We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandpiper

The Sandpiper
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Warwick Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper
Save
You added The Sandpiper to your Saves list
South Shore Road | P.O. Box HM 685, WK10, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My rugby team and I traveled to Bermuda last April (2012) to participate in a rugby tournament, and we stayed multiple nights at The Sandpiper. While it isn't the most advanced hotel ever built, it offers the things we were looking for: Friendly staff, clean rooms, lots of space, kitchens, and the ability to leave at our liking. While we did travel as a team, and therefor occupied almost the entire complex, we never felt like we were getting in the way of the one or two other guests. It was an amazing time with lots of privacy and space. We were able to come and go as we pleased, using the island amazingly efficient bus system to get around. The rooms are a little dated, heads up, and it is definitely run as a laid back island accommodation. The style would be ideal for young families or teens traveling together on a trip. If you are looking for the latest and the greatest in a place, this is not it. Desk staff aren't always easily accessible as they don't run with the rush of our western lifestyle, and are therefore often on breaks or have gone home for the day, however, they remain some of the nicest people we met. Bermuda was one of my favourite trips of all time, and I would highly recommend this establishment, as well as the island. Many good restaurants including an island classic, The Swizzle, which was just down the street. The busses are a lifesaver as well. However, as noted in other reviews, there is no close grocery store, and tourists aren't aloud to rent cars. No matter what they tell you, do not walk to the nearest grocery store!!!!! Take the bus. Would return without a doubt.

Room Tip: We occupied almost the entire side facing the main road, and they were very convenient. Close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent 9 nights at the Sandpiper in August 2012 and had a fabulous time. It was our first trip to Bermuda and we picked the SandPiper as it was the best value for money and in a great location. We are a family of 4 with 15 and 12 year old boys so rented a one bed apartment. The Sandpiper is in a great position ...the number 7 bus goes right past and runs every 15 minutes during the day so you can visit all the beaches (we recommend Warwick Long beach and Jobson Cove...steer clear of Horseshoe Bay when the cruise ships are in as it is so busy when all the other beaches are empty). There is a takeaway restaurant and bar next door called Q which did good snack food and the Swizzle Inn is a 2 minute walk. There is also a garage opposite which has a shop selling milk/bread and basics. The nearest proper supermarket is about a mile away so requires a bus trip but we preferred The Market Place in Hamilton which seemed cheaper and had better choice.

The apartment was fine for the price and spacious. The kitchen was pretty well equipped but there is nothing in the way of salt, pepper etc so you will need eveything. We brought a suitcase full of coffee tea biscuits etc and this saved us money but not sure if it isreally allowed! The living room had two sofa beds which both convert to double beds and there was still enough space to move around as we left them as beds for the week. There was no storage space in the living room so the boys had to live out of their suitcases. The bedroom had a huge kingsize bed which was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage with a large chest of drawers and a small room off it with hangers and shelves. The bathroom was a little on the small size but adequate and the shower worked well but the drainage was slow so when all four of us needed a shower in the evening you had to wait a while for the water to clear. Both the living room and bedrooms had cable TV which was good, as on the occasions we watched Tv we did not all have to watch the same thing.

We made good use of the garden and pool and also used the gas BBQ in the garden which was always clean and ready for use. The gardens are very well kept with gorgeous plants and flowers.

The nearest beach was a 5 minutes walk (turn left out of the apartment, walk past the garage and turn right down the path called Astwood Walk down the steep steps and you are on the most gorgeous empty beach with wonderful snorkelling at several small reefs an easy swim from shore. In the other direction there is a picturesque small sandy cove in Astwood Park which is roughly a 10-15 minutes walk from the Sandpiper. The little beach is a bit of a scramble to get down to but it is worth it. Before Astwood Park is another beach down a driveway on the left (opposite Southlands estate). This was another beautiful empty beach. We found so many fabulous beaches either a quick walk or bus trip away and we were often the only ones on them.

We would recommend going into Hamilton for the lovely atmosphere and shopping and to purchase a bus pass as it is a fab way to get around. We did trips to The Dockyard and St Georges both well worth a trip.The locals are really friendly and we loved the way they would say to good morning to everyone as they got on the bus.

