We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bermuda Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Surf Side Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Side Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Shore Road, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Henderson, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bermuda Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I read the reviews and had mixed opinions about what I would find when I arrived at Surfside. It is true that the place is outdated, but so what. The location and view is beyond anything I have experienced in life. I was amazed by all its beauty. The views are heavenly. The place is secluded, very tranquil atmosphere. If you came for a party go somewhere else, if you came to relax and enjoy peace and tranquility this is the place to be. You can call a taxi and go anywhere on the Island for a reasonable fare. We went to the supermarket and loaded up on groceries. The people at the hotel are friendly and very helpful. I am still feeling the effects of how peaceful this hotel was. Its not the Ritz Carlton but its Heaven on earth.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    28
    37
    23
See reviews for
30
81
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was our first trip to Bermuda & we weren't disappointed. On arrival at the airport, the taxi journey to Surf side was about 35 minutes, the fare was $45.00.
The grounds within the Surf Side complex are beautiful & well kept. We had a wonderful view of the Atlantic ocean & the walk to the beach was less than 10 minutes via a few flights of stairs.
I was pensive about booking this resort due to the mixed reviews & I did find the acommodation a little shabby, in need of updating but the private beach is fantastic ! In our experience the South shore is a great location for exploring Bermudas famous coastline. Within an hour of leving the airport we were paddling in the surf !
The Surf Side beach is private & small but under utilised so it's never crowded. There are 2/3 reefs within easy swimming distance with some impressive inhabitants. You can also walk to Elbow beach easily from Surf Side, it's about a mile. Elbow beach is equally stunning but much busier. The Mandarin hotel at Elbow Beach allows none residents into the hotel for breakfast, the down side of staying at Surf Side is there are no catering facilities on site at all so you do need to get your own supplies or venture out. You can also walk easily to the Swizzle Two bar from Surf Side, live music on a Saturday, interesting place to hang out.

In summary Bermuda is an expensive island but if you want a great beach location with friendly unintrusive service, great views & privacy this place will impress. Oh & the swimming pool is great too. It's just a pity that there isn't a bar/coffee place on site.

Room Tip: Any room near the Moon circle will impress with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Surf Side, after hearing mixed reviews concerning the place. We had read that the place was in need of some TLC. We would have to agree with that. We also read that the location of the place is beautiful. That is an understatement! The location is probably the best in Bermuda. We also had read that the hotel staff was not as cooperative as they could have been. We have to say that is definitely not the case. Bryony was extremely helpful. She was there to answer all of our questions and to take care of all of our needs. Brian was of great help also. Terry was also very helpful. After realizing that the taxi he called was not coming, he locked the office and walked us down to the main road, where he hailed a taxi for us. Is that good service, or what?

Could the place use a restaurant? Yes. Could it use some updating? Yes. Does the beach come and go? Yes.

But would we stay there again? In a New York minute!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here recently with my husband after he did a race to Bermuda with family and friends who have done the race for several years and always stayed at Surf Side. I wasn't expecting too much based on the reviews. This hotel does have some cons: our room needed updating (though we didn't spend much time there), there are no food or drink options on-site (even for water or snacks), and there is no internet except for a fairly weak signal in the lobby and at the pool. The property, however, is beautiful, with a really lovely, quiet beach. It was easy to get a cab to Hamilton and other destinations on the island, and the Swizzle Inn up the street was an adequate option for food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Advance knowledge is essential that the property has no restaurant facilities, no beach remaining, and no vending machines for snacks. A 5 minute walk to a pub restaurant heading south on South Road provides good lunches and evening meals. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We did not go to the Spa.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our trip to Bermuda. I got a great deal on this hotel by booking on Leap Day using Hotels.com. The hotel is in a beautiful location and no matter which room you book you'll get a fabulous view. The rooms are very simple and could use some updating but served us fine for our four night stay. The bed in our room was okay, but the pillows were very old and not very comfortable at all. There is a simple kitchenette which is nice if you want to cut down on spending money on meals (every meal was easy $50 for the two of us...more if we went somewhere other than a pub). There are plenty of dishes and utensils. There is a stove top and mini fridge. The fridge is great, but ours woke us up every night as it was buzzing and making other strange noises. Another tip- space out your showers because half way through shower 2 hot water runs out...

There is free internet access on the property but you can only access it at the pool or in the main lobby but the main lobby is only open from 8am-3pm. The internet is also very slow. The people at the front desk were very friendly, but we did not see them very often. Any time I had a question about how to get somewhere, or where to eat, I went to my Fodor's Bermuda book (I highly recommend this book if you are a first timer).

There is a BEAUTIFUL beach down at the bottom of the cliffs. It is a gorgeous walk down and lots of spots to stop and take pictures. My husband and I spent our last hours of vacation on the beach and for much of the morning we were the only people on it- very romantic! The hotel provides beach towels for the extent of your stay which is also helpful.

The location of this hotel is a bit out of the way from everything but it IS right on the bus line. The public transportation is very easy to navigate, however, we found ourselves waiting at least 20 minutes every time we wanted to go somewhere-it took a while to get to our destinations. At night, the buses come less frequently and by our second night we decided to take cabs to get to and from dinner which ended up costing about $25 roundtrip to and from Hamilton (the city). The busses stop running from Hamilton around 9:15pm. It is VERY easy to get a cab on Front St in Hamilton at night.

Overall, this hotel is fine but do not expect much more beyond a room and a view (and bring your own pillow). It was a little too windy for us to sit by the pool, but there is a nice view from the pool patio. Make sure you plan a lot of time to get from point A to point B if you are not renting mopeds or a car. It is VERY hard not to enjoy your time in Bermuda :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We just returned from four days at the Surf Side and we really enjoyed ourselves. We travel a great deal so the fact that the decor was a little tired was fine with us. We wanted a good, quiet location with an awesome view and that is what we got. The kitchen was small but very well-equipped. We even had dinner guests and we had our meal on the porch, overlooking the ocean. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves. It was beautiful. There are comments about the Fairmont having inferior views is so true!
I would say that accessibility could be an issue with some rooms. We had quite a few outdoor stairs though there were many accessible room options. The lack of wifi in the room was limiting but we just went to either the lobby or the pool-side room for that. The management locks up the lobby at dusk though...and the pool-side room at 10:00 so this is tricky if you are contacting family back home in different time zones.
We rented a moped so drove all over on that. Such fun! For groceries, we drove a few kms. We didn't attempt to walk to any restaurants. Buses were available at the end of the driveway leading into the hotel.
We found that April was very windy and we misjudged how chilly it would be on the beach. It was great for walking but we took snorkel equipment. The water was only 65F so too cold for swimming. We would definitely go back to this hotel and we would take our young adult children.
The management didn't exactly gush over us but they were helpful. I should mention that Oleander Cycle was terrific to deal with. They picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel.
Really, I can't say a bad thing about the place or our trip, in general. Take some books, a camera and comfortable shoes...and relax.

Room Tip: We were in Cottage 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Side Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Beach Club

Address: South Shore Road, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Side Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Surf Side Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Side Beach Club Hotel Warwick
Surf Side Beach Hotel
Surf Side Beach Warwick
Surf Side Beach Club Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Side Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.