We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What every B&B should be like - Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
Save Saved
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list
5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What every B&B should be like - Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Almost don't want to share this amazing B&B! I stayed here with my sister & friend on our first girls holiday in 16 years of friendship - Marlie & Harry (the King of Pembroke!) and of course Digby made our stay very special and we are already daydreaming about coming back. My sister & I stayed in Bird of Paradise and our friend in Palmetto.

The beds in BoP are so comfy and just what we needed after cycling along the Railway Trail.

Everything is thought of at Kingston House and we loved the little extras such as beach towels, snorkels, aloe vera from the garden for poor burnt skin, free wifi and the personal recommendations.

The breakfast was great, very healthy and just what you need when it is so hot outside. The endless pool was perfect for relaxing in after a day at the beach / hike / bike ride.

The walk down to Hamilton probably takes around 10 minutes, you do have to be careful due to narrow Bermuda roads but the road is not too busy and you just have to use common sense. If you are walking at night I would recommend a torch (which Harry & Marlie can lend you) or getting a taxi if you are nervous. Or if you ask very nicely Harry might give you a lift when he is heading down to Hamilton!

Things I would recommend you do when you come to Bermuda -
Paddle Boarding at Daniel's Head (SurfsUp) - so much fun, turtles pop up to say hello and it is very quiet and picture perfect.
Cycling along the Railway Trail - we did this from Hamilton to Rockaway and got the communter ferry back. Again you do have to be careful cycling on the road until you get to the start of the railway trail. We hired our bikes (or peddle bikes) from the hire place on the road heading up to Kingston House and they were very helpful.
Try the smaller beaches - everyone seems to go to Horseshoe Bay which is lovely but you can find completely deserted beaches. Try Church Bay & Tabacco Bay for amazing snorkelling, Jobson's Cove (just off Warwick Long Bay), Shelley Bay and John Smiths Bay for easy swimming, Elbow Beach is also lovely.
Go to the Crystal Caves - they are amazing and the guides are very funny!
Climb the Lighthouse for a breathtaking view.
Have a Dark & Stormy / Rum Swizzle.
Botanical Gardens and visit the Masterworks Gallery
Visit Dockyard and if you are looking for things to take home or presents go to the craft market, the art gallery, glass factory and pottery place.
St George's
The ferry from Hamilton to Dockyard is really nice and is a good way to see Bermuda.

We bought a months pass for bus & ferry from the ferry information centre - it was cheaper than a week's pass. $48 I think.

Restaurants - Rustico (Flatts), Beach House (I think - close to Tabacco Bay), Micky's (Elbow Beach), Wahoo (St Georges) - just a few I can think of! We didn't eat out that often and saved a fair amount of money by picking up things from either Miles or the supermarket at the end of Front Street (which sells Waitrose stuff!!).

We also went out on Friday & Saturday (apparently Friday is the better night to go out if you like that type of thing!) and ended up in the Pickled Onion on Front Street both times as it has great live music.

Sorry for the verrry long review but we want to make sure everyone loves it as much as we did.

Kingston House is such a precious find - stop reading this and book!

Room Tip: Pick the Bird of Paradise House - comfy beds and lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
So glad you decided to share your wealth of great tips...and lovely compliments! You're pretty much spot on with your recommendations, especially the smaller or maybe less well-advertised beaches--there are so many gorgeous places here, honestly...and wonderful restaurants, artwork, crafts, historical sites...and of course our national beverage, the Dark & Stormy! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a helpful review. See you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    21
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
139
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Marlie and Harry are the hosts with the most! The B&B is lovely, comfortable and a wonderful home away from home. From Harry's "Ten cent tour" on arrival, to Marlie's gracious hospitality, I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Kingston House. The Bird of Paradise room was lovely. Look forward to returning next year! Thanks to the Powells (including the Digster) for an unforgettable vacation.