All in all a great trip to a wonderful island. The staff at sandpiper are very friendly and will tell you all you need to know for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is our second stay at The Sandpiper and have no regrets.. The apartments are clean, well tended, and fairly priced. The staff is friendly and helpful. The apartments are good size for our family (4 people) and have stayed with the in-laws as well (totalling 6) and have never felt like we were tripping over people. Though the mattress on the futon was a bit tired now and could stand to be replaced soon. The kitchen is a good size and there is a market down the road (3-4 bus stops) or a larger grocery store in Hamilton near the bus station across from the church (The Marketplace, I believe)....we made a point to picking up a single bag of items to take back to prepare at the apartment on each trip thru Hamilton. The grounds are pretty and well kept and the pool is a nice break if the surf is up. With the recent addition of The Swizzle within 30 yards, it makes the facility even better for our stay adding a place to eat out if we don't feel like cooking. The location is right on the South Road so it can be a little loud at times and a bit unnerving crossing the street during busy times. It is on Bus Route 7 so the buses run fairly frequently but don't bother going anywhere on Sunday as it will seem like an eternity to catch the bus. Parking for scooters is readily available. While Elbow Bay and Horseshoe Bay is just a couple bus stops away, there is a couple beaches within an easy walk....just ask the staff for directions, they'll be glad to assist. If your plans for Bermuda revolve around going to the beach(es), like ours do....this is a great place to stay. If you want to constantly be on the move going to other points (dockyards, caves, hamiliton, st george, etc), just be prepared to spend time waiting on the bus and the bus time too.....or rent a scooter. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter night, we a room in the middle or inside of the complex (ie, not facing South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Sandpiper is a small lot of 9 apartments.There are studio apartments then there are bedroom apartments.They all have a name along with a number.ie.....room 6 is 'Exstacy' or room 2 is 'Twiddle Dee'.There were just one other couple staying here when we arrived therefore we practically had the place to ourselves.There is an outside bar-b-q propane gas grill for your use then inside the apartments are the kitchenettes which have tables refrigerator,cooking range top/oven the living area has television couch, air conditioning with overhead fan.The rooms are with two double beds.A very clean place, the manager 'Khawanda' was very friendly tending to any of our needs ,the housemaid was a verykind elderly women who was so cheerful when we saw her. The pool is right outside the apartment with a soda machine as well by poolside.You can purchase bus tokens are arrange a tour or rent a scooter anyone in the office will help the arrangements.The apartments are right on South Shore Road in Warwick.The Swizzle Inn Restaurant is right up the street along with a gas station/mini market about 200 metres down the road as well.Horseshoe Bay is about 4 Km away. You can't go wrong with this place for the price as well.My only gripe was there are a lot of beetles from outside that can get into your room if you don't close the front door,yet that's Mother Nature'.The office closes up at 8pm so notify management if you're late arrival.Recommend

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I've been to Bermuda many, many times. Last time, several friends and family members joined me for a milestone birthday. We took six or seven of the apartments at The Sandpiper. We all loved that these units and the pool are kept spotlessly clean.

This is not a full-service hotel but rather a Housekeeping apartment. We each had full one-bedroom units with small, but serviceable kitchens and rather large bathrooms.

The location is great as one can walk to Warwick Long Bay - 10 minutes away. There's another beach closer (entrance just past the gas station) that is quite nice and largely uninhabited but requires a walk up steep stairs when leaving.

The Sandpiper is right on South Shore road which is helpful to those who want to use the bus or van service. I always rent a scooter and there is ample parking at the rear. A short ride or longer walk (15-25 minutes?) puts you at the entrance to Horseshoe Bay, Tio Pepe and the Swizzle Inn on South Shore. Riding into town takes about 15-20 minutes in taxi/on scooter.

Staying in a housekeeping apartment makes Bermuda more affordable. The Sandpiper is restful, quiet and clean. We had no problems and were told that the complaints from previous years were the result of one vandal who was subsequently arrested. All my guests said they'd recommend the Sandpiper to friends.

Go with an open mind and the knowledge that your wallet is a little fatter and you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing South Shore
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Garden has gorgeous fragrant frangipani tree and inviting pool. Well kept. Big low budget room on very busy road. Loud air conditioner drowned road sounds. Very small ants in bath. Staff nicely provided aerosal spray. More like real island beach rental than fancy hotels. Suggest OK sleep after beaches/sightseeing/dinner elsewhere. Bus connection very convenient, just watch schedule times.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

The Sandpiper was extremely disappointing. We refused to stay in the first apartment we were offered, it was dark, dingy and needed complete refurbishment. The second was somewhat better but still very tired. We were due to stay a week but checked out after four nights. The view from the lounge/kitchen was of what appeared to be a run down building. The fridge door was rusty and the bedroom furniture was badly marked. The room sizes were adequate however.

The desk staff were at opposite ends of the spectrum. One was helpful and charming, the other was surly. The apartments were near to the Swizzle Inn and South Road bus stops.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Address: South Shore Road | P.O. Box HM 685, WK10, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Warwick Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Warwick Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Warwick
Sandpiper Hotel Warwick
The Sandpiper Bermuda/Warwick Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandpiper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.