We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Relaxing Stay in Bermuda!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list
Kingston House B&B
5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Relaxing Stay in Bermuda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just getting back from a beautiful and relaxing vacation in Bermuda and a fantastic 4-night stay at the Kingston House B&B. Harry, Marlie, (and Digby) made us feel at home and helped us navigate the island providing great tips on where to eat, best beaches to visit, and what to see on the island. They really go out of their way to make sure you are having a comfortable stay and having a great time in Bermuda! It's like you're family when you stay with Harry and Marlie. It was great meeting the other guests at the house as well to share experiences and swap stories at breakfast!
We spent 2 days at the beaches and one day touring around the island by bus since it was raining. My best friend who lives in London and I (currently residing in DC) decided to meet up in Bermuda for a girls only/just turned 30 beach trip!
After seeing the winding roads and drivers, we chose not to rent scooters to avoid serious injury! The walk into Hamilton is an easy 10min walk. Having flip flops or walking shoes is recommended since we walked back and forth quite a bit each day.
We went to Elbow Beach and Horseshoe Bay beach and both were amazing. Bluest of blue waters, you can see to the bottom, and perfect (pinkish) sand. A true carribean experience! To get to the beach, we walked into town and then hopped on the bus for a short ride to the beach. The bus seems to be the way most tourists get around. We bought a 3 day bus pass and used it frequently. We also took a taxi occasionally or just walked places.
Recommended Restaurants: Barracuda grill, Bolero, Portofino Italian restaurant, and the Lobster Pot.
Overall, a great vacation and exactly what we were looking for to have a great beach weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We're happy that you had a wonderful, relaxing birthday getaway and that we helped make it nice. Your kind words are very much appreciated. We hope you decide to come again one day! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    22
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
145
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our hosts were excellent. I like being around REAL human beings when travelling and Kingston House is warm and inviting but Harry and Marlie (Marley) go out of their way and further than others in making sure your stay is great.

We were unfortunate to come during a rainy time and on one particularly rainy morning Harry ran out, in a downpour, to pick us up some Portuguese doughnuts. Harry and some of the house mates had been discussing the eateries in the area and there was an expression of a sincere desire to try them. I couldn't believe he was so kind as to run out and pick some up. I hate to even type that because I know they are an awfully busy couple and I'd hate for anyone to feel let down if he doesn't do the same....but I wanted to post that so you know exactly the type of people you will be staying with.

We stayed in the Palmetto Suite upstairs. I was fond of the room and its size. The place in extremely clean. There is a ton of literature on Bermuda and the hosts are FULL of information. The most interesting part of staying at a B&B is the house mates that are leaving or coming in and how we all help one another navigate the buses, the island itself, and the best places for this and that.

It was an outstanding vacation, even with the rain. I loved all the Bermudians we met and if we go back I hope to stay at Kingston House again.

One short note to newcomers to Bermuda. If you don't rent a moped (we didn't) the walk to the bus station is just short of 1 mile so I highly recommend for the ladies that if you have cute shoes to wear out to an outing or for the evening that you bring a bag that's fashionable that will fit some good walking shoes so you can change into your cute shoes when you want to. OR...the cab ride to and from the house with the destination being the city of Hamilton....only costs about $8-$10 per trip (depending on how you tip). Had we to do it over, there are a couple of times we wouldn't just taken a cab into town..like when going out to eat dinner at a nice restaurant. I gave this rating as Very Good instead of Excellent only because of that walk, not that it was that bad or that the location isn't good, but having to walk back and forth to change clothes for this outting or that outting became tiring to us. The location is Very Good. Everything else is EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
You were such good sports to put up with all that rainy weather! Walking along the narrow roads or riding a scooter is not fun in the rain. For anyone reading this, our very long, lazy summers are usually dry and gorgeous but Bermuda depends (almost entirely) on rain water so we get out there and do a rain dance every so often...sorry about that--BTW, it wasn't us, must have been the neigbbours! Glad you enjoyed the Portuguese pastries and had a good time in Bermuda. We're especially happy that we helped to make it a great Vacation. We'll try to arrange some extra sunshine for your next visit! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Almost don't want to share this amazing B&B! I stayed here with my sister & friend on our first girls holiday in 16 years of friendship - Marlie & Harry (the King of Pembroke!) and of course Digby made our stay very special and we are already daydreaming about coming back. My sister & I stayed in Bird of Paradise and our friend in Palmetto.

The beds in BoP are so comfy and just what we needed after cycling along the Railway Trail.

Everything is thought of at Kingston House and we loved the little extras such as beach towels, snorkels, aloe vera from the garden for poor burnt skin, free wifi and the personal recommendations.

The breakfast was great, very healthy and just what you need when it is so hot outside. The endless pool was perfect for relaxing in after a day at the beach / hike / bike ride.

The walk down to Hamilton probably takes around 10 minutes, you do have to be careful due to narrow Bermuda roads but the road is not too busy and you just have to use common sense. If you are walking at night I would recommend a torch (which Harry & Marlie can lend you) or getting a taxi if you are nervous. Or if you ask very nicely Harry might give you a lift when he is heading down to Hamilton!

