We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs remodeling” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Surf Side Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Side Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Shore Road, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Warwick Parish
Graham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Needs remodeling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Boy, This place has really gone downhill since we last stayed here in 1992. Pool restaurant closed. Pool in need of repair. Rooms in bad shape. The only saving grace is their view. Too many nice places on the island to stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    53
    28
    36
    21
See reviews for
29
78
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Forth trip to Surf Side, going down hill every time.
The view is the best amenity as the rest is falling apart.
Restaurant was closed two years ago so a trip to the market is a necessity.
Bar was closed last year, so again a trip to the store.
Pool was in terriable shape, holes in concrete, tiles missing and plenty of bugs on top.
To add to that we were given a skimmer to clean the pool ourselves.
You have to be kidding.
The place was quiet alright as there were only four rooms booked.
Ice machine was not functional.
Rooms are in dire need of updating.
One guest reported that she went to the hair and nail tech. at the facility and was asked to pay cash as the owner took a very long time to pay her if a credit card was used.
Price was the only saving grace, go figure.
Bottom line there are plenty of other Hotels that offer alot more.
The owner really needs to step it up to compete.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Given the price of other hotels, this was good for the money. The location was great, views were beautiful, the beach was amazing. It was walking distance to a couple of restaurants and the bus stop. The staff was also pretty nice. Sadly, the pictures shown on their site are seriously outdated because they have allowed this hotel to just deteriorate. There is a restaurant/bar pictured- both closed several years ago. So, you can't even grab a drink.

In addition to being outdated, the bathroom tub was rusty and clogged. But, the staff did immediately take care of the clog. Our last day, the toilet stopped working. The room itself did not 'feel' clean, but wasn't "gross".

There is a nice pool area. Unfortunately, they seem to have cemented in the hot tub and again allowed the pool to deteriorate. There is a big crack in the bottom and several tiles missing. But, it served its purpose.

Btw, there is no fitness center, but I couldn't 'unclick' the button, so I marked it average.

Overall, my husband and I enjoyed or stay, but we would definitely recommend it for the show Hotel Impossible!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I read the reviews and had mixed opinions about what I would find when I arrived at Surfside. It is true that the place is outdated, but so what. The location and view is beyond anything I have experienced in life. I was amazed by all its beauty. The views are heavenly. The place is secluded, very tranquil atmosphere. If you came for a party go somewhere else, if you came to relax and enjoy peace and tranquility this is the place to be. You can call a taxi and go anywhere on the Island for a reasonable fare. We went to the supermarket and loaded up on groceries. The people at the hotel are friendly and very helpful. I am still feeling the effects of how peaceful this hotel was. Its not the Ritz Carlton but its Heaven on earth.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was our first trip to Bermuda & we weren't disappointed. On arrival at the airport, the taxi journey to Surf side was about 35 minutes, the fare was $45.00.
The grounds within the Surf Side complex are beautiful & well kept. We had a wonderful view of the Atlantic ocean & the walk to the beach was less than 10 minutes via a few flights of stairs.
I was pensive about booking this resort due to the mixed reviews & I did find the acommodation a little shabby, in need of updating but the private beach is fantastic ! In our experience the South shore is a great location for exploring Bermudas famous coastline. Within an hour of leving the airport we were paddling in the surf !
The Surf Side beach is private & small but under utilised so it's never crowded. There are 2/3 reefs within easy swimming distance with some impressive inhabitants. You can also walk to Elbow beach easily from Surf Side, it's about a mile. Elbow beach is equally stunning but much busier. The Mandarin hotel at Elbow Beach allows none residents into the hotel for breakfast, the down side of staying at Surf Side is there are no catering facilities on site at all so you do need to get your own supplies or venture out. You can also walk easily to the Swizzle Two bar from Surf Side, live music on a Saturday, interesting place to hang out.

In summary Bermuda is an expensive island but if you want a great beach location with friendly unintrusive service, great views & privacy this place will impress. Oh & the swimming pool is great too. It's just a pity that there isn't a bar/coffee place on site.

Room Tip: Any room near the Moon circle will impress with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Surf Side, after hearing mixed reviews concerning the place. We had read that the place was in need of some TLC. We would have to agree with that. We also read that the location of the place is beautiful. That is an understatement! The location is probably the best in Bermuda. We also had read that the hotel staff was not as cooperative as they could have been. We have to say that is definitely not the case. Bryony was extremely helpful. She was there to answer all of our questions and to take care of all of our needs. Brian was of great help also. Terry was also very helpful. After realizing that the taxi he called was not coming, he locked the office and walked us down to the main road, where he hailed a taxi for us. Is that good service, or what?

Could the place use a restaurant? Yes. Could it use some updating? Yes. Does the beach come and go? Yes.

But would we stay there again? In a New York minute!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here recently with my husband after he did a race to Bermuda with family and friends who have done the race for several years and always stayed at Surf Side. I wasn't expecting too much based on the reviews. This hotel does have some cons: our room needed updating (though we didn't spend much time there), there are no food or drink options on-site (even for water or snacks), and there is no internet except for a fairly weak signal in the lobby and at the pool. The property, however, is beautiful, with a really lovely, quiet beach. It was easy to get a cab to Hamilton and other destinations on the island, and the Swizzle Inn up the street was an adequate option for food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Side Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Beach Club

Address: South Shore Road, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Side Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Surf Side Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Side Beach Club Hotel Warwick
Surf Side Beach Hotel
Surf Side Beach Warwick
Surf Side Beach Club Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.