K&B

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for putting us on your favourites list! It's so nice to hear that you had a great time here and we look forward to your next visit when we will do our best to see that you have another awesome vacation. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & the 'Digster'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Kingston House. Harry, Marlie and Digby (of course!) make your stay as pleasant as could be with their attention to detail and friendly advice/recommendations. We will surely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review. We look forward to welcoming back any time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie and Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Marley and Harry are absolutely the best hosts that one could have, and to have their hospitality in such as beautiful place as the island of Bermuda made this mini-vacation one of our best. Every question we had - answered. Every request we made - met. Every concern we might have had - not a chance to have. We didn't have much time, but the time we had was enjoyable and peaceful. We were in the Frangipani room, which was a nice comfortable room with a queen bed, right off a main area. Once the door was closed, the room was completely blocked from any activity that might have been happening in the house. There are only three rooms, so the guest list is pretty selective, but breakfast can be enjoyed with others in the main dining room where you can hear the gentle sounds of the fountain over the pool (we over slept a bit but didn't miss the great scones and orange ginger jam!) This will definitely be one of the stops we make on our next trip to Bermuda.

Room Tip: I think Digby sleeps right off the Frangipani room, and he gets a bit anxious when Marley and Harry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review--you are far took kind! We're glad you had a nice stay at Kingston House and we were able to help you with your extra night at the (gorgeous and friendly) Royal Palms. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a quick 3 night stay at Kingston House B&B. What a wonderful spot. Marlie and Harry took great care of us...offering travel tips, delicious breakfasts, great conversation, and even their pup, Digby, to satisfy our dog fix. A beautiful home with lovely gardens and patio. Comfortable room with private bathroom. The shared kitchen was very convenient, offering dishware and use of a refrigerator for storing beverages and food. This also allowed us to pick up dinner at the local market and eat candlelit out on the patio. Excellent location about a 10 minute walk to the center of Hamilton. Convenient scooter rentals right down the street. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks Marlie and Harry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It looks more like Digby, the wonder dog, is getting his 'human fix'! It would seem that he likes our guests better than he likes us... Thank you for your lovely review and photo. We enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a 4 night stay at the Kingston House and it was wonderful! I usually do not sleep well away from home and the bed in our Jacaranda Room was comfy! We ate a delicious breakfast of scones, jams, yogurt, homemade granolas and breads and fresh fruit every morning. Marlie and Harry were so helpful as to where to go and what to see, and even gave us a ride to the ferry terminal on a rainy morning. The house is so quaint, reminded me of an inn I stayed at in Cape Cod, and Digby the Dog was friendly, greeted me and my husband at breakfast and told me when our food delivery had arrived! The pool was cleaner than any resort and the landscape was a tropical paradise. I do not have enough good words to say about this place and the people. It was very hot and humid this time of year, but the air conditioning in the room was a relief! The whole experience was a treasure, but I hate to give away the secret of this place for fear it will be booked solid if we ever decide to come again. I think it is even better than staying at a big resort because of the care they gave to us. If we come back, it will definately be here!

Room Tip: The Jacaranda is one of the smaller rooms with one queen on the first floor. Bigger rooms are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We're so glad you had a nice stay at Kingston House and enjoyed your first trip to Bermuda. It was great to see you both get out there and try everything from beach combing for sea glass to scuba diving and zooming around on the scooters for the first time. Well done! We look forward to seeing you next time--maybe go for a bit of paddle boarding or a helmet dive?! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I'm just finishing a brief stay here at Kingston House. The property itself is very nice, with lots of character. But the hosts make this place special. Both Harry and Marlie went out of their way to provide great conversation, tips, and insights. They genuinely like taking care of their guests. And Digby the dog is a friendly greeter as well. Strong recommendation for this place. I plan on returning.

Room Tip: The Palmetto Suite is a generous size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your advice about replying publicly on the TripAdvisor. We've always just figured out who the authors were and replied privately by email (except when there are corrections)...but you're right, nobody knows that we thank guests for their reviews. We'll do our best to get with the program!
Reviews are not just helpful to other guests but also encourage service providers like us to keep trying to do our best and when we do a great job and guests talk about it, the bar goes up and we we will try even harder to top that.
We're very happy that we were able to help you make the most of your time in Bermuda and so pleased that you would like to come back!
All the best,
Harry, Marlie & Digby
Kingston House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.