We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Really Escape It All” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Side Beach Club to your Saves list
Surf Side Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Shore Road, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Saint Charles, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Place to Really Escape It All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Been travelling to Bermuda off & on since 1977 from Chicago. Stayed at small hotel and resort hotels in the past there. Got to see how the island has changed over the decades. Needed a place to rest after cancer treatment and selected Surf Side--could not do better as to overall concern from staff, peace and quiet, etc. Beautiful gardens; steps lead down to the ocean. Could see the tropical fish feeding on the reef from my perch just above the waves. Room with ocean view; very clean room with amenities perfectly adequate for my needs. Surf Side is a place of escape from the hustle and bustle--simple, clean, quiet and friendly. Have stayed at Ritz Hotels and luxury hotels around the world. Travel widely and would never stay anyplace else in Bermuda. Staff extremely helpful and supportive. Onsite spa is awesome. No restaurants on site, but my room had kitchenette; let the staff know ahead of time, and your groceries will be stocked in your room on arrival. Full-service restaurant about 5 minutes' walk, as well as BBQ stand, ice cream stand, and gas station with food and drink items. Bus stop near hotel entrance; bus tokens available at hotel office. Have stayed there 3 times in the past year. Going back again this winter. Love it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    31
    38
    23
See reviews for
31
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Surf Side Beach Club. Nice views! Ok hotel. Would choose another next time. We have stayed at a few hotels that are much better. But it suited it's purpose to sleep. Bermuda is a fantastic island with lush landscape, narrow limestone roads, beautiful beaches and secluded coves. The water is aqua with rocky landscape. Sunsets and dining are great. A must see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Surf Side is not the quaint cottage-colony of Bermuda's tourism hey-day. It is a property that is well past its prime and the approximate US$189 per night rate certainly does not justify the place looking worn and tired but if you can overlook the circa-1980's-efficiency-apartment-look of these places then you may be okay. The room I visited was clean including the bathroom and kitchenette area and the aircon was new and worked well - Room 38.

The tiled floor was spotless and at first glance although I wasn't thrilled, I was half convinced that my cousins (who were the ones actually booked to stay there) could 'do-this'. But on closer inspection and finally observing the disappointment on their faces (a look of "ok we're committed so we have to make-do") was not good enough so I made alternate arrangements immediately. My family were fortunate because I am a Bermudian who lives here on the island so they had a host of options presented to them. But, most visitors do not have this luxury and its for them that I have posted this review.

Saying that, I am heartened to see that many posts have been positive about Surf Side because despite the property's shortcomings some travelers have been able to navigate its 'rough edges' and get the most out of their Bermuda stay. Bermuda is a first-class destination albeit often pricey but overall well worth the 'price of admission'!

If you are on a tight budget and can excuse the past-its-prime aura, rusted exterior airconditioning unit covers, less than luxurious linens and furniture, appliances and decor that function but are well past their 'due-date', then this is a workable place. Seriously. It can be done and a wonderful vacation can be had but only if the issues listed are not necessarily deal breakers. Sidenote: I observed several guests on the property who were relaxed while taking in the spectacular South Shore views so as I stated before a pleasant stay at Surf Side can be had I believe.

But, if you are a traveler like me whose vacation is defined by the details and who can be inspired or turned off by surrounding aesthetics, this will be a no-go for you.

Lastly, on my visit yesterday the pool was clean although I could not vouch for whether or not there was beach sand on the pool bottom as one reviewer stated and the lady who was working on the reception desk was polite and honest and respectful in handling our displeasure.

I did not visit the beach either which probably changes frequently because of its highly exposed southern location...not to worry there are popular beaches 5 minutes east and 10+ minutes west away from the property.

