We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of real Bermuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list
Kingston House B&B
5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A piece of real Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Kingston House is a wonderful find, a charming1920s house with modern amenities. We stayed in the Palmetto Suite, which was cozy and very functional (good seating and lighting, a table for working, cable TV, a comfortable bed). The downstairs living room, with microwave, dishes and an assigned place in the fridge, gave us a lot of flexibility for meals. We appreciated Harry's stories and rides to the bus terminal. After four nights, it felt like we had gotten a taste of what makes Bermuda special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    21
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
142
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I had an exceptional stay at the Kingston House B&B this past November. We stayed in the Palmetto Suite for 6 nights, the room is spacious and comfortable, with access to a large private balcony. The room is the coziest room I've ever stayed in while travelling, I can't remember the last time I slept so well. If there wasn't so much to do around Bermuda, I easily could have stayed in bed all day. The owners Marlie and Harry are wonderful people, we felt very welcomed and by the time our vacation ended, the Kingston House truly felt like a home away from home in Bermuda. Every morning we woke up to the smell of fresh coffee (beans roasted in house) as well as fresh fruit, Marlie's homemade granola, cereal, toast, muffins, you name it, breakfast was really nutritious and satisfying. I learned so much about Bermuda just by chatting with Harry, he's incredibly knowledgeable. Harry and Marlie recommended fantastic places to eat around town, as well as a great beach location for a nice swim; beach towels, directions, even sunscreen provided. After a day of checking out beautiful beaches and downtown Hamilton (less than a 10 minute walk away), we would return to Kingston House to cool off with a dip in the pool, or a cold drink on the patio. November was a perfect time for a visit. We're from Toronto, and nothing feels better than landing in Bermuda after a short flight and finding yourself far from the cold of winter. During November Bermuda also hosts the Rugby Classics, we decided to see a couple games recommended by Harry and had a blast! The Kingston House B&B is a special place, we'll be back soon to visit our favourite vacation spot!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We really appreciate your kind words and we have to agree that there's a lot to be said for a 'dead comfy' bed and great breakfast when your days are packed with all kinds of mostly outdoor activities--nothing like the fresh sea air and great night's sleep! We're so pleased that Kingston House and Bermuda fit the bill for you. We look forward to your next visit...maybe for the Rugby classic?!! Cheers, Harry, Marlie, Jocelyn & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea girt,nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved this B&B. Marlie &Harry thought of everything and were gracious host. The room we had was lovely(Palmetto) with a nice terrace to enjoy afternoon tea, comfortable seats for watching TV or videos and heated towel rack in the bathroom. The breakfast was good, and only a short 10 min. walk to town. We plan on going back.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It was wonderful meeting you both. Thank you for your nice review--we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to seeing you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie, Jocelyn & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

What a special place. Marlie and Harry are wonderful hosts and made our trip to Bermuda more enjoyable with their tips on the "less traveled" locations. It was our first time ever at a B&B. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're happy that you enjoyed some of the off the beaten track places we suggested. Really there are so many gorgeous beaches, coastal walks, etc. you can have all to yourself if you know where to go! We very much enjoyed our chats and forward to your next visit! Cheers, Harry, Marlie, Jocelyn & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Excellent stay at the Kingston House for 7 nights. We stayed in the Palmetto Suite which I loved. It has two large rooms, a clean bathroom, and large balcony. Our hosts Marlie and Harry were just wonderful and provided a wealth of island history and information. This is most definitely one of the nicest B & Bs we have ever stayed in. Breakfast was not only delicious, but nutritional as well. I also enjoyed going for a dip in the pool after a hot day at the beach as it provided a great way to cool down and relax. I highly recommend this B & B and hope to visit again!!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the upper level are larger and have nice outdoor balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Got to admit it--it was definitely one of the nicest visits we've ever had, too! Thank you so much for your great review and we will look forward to seeing you both next time. Cheers, Harry, Marlie, Jocelyn & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week at Kingston House. This is a perfect place to stay, walking distance to downtown Hamilton, the house is immaculate, owners Marlie and Harry are most gracious and are extremely helpful with their getting around tips and places to see and do. I highly recommend the Kingston House for a relaxing and worry free place to stay. The house is equipped with everything to make your stay memorable. Felt like we were leaving family, We had a wonderful trip and will return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
You are far too kind! It was lovely having you both stay--you made us feel gracious...I'm kind of missing the southern charm--being called "ma'am" every day! Kind of made me want to put on lipstick, heels and a much nicer apron to serve breakfast! Yes, we will definitely look forward to seeing you again next time. Cheers, Harry & Marlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Kingston house over our March Break holidays and were delighted with our experience. The house is a beauty, filled with island decor and literally everything you need for your stay. Everything from maps, tourist information, sunscreen, sunhats, umbrellas, treats, pool towels; you name it, they have it! The house was perfectly organized for guests, with a lovely sitting room that hosts a communal computer to access the internet, and a guest kitchen with all the kitchenware needed to eat in. The fridge was even organized for each guest room to have a space. The house is surrounded by a tropical garden and there is a guest "Endless" pool. I loved waking up and going for a quick swim. They also have a great outdoor space for yoga.

The Birds of Paradise room is stunning, with adjustable beds, a scenic view and balcony, and gorgeous linen. Every detail of the room and house seemed so well thought out and so well kept. Our room was fully equipped, every girls dream! We had a towel dryer, hair dryer, q-tips, cotton balls, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, large closet, shoe rack, TV and DVD player. I'm sure I have missed things, but overall, it felt like a home-away-from-home. Marlie and Harry also have a superb DVD and book selection, and if you need a recommendation they are happy to help. Marlie recommend "Under the Tuscan Sun" which we loved the beginning but the beds are so incredibly comfortable, we ended up falling asleep.

Marlie, Harry, Jocelyn and Diggie (family dog) went above and beyond our expectations for hosts. They are all so very kind and want you to enjoy as much of Bermuda as possible. Harry is often around during Breakfast and is a great resource for learning about the history and culture of Bermuda. He has amazing stories as well as some hilarious photos of Diggie. The breakfast was plentiful. Harry puts out a lovely spread of pastries with jam and butter, cereals, fruit and breads. The coffee was very tasty and endless :) Marlie was such a great resource for trip planning. She has a very uplifting presence about her and cares for each guest as if they were family. She had many suggestions that related to our interests and even called the SurfSup owner to help us book a paddle boarding time. Side note: highly recommend going paddling boarding with SurfSup, great way to connect with the ocean.

Our holiday was absolutely perfect and we owe it all to the Powell's. Thank you so much for having us xo

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so so much for the awesome review. We feel totally humbled and if folks keep saying "perfect", Harry will want to scrap our massive to-do list! Can't have that--always room for improvement! It was so much fun having you stay and we hope you will visit again before too long. We really appreciate your detailed review. We're sure that other readers appreciate any tips they can get on the TA. See you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie, Jocelyn and Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.