Things I would recommend you do when you come to Bermuda -
Paddle Boarding at Daniel's Head (SurfsUp) - so much fun, turtles pop up to say hello and it is very quiet and picture perfect.
Cycling along the Railway Trail - we did this from Hamilton to Rockaway and got the communter ferry back. Again you do have to be careful cycling on the road until you get to the start of the railway trail. We hired our bikes (or peddle bikes) from the hire place on the road heading up to Kingston House and they were very helpful.
Try the smaller beaches - everyone seems to go to Horseshoe Bay which is lovely but you can find completely deserted beaches. Try Church Bay & Tabacco Bay for amazing snorkelling, Jobson's Cove (just off Warwick Long Bay), Shelley Bay and John Smiths Bay for easy swimming, Elbow Beach is also lovely.
Go to the Crystal Caves - they are amazing and the guides are very funny!
Climb the Lighthouse for a breathtaking view.
Have a Dark & Stormy / Rum Swizzle.
Botanical Gardens and visit the Masterworks Gallery
Visit Dockyard and if you are looking for things to take home or presents go to the craft market, the art gallery, glass factory and pottery place.
St George's
The ferry from Hamilton to Dockyard is really nice and is a good way to see Bermuda.

We bought a months pass for bus & ferry from the ferry information centre - it was cheaper than a week's pass. $48 I think.

Restaurants - Rustico (Flatts), Beach House (I think - close to Tabacco Bay), Micky's (Elbow Beach), Wahoo (St Georges) - just a few I can think of! We didn't eat out that often and saved a fair amount of money by picking up things from either Miles or the supermarket at the end of Front Street (which sells Waitrose stuff!!).

We also went out on Friday & Saturday (apparently Friday is the better night to go out if you like that type of thing!) and ended up in the Pickled Onion on Front Street both times as it has great live music.

Sorry for the verrry long review but we want to make sure everyone loves it as much as we did.

Kingston House is such a precious find - stop reading this and book!

Room Tip: Pick the Bird of Paradise House - comfy beds and lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
So glad you decided to share your wealth of great tips...and lovely compliments! You're pretty much spot on with your recommendations, especially the smaller or maybe less well-advertised beaches--there are so many gorgeous places here, honestly...and wonderful restaurants, artwork, crafts, historical sites...and of course our national beverage, the Dark & Stormy! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a helpful review. See you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Marlie and Harry are the hosts with the most! The B&B is lovely, comfortable and a wonderful home away from home. From Harry's "Ten cent tour" on arrival, to Marlie's gracious hospitality, I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Kingston House. The Bird of Paradise room was lovely. Look forward to returning next year! Thanks to the Powells (including the Digster) for an unforgettable vacation.

K&B

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for putting us on your favourites list! It's so nice to hear that you had a great time here and we look forward to your next visit when we will do our best to see that you have another awesome vacation. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & the 'Digster'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Kingston House. Harry, Marlie and Digby (of course!) make your stay as pleasant as could be with their attention to detail and friendly advice/recommendations. We will surely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review. We look forward to welcoming back any time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie and Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Marley and Harry are absolutely the best hosts that one could have, and to have their hospitality in such as beautiful place as the island of Bermuda made this mini-vacation one of our best. Every question we had - answered. Every request we made - met. Every concern we might have had - not a chance to have. We didn't have much time, but the time we had was enjoyable and peaceful. We were in the Frangipani room, which was a nice comfortable room with a queen bed, right off a main area. Once the door was closed, the room was completely blocked from any activity that might have been happening in the house. There are only three rooms, so the guest list is pretty selective, but breakfast can be enjoyed with others in the main dining room where you can hear the gentle sounds of the fountain over the pool (we over slept a bit but didn't miss the great scones and orange ginger jam!) This will definitely be one of the stops we make on our next trip to Bermuda.

Room Tip: I think Digby sleeps right off the Frangipani room, and he gets a bit anxious when Marley and Harry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review--you are far took kind! We're glad you had a nice stay at Kingston House and we were able to help you with your extra night at the (gorgeous and friendly) Royal Palms. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a quick 3 night stay at Kingston House B&B. What a wonderful spot. Marlie and Harry took great care of us...offering travel tips, delicious breakfasts, great conversation, and even their pup, Digby, to satisfy our dog fix. A beautiful home with lovely gardens and patio. Comfortable room with private bathroom. The shared kitchen was very convenient, offering dishware and use of a refrigerator for storing beverages and food. This also allowed us to pick up dinner at the local market and eat candlelit out on the patio. Excellent location about a 10 minute walk to the center of Hamilton. Convenient scooter rentals right down the street. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks Marlie and Harry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It looks more like Digby, the wonder dog, is getting his 'human fix'! It would seem that he likes our guests better than he likes us... Thank you for your lovely review and photo. We enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kingston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.