I hope that this description provides further clarity regarding this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Short and Sweet List
• No better value on the Island for around $200 a night.
• Look at our pictures, place is very clean (Pool is usually all yours).
• Furniture is a bit dated, but it’s not The Elbow Beach Resort next-door ($595/night).
• For 2013, don’t expect a beach, in 2012 there was one, a nice one. It comes and goes each year, honest.
• Remember, this isn’t the Hilton.
• Views are the best on the Island.
• The GM is a bit crabby, but the other two ladies at the desk are very nice.
• Lobby has a PC, it’s free to use.
• There is a nice beach only a 5 minute walk away.
• Pack your suitcase with food or use one-way luggage: Cereal is $8/box, Bread $5/loaf, Milk is $5/Qt., Gas $8.40/Gal., Cigs $11/pack., Everything's expensive here.
• There is a quick-mart 50 yards away and a Supermarket a 20 minute walk away.
• The bus-stop is at the end of the driveway, use the buses.
• Get the Bus Pass ($15 bucks/day) good for the Buses and Ferries, easy to buy, it’s on the way to the beaches, they stop at the beaches.
• Hit these Beaches, don’t miss any; Horseshoe, Tobacco, Elbow, Jobson Cove, & Turtle.
• Rent Beach Umbrellas, the sun is HOT!
• Walk up the street to the Swizzle Inn, great outdoor restaurant (good deal).
• Bring backpacks, you’ll need them.
• Turn off your phone, “receiving” texts internationally costs big $$$$.
• Booked the Hotel with Expedia, we got one night free.
• There’s free WiFi at the pool.
• Get the room upgrade for around $25, bigger room, the best views and a full kitchen.
• Enjoy .- The Witt Family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel with unbelievable views! Quiet property for the perfect relaxation. Lush tropical landscaping. The beach can be quite a climb down but makes it all the more fantastic when you reach it...stunning. Hotel staff very friendly. The hotel is a great location to everything. We loved our room with the best view you could ever want. Relaxing coffee on your own balcony every morning! Rented mopeds but others in our party used the bus service on the island with a bus stop at the bottom of hotel driveway. The pool was very nice, clean and inviting. We could not have had a better experience! Bermuda yet again is the most Beautiful island with beautiful people!

Room Tip: I believe all have beautiful views. Ours was up high w/balcony which we loved. Others we were with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First off, I want to start by saying that I think I had very reasonable expectations given the price of this property vs the much higher prices at other properties located on the south shore. One can't expect $700 amenities when one is paying $200/night. Some of the reviews on this site had me concerned, but taking the negative with more than a grain of salt, I decided to take a chance as my budget would not tolerate a week at Elbow Beach. I'm glad I took that chance.

Sure this property could use some sprucing up and the fact that there is no on-site restaurant is a bit of an inconvenience, but honestly, all I had to do was take a look out the sliding glass door to the incredible view, and I would have been happy in a tent. The wash of color from sunrise to sunset and every time in between is beyond beautiful. Every staff person I came in contact with was pleasant and helpful. No request was refused. Our room was very clean and the kitchen, while not the most modern or well appointed, was more than adequate to meet our needs. We loved taking our meals on the balcony which was large enough for a chaise lounge and a large dining table and chairs. Oh, and after dark, the view of the moonlight reflected on the water is another spectacular plus.

The walk down to the beach isn't really that bad, but depending on the tide, there probably won't be much beach, BUT we learned if you walk out on the road to just before the gas station/convenience store and take the path to the left, there is a 101-step stairway down to a really wonderful, quiet beach. Again, beware the tides. It is possible to get to this beach by picking your way over the rocks from the bottom of the path at Surf Side, but taking this route is a much less precarious way to get to the same place.

So, in summary, I would have to say that anyone staying here who realizes how pricey Bermuda is in high season and doesn't have unrealistic expectations (at about 1/3 the price they'd be paying for any other ocean-view property on the south shore), should be very happy with this property. Even a week wasn't nearly enough to experience all Bermuda has to offer, so get out of the room and go see this wonderful island and meet the very special Bermudians who can't seem to do enough for the tourists who overrun their beautiful island.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 41, on the 2nd floor. This view looks towards the west and is stunning. Well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great value for the $$$. We are not golfers, spa goers, tennis players, or resort types of people. Our cottage was clean, but worn. It had a covered patio. From our bedroom through the,french door, you had with a beautiful view of the ocean. There was one restaurant within walking distance (no restaurant at the hotel), and a couple of beaches also within walking distance (beach at hotel completely washed away). We rented a moped and were able to see the entire island in 3 days. Not very convenient, however, when it rains. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Beach Club

Address: South Shore Road, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Side Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Surf Side Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Side Beach Club Hotel Warwick
Surf Side Beach Hotel
Surf Side Beach Warwick
Surf Side Beach Club Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.