and Bermuda Lemon cake - the latter recipe is on the cutting board on the wall!)

How we made room for anything to eat after the fantastic breakfasts (thanks Francisco!) I'll never know but we managed anyway...

Michael and Carol are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to make sure you have everything that you need for your stay and can help you organise anything that you want to during your stay - they really went out of their way for us.

We really hope to make a trip back their soon and can't recommend it highly enough.

If you are going to Bermuda and planning on staying here we are very jealous of you!

Laura and Francois Lepeltier

Room Tip: We had the cottage - quiet and peaceful with our own garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Granaway in July 2012. It truly was Home away from Home! The grounds were beautiful and loved the pool. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and not the hustle & bustle of cruising to Bermuda as we had done several times. It's location was perfect to get to either side of the island. It also has a little gate that leads out to the 17th hole of Belmont Hills Golf Course. So we enjoyed walks in the am and my husband played golf one am. Enjoyed the breakfast every morning & meeting the other guests who were staying in the house. Really liked the fact that you had your own bathroom, fridge & microwave. Made staying on the island affordable foodwise. It even came equipped with Maverick the dog and Oilve the Cat. It truly was one of our best visits to Bermuda - what a find. We are planning on returning next year with our sons and their wives we loved it so much!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great - harbor views. There also is a cottage you can rent with a kitchen if o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights while waiting for an apartment at Greenbank (all in the family). The single regret is that it should have been longer! A beautiful room overlooking Hamilton Harbor ... grounds that rival the Botanical Gardens with a pool. My personal highlight was using the Ashton's kitchen (with their gracious consent) to prepare Zuppa di Pesce from a recipe I picked up for fish stew in Amalfi ... all in all a magic visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick Parish
1.6 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fourways Inn
Fourways Inn
#2 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,618 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granaway Guest House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granaway Guest House & Cottages

Address: Harbour Road | PO Box WK 533, WK BX, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granaway Guest House & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granaway is a Bermudian bed and breakfast. The manor house was built in 1734 and is a registered historic property. There is a water front patio excellent for relaxing and watching the sunset or for swimming and snorkeling in the summer. The pool is set in a lush walled in garden area. There is a gate onto the Belmont Hills Golf Course. Breakfast is served in the dining room, in the garden or in your room if you prefer. Granaway has a central location in Warwick Parish and it is only a 5-10 minute walk to either the ferry or the bus. All rooms have a water view, cable TV and wireless access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granaway Guest House And Cottages
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Hotel Warwick
Granaway Guest House & Cottages Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granaway Guest House & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.