We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Side Beach Club to your Saves list
Surf Side Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Shore Road, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Orillia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during march break from march9 to march16..We noticed immediately that the cottage we booked was severly dated..furniture,window coverings,kitchen appl,and the bedroom..that was just the beginning..the smoke detectors were missing,the phone in the cottage never worked the entire stay,the pool and lounge area were completely neglected and then to top it off they drained the pool and started repairs as we were sunbathing right then and there..no notice or concern for the guests using the facilities...we complained immediatedly but got nowhere..Oh and when they say they have wifi..they do but not from your room..you must go to a common area where there is no privacy...even the entire grounds look tired and neglected...the best thing was the view and the beach but the beach soon disappeared due to high tide...not worth the money...go somewhere else...the king size bed was 2 double beds put together,
...brutal back pain

Room Tip: Rooms are toally outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    31
    38
    23
See reviews for
31
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Surf Side on a short vacation. The place has one of the best views in Bermuda. The staff was friendly and accomodating. It is true that it needs updating but so what! The view and beach access is well worth it. The grounds were well maintained. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What a great place this is. I don't seek a top notch place so this was just perfect for me. Great spacious room with balcony overlooking pool, gardens and sea, kitchenette well equipped and clean. Staff are friendly and extremely pleasant (especially Terry) and were very helpful. Peaceful and relaxing and I slept well every night. I could not wish for a better atmosphere. Was so impressed with it and would not consider anywhere else should I make a return visit, which I intend to do. Beach was lovely despite much of it washed away by recent Hurricane Sandy.
Don't expect perfection.

Room Tip: Second floor room have terrific views facing the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel47
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Despite not having a pool or restaurant on the premises I really like this hotel. The views are nice and the beach is really the best. Who needs a pool with a beautiful pink sand beach steps away. The waves are great and the water is always pristine. We've stayed there at least three times for the beach alone. It's also very private and only a short walk to the Swizzle Inn which serves really great food. The staff is courteous and accomadating. We also like the fact that the rooms - although not the most modern are very spacious and feel like home. There is also a fully stocked kitchen which is a definite plus considering the cost of food in Bermuda can sometimes be quite pricey. The first time we stayed there we got a room that was large but not facing the ocean - we asked to switch to an ocean view room after that and loved it. Ever since then we book the ocean view suites and have never had a problem. Its very quiet and secluded and exremely relaxing waking up with the sound of the ocean waves crashing against the shores.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at the Surf Side Beach Club last month; the view is stunning, the rooms are clean and we enjoyed our stay but… My husband and I are definitely not “luxury travelers” so it’s not as though we had expectations of grandeur. We were a bit disappointed that the pictures that show the beautiful terraces on the beach, no longer existed. The nice thing about that is that the beach was usually deserted. But it was quite a hike down crumbling walls and stairs. Yes, it is a little less expensive than many of the other places that you can stay while visiting Bermuda, but you definitely get what you paid for. The furnishings are dated, the ice machine doesn’t work, many tiles have fallen off the side of the pool, there is no restaurant, no pool side bar and the hot tub has been filled in. Once upon a time, this was probably a beautiful place but it seems as though it’s passed its prime.
I don’t mean to make this a negative review and we would consider staying there again. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the view is perfect and the beach is wonderful once you reach it. But next time we would know what to expect. I did read many of the reviews before I booked but I tend to stay away from many of the negative reviews since they seem to come from a disgruntled customer. Just be aware of what your expectations are before you book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Boy, This place has really gone downhill since we last stayed here in 1992. Pool restaurant closed. Pool in need of repair. Rooms in bad shape. The only saving grace is their view. Too many nice places on the island to stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Forth trip to Surf Side, going down hill every time.
The view is the best amenity as the rest is falling apart.
Restaurant was closed two years ago so a trip to the market is a necessity.
Bar was closed last year, so again a trip to the store.
Pool was in terriable shape, holes in concrete, tiles missing and plenty of bugs on top.
To add to that we were given a skimmer to clean the pool ourselves.
You have to be kidding.
The place was quiet alright as there were only four rooms booked.
Ice machine was not functional.
Rooms are in dire need of updating.
One guest reported that she went to the hair and nail tech. at the facility and was asked to pay cash as the owner took a very long time to pay her if a credit card was used.
Price was the only saving grace, go figure.
Bottom line there are plenty of other Hotels that offer alot more.
The owner really needs to step it up to compete.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Beach Club

Address: South Shore Road, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Side Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Surf Side Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Side Beach Club Hotel Warwick
Surf Side Beach Hotel
Surf Side Beach Warwick
Surf Side Beach Club Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.